We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect beachside getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ixchel
Ranked #9 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect beachside getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Ixchel in May and couldn't have been happier. The staff was friendly and helpful and our room Peace was perfect for us. The room was clean and well-appointed (including a small kitchenette) and so quiet that you could hear the waves hitting the coral beach from bed which is just a fantastic way to wake up every morning!

The hotel also has an incredible restaurant on its roof--hands down the best dinner we had on the island. We also started our days with breakfast on the deck overlooking the beach. We'd finish our days with a beer by the pool which was well maintained and never too crowded.

While the main tourist drag can't be more than a mile or two from the hotel, the staff helped us reserve golf carts so getting there and everywhere else on the island didn't take long at all. The staff also helped us confirm that our taxi would be waiting for us in Puerto Juarez on our return. Finally, they gave us excellent dining recommendations for fresh ceviche and to some of the better restaurants in the tourist district.

This was my second stay at Casa Ixchel and I can say that I will definitely be back for a third!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briancnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    63
    24
    16
    3
See reviews for
10
118
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a week on the island, I truly grew to appreciate how special Casa Ixchel is. Intimate in scale, with rooms simply but nicely furnished in clean whites, stone and understated pieces of decorative art. Our balcony offered an unparalleled view of the ocean. This modest boutique hotel offers a wonderful haven. It's so easy to visit the lively parts of town via taxi, bicycle or on foot, yet the inn is a world away from the hustle and development that has overtaken other parts of the island. We stayed in Grace I, which was perfectly spacious for our family of three. We stocked the kitchen with breakfast items and leftovers from the surprisingly good restaurant. I got addicted to the Mediterranean octopus salad!

As others noted, the plumbing is a (minor) issue. Our room came with a vast, two-person tub, but the water was never hot enough for us to be able to enjoy a bath. The toilet was concealed behind an ill-positioned, flimsy curtain, which we found comical. For privacy, some may prefer to use the restrooms off the bar... But I found these to be minor issues, vastly outweighed by the friendliness and good will of the staff and the magical location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

First the good things: Amazing coral beach; not much for laying on, but for a beachcomber it's jaw-dropping. The bed is good, and the linens and towels are great quality. Our room, Harmony, had several nice decorative accents, including a giant bathtub with a conch shell faucet. The sundeck is on the water and guests enjoy a variety of sunbathing options. The pool area and hot tub are lit blue at night and are beautiful against the ocean waves in the evening. Yoga is currently being offered. Being a distance from the urban hub was not an issue; we stood on the side of the road in front of the hotel and never waited more than a minute for a cab to pick us up. Most fees ranged from 20-30 pesos one-way - ask first.

Now the not-so-good. Wide-angle lenses are handy for taking in the scope of a room, but they can be very misleading in terms of space (unless a glimpse of a 3 ft wide toilet rings a warning bell). In this case the photos we saw prior to booking looked a lot different than the reality. In truth, no more than a few feet stood between the bed and walls. The usable floor space in the bathroom was under 5 sq ft. The cold knob on the tub/shower was frozen shut. The water was either extremely hot, or completely unheated for the duration of our stay. The tub is mounted in such a fashion that water can pour out onto the floor during showers. During my first shower I unknowingly flooded the room and got my suitcase and other items wet. You may need all those nice big towels.
The pool and hot tub were unheated and very cold. The sauna was a locked storage area. By local standards, the housekeeping could be better. In general terms, things are slightly run-down for the price. It was more quiet than staying on Hidalgo, but not without noise; there is a connecting road just south of the hotel where trucks can be loud as they stop and turn.
In summary: There is no place that is not beautiful on this coast, and no place that cannot be made perfect by the attitude of the inhabitants, but given all the other choices, I would keep looking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pareolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here in December of 2012 for Christmas. We did a lot of research before our trip, and we knew what to expect as far as water goes (its an island - it will not be as consistent as the mainland) so we were able to fully laugh off the fact that I had nice warm water for every shower the whole week, and my fiance had only cold ones!

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was lovely waking up every morning to our garden view - there were always lizards sunning themselves, and we were mere steps from the pool and ocean.

My favorite place on the property is the open air rooftop restaurant. The view is amazing, the staff is wonderful, and the food is incredible!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something peaceful. It doesn't have the fussy amenities that a large hotel has, but that is why we love it!

We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong - just make sure you wake up early to see a sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tajaroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We got the 'Abundance' room for 4 nights.The room is equipped with a small kitchen 2 beds, sofas, and there's plenty of space. The room was perfect for us overlooking the sea. Right on the water. Beautiful. Must wake up to see the sunrise. We had some plumping problems in the room. It was problematic to flush The toilet twice if u wanted and we didn't had hot water for 2 days. The staff was very nice and tried to help with everything. We got a night discount for the hassle. Must take A golf cart and explore the island. Overall it was a bit expensive considering no swimming beach and a drive away from both sides of the island. If u want to try different restaurant u have to drive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely. Beautiful room although a little small- we stayed in the love room. The pool side and ocean views are wonderful.
Restaurant food upstairs wa also lovely.
The location is a little out of town a good 30 min walk but bikes/golf carts can be hired in town if u prefer not to walk. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank channii70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

room "karma" (the cheapest) towards busy street (earplugs needed).
mid of the island, about 6km from beach. ok rooftop-restaurant attached.
breakfast in restaurant not included, but ok (coffee is like water though).
yoga-lady has been on vacation, no replacement and hasnt been announced on homepage.

couple on a roundtrip through yucatan. isla mujeres wasnt our favorite in total. better place for peace-loving individuals might be holbox.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ina9181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaIxchel, Manager at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. We only wish you had spoken up while you were here so we could address your concerns. As you say, you chose the ”cheapest” room, which is close to the street. However, we have other rooms that are on the ocean-side and quite a bit more quiet. We hope you can come back and experience the sound of the surf outside of your every window! Yoga is offered three times each week, and we are sorry if you missed it. When you do return please ask for an espresso or cappuccino which may be more to your taste. Until then, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Property: Casa Ixchel
Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing