We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Centro, put it on your list !”
Review of El Centro

El Centro
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“El Centro, put it on your list !”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lots of vendors and nice restaurants. It's all good and interesting to visit and enjoy. Walk the nearby beach, enjoy a sunset, watch Islanders and visitors have a great time ! Skippyfrizz

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skippyfrizz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    303
    108
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Now this is Mexico, come and stay!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you think Cancun is the greatest you may not like the charming streets of Centro. There are no chain stores here, no Margaritaville, no Starbucks, and that is exactly what is so wonderful about it! Safe streets, day and night are important to me as a female traveler. Never any problems here after many week long stays in Centro. I'm not so into shopping but I make a few purchases and prices are much better here than on the mainland, you must haggle though, it's part of the game. My favorite time to walk around town is early in the morning, the chickens are crowing, the newspaper man is on his bike yelling 'PRESTO....PRESTO....'. If you are not staying on the island and come from the ferry you will be dropped right in Centro, no need for taxis or golf carts unless you are going to Punta Sur, beaches, restaurants, bars, shopping, it's all within walking distance of the ferry dock. Many options of restaurants for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can have a wonderful breakfast for 50-75 pesos ($4-6USD) at one of the market stalls or a beautiful fresh seafood meal literally right on the water. Of course the pedestrian street Hidalgo is the main drag with all kinds of food and music.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mn_isla_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap but fun if you only want to look”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

You have to know that El Centro is a tourist trap. The merchants are experts at sales and obviously want you to part with your money. That said they are friendly and it is quite safe. We ate at two restaurants on the strip and bought some tortillas at a factory which was down a tiny alley not much wider than your shoulders at the south end of the strip (see photo). Things don’t start happening until about 9 or 10 although some stores open earlier. Things go on past 10 PM and even later I guess. There are merchants off the strip as well as restaurants which are cheaper and have a more “genuine” feel to them but the strip is not to be missed for at least one visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank get_with_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Silver Mine sells fake jewelry - STAY AWAY”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to The Silver Mine in Centro abt 10 days ago. Found a beautiful Mexican Fire Opal. Was given a written guarantee and repeatedly assured it was real. Brought it back to the states and it is a fake. Will have to go through credit card to try and get our money back. Found others on-line had a similar experience. Do not buy jewelry there unless you are paying a few pesos as that is all they are worth.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beware of bogus vanilla”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We purchased a bottle of D'Lis Pure Vanilla while shopping in el centro. We had a strange
feeling about it when we held the bottle up to the light, the liquid was translucent rather than the customary dark brown color. Whereupon we opened the bottle and poured some of the liquid into the bottle cap. It was CLEAR, and it tasted like water with a faint hint of alcohol. We returned it to the store and our money was returned but they continued to sell the remaining stock. We reported the concern to the Tourist office. Buyer beware.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MBD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing