We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Review of Casitas del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casitas del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Casitas del Mar is just that, "a little piece of Heaven". We stayed in Casitas #1 and enjoyed everything that there was to offer. All the amenities were perfect - a comfy bed, well stocked kitchen with all the dishes and utensils, great air-conditioning, WiFi, outdoor lounge chairs; the list could go on and on.
Joyce and Bob also provide a wonderful "manuscript of recommendations" of Isla Mujeres. (Better than the published guide books). All the meals that we had were from their recommendations - which were delicious !!!
We had a great time, so relaxing - Thanks Joyce and Bob

Room Tip: Casitas #1 had better WiFi connection and is slightly larger casita than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daisy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at Casitas Del Mar and our first summer trip to Isla. Typically we have gone in the winter time when we haven't had to use the air conditioning (there is always a nice breeze on that side of the island) but being August, that breeze is there, however it was muy caliente!! The air conditioiner worked very well. The casitas are kept clean and in order by Leti. She is very friendly and extremely attentive. There is everything you could possibly want or need in these wonderful rooms.
We always enjoy sitting on the patio watching the glorious sunrises and then in the evening watching the cruise ships off in the distance and watching the world go by. We enjoyed another relaxing, laid back and wonderful holiday at Casitas Del Mar. They are centrally located, have very comfortable beds and pillows, are kept very clean and well stocked. Thank you Joyce and Bob for another great holiday at your casitas. We look forward to our return trip in 6 months!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similar with the exception of Casita number 1 which is typically for longer sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our time on the island! The property is very nice, well kept. We enjoyed the convenient location, in "La Gloria" area. Note this is (happily) outside the tourist zone. Small convenience store one block up and a decent grocery store a few blocks away. Slept very well on the great mattress. Leti (housekeeper) kept things up for us nicely. Enjoyed watching the day come to life on the front porch facing the ocean. Our shower was slow to heat and low pressure - we didnt mind too much and just informed the owners so they could repair after our stay. They included contact info for repairs needed during your stay but we did not feel the need to use them.

Joyce was very prompt with communications and very detailed with instructions - nice.

All of the recommendations in Joyce's guest information packet were spot on, very helpful to have! Such good food on the island - ceviche at Playa Tiburon, shrimp at Cafe Limon and lobster at Hotel Rolandi - we will miss it!

We both agreed our favorite place/time was at Punta Sur (south end of isle), breakfast overlooking the bay and then exploring the sculpture garden and pathways around the point.

Sincerely, Craig & Karen M

Room Tip: Ours was #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Recently arrived back to Australia after a fanastic stay at Casitas del Mar. We just loved it. It is situated in a great spot amongst real Mexican people who are so friendly and helpful. We loved waking every morning to the sight of the sparkling Carribean Sea and then eating our breakfast under the grass umbrellas at the front of the casitas. We could catch a taxi anywhere on the island for a pittance and enjoy beautiful beaches and then return each day to our comfortable little
home for a drink and snacks in the shade whilst enjoying the colourful passing traffic - locals getting home from work or taking the family out for a walk.
 
Leti, Joyce and Bob's neighbour and receptionist/cleaner was fantastic. Although she has limited English and we speak no Spanish, she somehow managed to decipher what we needed and did everything she could to help us from phoning for early taxis to helping us with the safe.
 
We tried in vain while we were there to go to every restaurant/cafe/bakery
and spot of interest on your the helpful list provided for guests. We were never disappointed
and feel that the list of recommendations played a major part in our enjoyment of Isla Mujeres.
 
We only wish we could stay at Casitas del Mar every holiday.
 

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieR0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were looking for a place where we could completely relax, and not be bombarded with commercialism. Thanks to the internet, we were confident that we had found what we were looking for. We did - and it was! We especially liked being among the locals and practicing Spanish. We really appreciated the suggestions of our hosts for eating places, shopping, best beaches, etc. But if one wanted to cook, everything was there to do it with! We bought fresh shrimp one block away and they were delicious! There are lots of excellent local restaurants, and others at the busier northern section of the island. Transportation is no problem - loads of taxis , reasonable fares - also golf carts and mopeds. We loved eating breakfast outdoors on the patio, watching the waves breaking. All in all a REAL vacation! When friends ask what we did, we say, "Nothing!", which was exactly what we wanted. But there are side trips to be taken to ruins, etc. if you want to see them. We have been to Mexico many times and had visited them before, so didn't leave our sanctuary!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montanamartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose Casitas del Mar for an early spring holiday partly due to the value and secondly due to the way my reservation questions and requests prior to booking are dealt with in a professional and timely manner. Bob and Joyce surpassed my expectations as hosts upon arrival. I appreciated staying outside of the tourist zone especially with inexpensive taxis readily available. One of the neighbors was fishing and when I went to greet him, I found myself set with gear and helping him catch dinner. I was in heaven, fishing in front of the Casitas del Mar! I provide an unconditional recommendation for Casitas del Mar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pvaldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stumbled upon Casitas Del Mar somewhat by happenstance. We were desperate to leave another establishment on the Island that was a bit filthy and not we we had expected. We called around the island looking for availabilities and, mercifully, Joyce and Bob had an opening for 3 nights starting the next day and we jumped on it. We would have been happy with average, but what we found was easily the nicest lodging experience we've had on the island - by a large margin. First and foremost, Joyce and Bob are amazing hosts and great business people. Everything about their operation is clean, tidy, well organized and well communicated. They are very friendly and we enjoyed talking to them. They designed and built the casistas and they are hands down the cutest most functional and most beautiful little efficiencies you could ever imagine. The location is about 2 miles from north beach on the caribbean side of the island on the edge of La Gloria neighborhood. While not next to the downtown hubub - we find the location ideal for the type of vacation we like on the island. Lots of local culture and food all within walking distance form your room. I cannot convey how beautiful it is to be able to look out your room from the bed onto the beautiful blue caribbean. It is easy to pop across the street and go collect seashells and beach glass. We really couldn't ask for anything more and we are going back next year to stay for 10+ days. I can't wait to return. Casitas Del Mar is our little paradise. Thanks Bob and Joyce!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.9 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.0 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas del Mar

Address: Avenida Perimetral Oriente | Corner of Calle Lizeta, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sound of waves and a clear view of the sun rising over the Caribbean. Nestled in a local neighborhood of Isla Mujeres known as La Gloria, you will find yourself in a friendly residential area surrounded by locals, both Mexicans and foreigners. Collect beautiful shells and sea glass as you stroll along the rocky and sandy shore or relax on the patio as you watch the world, and perhaps a few dolphins, go by. Newly-constructed and tastefully decorated, Casitas del Mar has everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your hosts, Joyce and Bob, will provide local knowledge and recommendations to help make your Isla vacation unforgettable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing