We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Diamond!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ixchel
Ranked #9 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
2 reviews
“Hidden Diamond!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We arrived into Puerto Juarez and right away the place was amazing. The hotel is a 3 minute taxi ride from the ferry which only cost $30 pesos. FYI anywhere from the hotel is $30 - $50 Pesos, the cab drivers are great and don't try rip you off!! Upon our arrival Miguel was there waiting for us. He was so helpful to us the entire time and the quality of service was impeccable. We stayed in Harmony for a great rate. The hotel is located right on the cusp of the hotel and local residents districts so it is in the middle of the island. If you want to rent a bike, scooter, or golf cart you can. We asked Miguel to recommend some places and Ciros was the one we chose for a great price!

The restaurant in the hotel is AMAZING!! I must say we ate at a number of different restaurants on the island all of which were very good, but Casa Ixchel's Chef and Juve were fantastic. Juve is the BMW... The Best Mexican Waiter. Exceptionally priced and flavorful, we always ended up craving the menu.

Be sure to check out the Ruins on the Southern tip of the Island preferably in the morning as it is the most Eastern tip in all of Mexico and therefore gets the first light of sun in the morning. For sand beach lounging, I would recommend going to Porte Norte right infront of the Avalon Reef Hotel, a very quiet and wonderful beach. You will find that all the sand beaches and water activities happen on the West side of the Island because the East side is much more rocky. All in all, Casa Ixchel is the best for real, authentic and quality everything, you will not be disappointed. Muchos Gracias Casa Ixchel Duran and Cene!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeneKwanTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    63
    24
    16
    3
See reviews for
10
118
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boca raton fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed at the Casa Ixchel for a long weekend in the Grace 1 unit. We had requested the Abundance but this is not the unit we got. I really enjoyed the stay here and would definitely go back there again although there were some small issues. The bikes were out of order and unable to be used. Both happened to be broken which management told us had just happened the day before. That was pretty disappointing as we were looking forward to a ride and Isla Mujeres is conducive to a nice bike ride. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit and the only a/c was in the bedroom making the living area pretty hot. We couldn’t get the sliding glass door to open in the living room. The refrigerator was not working when we got there but was replaced immediately. What was kind of weird was it was a fairly large kitchen but had a tiny dorm size fridge that could not hold all our groceries. I couldn’t get the stove to work. Im sure all these issues could have resolved if we had mentioned it to the staff. The bed was super duper comfortable. Linens were nice. The shower in this unit was weird and only a trickle of water came out of the rainshower head. In this particular unit there is no separate bathroom or toilet area so if you’re shy, this might not be the room to reserve. It was convenient to get fresh beach towels every day. The restaurant on the top of the hotel was really delicious. We ate 2 dinners there and both were good. The view of the open Caribbean was spectacular. There really wasn’t a nice beach area-very rocky-but the waves were up on that side of the island so we were not venturing in the water there anyway. The decks were wonderful for hanging out with coctails and relaxing. The pool was clean. The hot tubs were not heated so we did not go in although they did not look dirty. The location is very convenient to the car ferry and downtown area-a bit of a hike to walk downtown but an easy bike ride. Some rooms did not seem as desirable as others-no view or no privacy. Be careful of the location when booking. The hotel was pretty empty so it was very quiet. No kids running around and low key in general which was awesome. There was a small amount of road noise which was not overly disturbing. I would absolutely stay at Casa Ixchel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

My fiancee and I stayed for two nights. We were greeted very well by a friendly hotel manager named Miguel. We felt very welcomed by him and recommended great places to visit on the island. The room was very charming and romantic. We could not get enough of the ocean view within steps of our room. There is a stairwell from the hotel to the beach but it is rocky and not really suitable for swimming. The rooftop terrace and the restaurant have spectacular views of the ocean. The quiet location is all the more perfect and not too far away from the downtown area either by golf cart or taxi. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for some deep R & R! We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersNY75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Casa Ixchel was exactly how it presents itself on the internet! It was simple and romantic. The staff was very accomodating and gratious! Miguel, Moises & Luis were awesome! The food at the restaurant was so delicious and portions exceeded anything but chintzy! We could share and still not finish and we can eat!!! The food was gourmet and presentation was that of a 5 star restaurant!

It was inexpensive for the accomodations, although it is not within walking distance of the tourist area for dinner and shopping, if you want to see how the natives live all you had to do was walk down the street. Or bike 15 minutes into town.

This would be an awesome place to have a wedding or small family gathering. Although there were other guests, we felt like we were the only ones there. We met some interesting people from Cancun & Mexico city!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

If your looking for the Mexican Culture, The escape from the hustle and bustle, Breathe taking scenery and being seduced by the ocean and the calming effects. This is the spot for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Soooo the hotel itself is rundown, the pool had floating hair and bugs and you could tell that it hadn't been clean in a while. The "hot tubs" are not hot, and I would NOT recommend going into the one by the non-existent sauna (which is a storage place for junk). The lovely white pool side lounge areas you can tell have not been changed in weeks (stains and smelly).
Our first room had no kitchen like promised and had an unwelcomed guest (cockroach) The air conditioning didn't work and the room was tiny (stay away from Serenity room). We asked to be switched and they moved us to Peace, a LITTLE better...Also, make note that you better be comfortable with whom ever you are traveling with because you will see them use the restroom and shower (no doors, only see through curtains), oh yeah, and you might as well include everyone else that is staying at the hotel too because the curtains are see through as well. For some reason we had leaking water coming from some where which soaked our suitcases. Then the first day we were here the water was out for over 4 hours, no running water. Period. Oh, and no TVs. Maids will only come to the room to make your bed and give you fresh towels, other than that clean it yourself.
On a positive note...
The service is amazing, the owners and managers are especially nice, which is why we hardly ever complained. The restaurant upstairs was AMAZING and the service was fantastic! The complimentary bikes were fun, we took those around the south end of the island which is a must do to see Punta Sur. Be aware that there is NO beach, none. It is great for collecting shells though.
Recommendations for the island...
You will get ripped off! Go to the island with pesos and pesos only. 20$ US is equal to more than 200$ pesos...we learned this the hard way. Taxis are a lot cheaper than paying 500-600$ pesos to rent a moped or golf cart. (Mopeds looked too dangerous with all the crazy drivers). The island is small enough to be able to bike or take a taxi for anywhere between $30-$60 pesos. We enjoyed staying in the middle of the island because the north beach is for partying and drinking (too loud), and the middle was more quiet and relaxed with no kids and no one harassing you. Do not ever pay full price for anything except food, haggle, it is the best thing to do. There are no jet skis on the island, take the ferry to Hotel Zone and go to Oasis Palm Beach hotel to rent them for only $40. If you are staying on Isla Mujeres, don't expect to be able to do any excursions. Ferrys to Hotel Zone don't start till 8 and stop at 5. The other dock will cost an arm and a leg to get anywhere since it is downtown.
Hope this helps some people, I wish I had this advice before I went.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metooka18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Our family just spent another glorious weekend at Casa Ixchel with a group of friends visiting Isla Mujeres for the Whale Shark Festival. We live on the mainland, and Isla is an easy getaway for our family. Miguel and the whole staff took great care of us, even when my husband came down with a stomach virus. One of the hotel owners was in town and went well out of his way to make sure we were well taken care of and that our stay was perfect. Miguel was happy to book our reservations to swim with the Whale Sharks. Too bad the seas were too rough for us to go out. No worries at all, we will be back to try again in a few weeks. Looking forward to more Margaritas in the pool, sunsets on the deck and great food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele-in-Playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#16 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Property: Casa Ixchel
Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing