We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesone peaceful location”
Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Ixchel
Ranked #8 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesone peaceful location”
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We spent the 2nd day of our honeymoon at Casa Ixchel and cannot wait to return. It was everything we expected. The first day nor easters and a tropical storm were in full force, they had apparently lost power the day prior to our arrival. They had trouble with the laundry, but we had towels that night. The pilot light was blown out by the extreme winds but had that fixed that night. We stayed in Harmony our first night and had the weather been better--gail force winds and rain- we would have loved to stay there. The room is pretty small, but as soon as you wake up in the morning, it feels as though all of your troubles are gone. The tub and sink are incredible, the sound of the waves at your door, great view of the ocean from the room. We were scheudled to more the 2nd night and given the weather were glad to Abundance. It is huge!!! The shower is lovely and the soaps throughout the stay are heavenly. We had a small stove and fridge with fresh water in the room. We slept at night with the sliding glass door open to hear the ocean, we could diferentiate from the wind. Amazing. The environment is lovely and we gave Migual the on site manager a ride to the ferry a couple of times. Miguel is so sweet and always has time to talk. This place is a peaceful refuge from just about anything you could imagine. We wished we could have stayed forever. The weather was stinky while we were there and still loved every moment on the island. We will have to post pics to show the place. While they do have difficulties with the utilities on the ocean they are dealt with as soon as possible. There is nothing better than the sound of the ocean 100 yards away, no matter how gusty the winds. Grad a beer, a book or someone to cuddle, play a game and relax. you have the rest of your life to stress. Casa Ixchel will be a place we return to time and again. Beautitul white rooms that welcome the day---I can't explain. Come for a weekend, stay for as long as you can---relax, let go realize what is important--we will be back ASAP and hope nothing has changed. Thank you Casa Ixchel for a fantastic honeymoon!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — it is so beautiful and welcoming
  • Disliked — the restaraunt, which we chose not to eat at, didn't seem interesting
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doscampanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    64
    24
    16
    3
See reviews for
10
120
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We booked a three night stay at the Casa Ixchel on the last leg of our Mexico trip. The room where we stayed was looking towards the water, but the room was tiny. The pictures on the website do not accurately reflect the size of the rooms. We had some problems getting the bathtub to work, and decided after a night, that it was not worth it to stay they other nights. These rooms are very expensive for what you get. We discussed our situation with the management and they offered to reimburse us for the other two nights. It's been several weeks and there has been no sign of reimbursement. Overall, its a cute tidy little place, but definitely not worth the $$. The management only seems to be able to take money for reservations and little else.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Room size, management
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_lageissler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

This is a gem of an island. Our stay at Casa Ixchel was 4 days and 3 nights. We would have stayed there during our entire 10 day stay, however we wanted to check out other locations. We booked the love suite and it was amazing! We had a bed that hanged from the ceiling, a large jacuzzi bath tub and a little kitchenette. The property and staff are overwhelmingly hospitable. We practically had the place to ourselves since we were traveling in the middle of summer. The weather was perfect, very hot at about 95, but with a pool right outside your bedroom door you couldn't ask for more. The breakfast was delicious and our room was cleaned and refreshed every day. Luxurious bathrobes came with the room and the most efficient air conditioning unit I have ever seen. It was thee most romantic hotel I had ever stayed at. I recommend this for families, reunions, honeymooners everyone! They have so many unique rooms and almost all come with jazcuzzi bathtubs and the softest bed sheets and most comfortable mattresses in the world!!

  • Liked — everything honestly it was perfect
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

A perfect choice. It is such a relief when you arrive in a new location and see many of the other hotels and guest houses, and know that you chose the best for the price, location, ambience etc. Casa Ixchel was superb and the manager, Miguel, was a true help in every way. No real need to have a moped/ golf cart as it's $2 a trip by taxi and a taxi comes by virtually every minute! Enjoy great seafood in town at Ballyhoo/ Mininos and then stay at Casa Ixchel for a relaxing, peaceful night's sleep while listening to the ocean.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank jrsSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We came to the Ixchel for our Honeymoon and we were completely satisfied with our experience there!
After a grueling month of wedding planning and getting married, we came to the Hotel Ixchel during the "slow season" and found the perfect hideaway!
Miguel, the hotel manager was friendly and quite informative. We stayed there off and on for five days while traveling all around the Yucatan. After starting our vacation there... we simply had to return near the end of our honeymoon to relax and prepare ourselves for our return.
The rooms were all clean and simple... the staff was there daily to replenish sheets and clean.... the whole staff was very friendly and unobtrusive.
It was quiet and mellow and not much going on as far as the spa related activities and the bar was closed...but... thats exactly what we were looking for... quiet and romantic!
Go for the Harmony room!!! it was our favorite!
Thanks Miguel!

  • Liked — quiet, beautiful
  • Disliked — bar and restaurant were closed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleQuetzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Harmony Suite. It was everything we had hoped for. The only thing that we did not like was the fact that there was nowhere to store our luggage. We made use of the kitchenette counter for this purpose.

The view from the room was amazing. Nothing like falling to sleep with the sound of the ocean and waking up to the same. The bed was really comfortable. Afternoon siestas followed by a soak in the tub (big enough for 2) with bath salts, candles and incense. How can you not be relaxed?

Casa Ixchel is ideally situated about 1/2 way on the island. Close enough to town but far enough away as well. Casa Ixchel is right across the street from a school and next to a neighborhood. It was alot of fun to see the school kids and walk around the neighborhood. Completely safe to walk around. I do recommend renting a golfcart to get around the entire island. Do be sure to go to the south end at Punta Sur.

Miguel, the manager was so pleasant, friendly and helpful. Magda and Lili did a wonderful job with our room each day. I thank all of them for making our stay AMAZING.

Places to eat on the island.......
Playa Lancheros for fish Tikinxic...a must have
Loncheria #28 (San Martin).....located next to the post office
Mininos....fresh fish. Sit with your feet in the sand!
La Cazuela...Try the Isla Cazuela. A cazuela is a cross between an omellette and a souffle. Yum!

I have travelled to Cancun every year for several years. This time I opted for the Island. I am so pleased with this decision.

Overall it was a wonderful, relaxing, fun, rejuvinating week. We are already planning a return trip for next year. We plan to stay at Casa Ixchel again.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or comments. I'd love to hear from you.

  • Liked — The crispness and beauty of decor. The location. The view. The soaking tub. Too much to pick just one.
  • Disliked — lack of storage space for suitcases
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mkmiller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2007

We just returned from a 6 night stay at Casa Ixchel on Isla Mujeres and it was absolutely fabulous.

When researching Casa Ixchel I was torn by the mixed reviews but felt like the negative reviewers might be folks who were looking for a 5 star spa resort which is not what we wanted and is not what Casa Ixhel claims. I'm incredibly happy we went with our instincts as Casa Ixchel is a beautiful and clean property that felt secluded, intimate and familiar.

The room types vary but overall we found the property to be quiet and comfortable. There is construction going on next door but it never woke us and consisted of half a dozen men working on the nearly complete structure - no heavy equipment, no endless loud noise.

Miguel, the hotel manager was incredibly kind and helpful. I worked with Miguel before visiting to set-up our reservation and if you have any worries or qualms about booking your vacation I highly suggest you work with him to figure out what rooms/options would be best for you and what you are looking to get from your trip.

I hope to return to both Isla Mujeres and Casa Ixchel, they were both incredibly charming, romantic, and have a style all their own.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Property: Casa Ixchel
Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing