We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Casitas del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casitas del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We loved our stay at Casitas der Mar. Great location and very accessible to many wonderful restaurants such as Limon, La Bruja and Mango Cafe. Walking distance to Super Express or a short cab ride to larger grocery store Chedraui. This was our first time to Isla Mujeres so information from Joyce was very helpful. There is also a binder in each casita with lots of information. I liked the quieter location and you could catch a cab about a block away for $3 to downtown [Centro]. Joyce and Bob are wonderful hosts and the property is well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need blender, toaster, hot plate, dishes. Leti the housekeeper is thorough and accommodating and such a nice lady.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
137
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I don't want my review to repeat the great things other reviewers have written about Casitas del Mar, because its all true and explains why this property enjoys so many repeat clients.
As this was my first trip to Mexico, I very much appreciated how helpful Joyce was with the tips and recommendations offered for booking our flight, land transfers from the airport to the Casitas, local places to eat or shop, things to do, how things work (tipping, bus and taxis for example) and so much more. The Isla maps that were provided upon our arrival and the 'black book' in the room were very valuable and were consulted often during our 9 day stay.
The mid island coastal location of Casitas del Mar proved ideal for us. We enjoy exploring on foot and found that many of the places we wanted to visit were within walking distance. The safe residential neighbourhood was a mix of low and mid income (my impression) and plenty of corner shops and places to eat were within just a few blocks. People were friendly and readily offered a greeting and a smile.
Head into Centro (north end of the island) for the bustle and excitement of the bar or night life scene. The area around Casitas del Mar does not have a party atmosphere. This establishment asks for quiet on the shared patio between 10 pm and 8 am.
Lettie the housekeeper is sweet, thorough and accommodating. The unit was well equipped and suited our needs for preparing food. We ate breakfast and either lunch or supper here each day and found a restaurant for a third meal. This really helps if you vacation on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickadeedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Bob and Joyce are exceptional and the Casitas are super clean and well maintained. Amazing view and it seems to attract lovely people. It is so nice to have friendly neighbours to say hello to at the beginning and end of your day. Return clients seem to be a large part of the business so book early! I really appreciated being close to local life, businesses and restaurants, not just the tourist locations. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our first trip to Isla:-) and one great week at the Casitas. WOW! what can we say but very sad to leave. Our friends stayed downtown, Centro. But being a little different we decided to stay with Joyce&Bob at the Casitas del Mar. Absolutely the best decision we made. We always enjoy meeting the neighbours, and this location is ideally suited as a social setting. Sitting outside on your patio with your coffee, sharing stories, experiences and tips. The ocean waves, hypnotic and therapeutic. On our first day we spotted dolphins jumping offshore. A good omen. A taxi to town is inexpensive, just 26pesos one way for a couple. You can't beat that. And for those more adventurous types you have many options and locations to rent a golf-cart. Bicycles and scooters are also available at various locations. We're already planning our return trip!!!! Can't wait......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plamondon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our first visit to the island. We stayed at Casitas del Mar from Jan 23 to Feb 6. From the moment we got there we were welcomed by Joyce and Bob. Joyce showed us the Casita and welcomed us with a beer from the fridge,We were given an overview of the island with map and description of the points of interest close to the Casitas. The Casitas are outstanding, clean fully equipped and the bed is very comfortable just like home. The area is quiet and relaxing with a view of the ocean. The Casitas are in a very central location, walking distance to many different restaurants grocery store and beach clubs, to get to downtown it is about a $3 taxi ride. We ate close to home most of the time and we always had a great meal. There are many restaurants close and very easy to find, sometimes finding a restaurant not on the list is part of the adventure. The breeze that comes off the ocean is cooling at night and makes sleeping comfortable. The best part of the casitas is the small and close atmosphere of the place, to wake up in the morning, to look out over the ocean and share a coffee with the other guests and share the experiences of each others day and to plan a new experience for the day and come home at night and have a drink with friends. The rooms are kept in perfect condition by Lita and are always welcomed to a clean room when you arrive back home for the night. I would definitely stay there again, from the beachcombing right in front of the casita, the views of the ocean with the chance to see dolphins in the distance and schools of fish. Meeting new friends. Great food

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallery59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We picked the Casitas del Mar because of the positive reviews and comments on the web and are very glad we did. It is located on an ideal spot on the island about 1/2 way down the Caribbean side. There is always a lovely breeze off the water on the Caribbean side that is so nice. You have marvellous views out over the sea that will never be blocked. Sitting with coffee in the am and a cerveza at night under the cabanas and soaking up the view and local atmosphere is very relaxing. Reminded us of the same kind of relaxation we get sitting on the deck of our cottage in Canada looking at the lake and enjoying the scenery. You can get very laid back here.
The location works well because you have such easy access to everything you need (markets, express grocery, good restaurants, etc.) and wonderful sand beaches on the Cancun side are within easy walking distance. And it is only a 30 peso cab ride to Centro for different restaurants and beaches. But after spending time downtown with the Cancun daily crowds, we truly appreciated getting back to our quiet casita.
Joyce and Bob are so accessible and provided such great information and advice that it was easy to move in and get organized. The casita has a very workable layout and was well stocked with the basics needed, such as salt, pepper, spices, lots of cutlery, cooking pots, dishes and even two cervezas in the fridge to get us started. And we really came to appreciate that after leaving Isla Mujeres and going to a "fully" stocked condo in Puerto Morelos that had none of the basics that Joyce and Bob have made sure are in their casitas.
And for you North Americans, you will certainly appreciate the fact that they have a pressurized plumbing system... No worries about the "delicate" plumbing issues that you encounter in most other places in Mexico.
And the other service that is included is Leti going through and cleaning your room about every second day and changing the sheets about every 5 days. That service usually costs extra in other facilities (IE it was $25us for the condo in PM).
Of all the places we ate, two that Joyce recommended really stand out. Velasquez on the beach in Centro is wonderful for their seafood and relaxing location. A nice family run setup. Olivia's just off the main street in Centro served us the most wonderful meal we had for our entire time in Mexico. It is Mediterranean/Morrocan style and the food is amazing. But you need to reserve unless you get there early.

Room Tip: Casita 4 is on the street corner and as such if you like to leave your side windows open for air cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDaveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We showed up to Isla Mujeres without any idea of where we were going to stay. A little research pointed us here, and although there was no immediate availability, Joyce was extremely helpful with our making alternative arrangements til we there was a free room at Casitas.

The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable, each with a well-equipped kitchen. Definitely pick up some fruit at the nearby farmer's market. It's also just a short walk from a good supermarket and the beach, so you're basically set to spend your whole day hanging out on the beach, and occasionally cooking up some good fresh food. Bob & Joyce are really friendly and accessible, and they also have a wonderful guide to the island. Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.9 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas del Mar

Property: Casitas del Mar
Address: Avenida Perimetral Oriente | Corner of Calle Lizeta, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sound of waves and a clear view of the sun rising over the Caribbean. Nestled in a local neighborhood of Isla Mujeres known as La Gloria, you will find yourself in a friendly residential area surrounded by locals, both Mexicans and foreigners. Collect beautiful shells and sea glass as you stroll along the rocky and sandy shore or relax on the patio as you watch the world, and perhaps a few dolphins, go by. Newly-constructed and tastefully decorated, Casitas del Mar has everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your hosts, Joyce and Bob, will provide local knowledge and recommendations to help make your Isla vacation unforgettable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing