We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SWEET 'Down-Town'”
Review of El Centro

El Centro
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“SWEET 'Down-Town'”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was actually the teeny 'down-town' of Isla that made me fall in love with the Island and the people. Just a few blocks long & wide but the people and the hidden little 'joints' are priceless. Don't limit yourself to Ave. Hidalgo....the side streets and neighbouring streets are just as much fun. All of the vendors soon remember seeing you so after a day they soon just smile and wave and stop 'hawking' their wares. Humour all of the silver shop owners and just go on in and browse.....they'll give you a shot of tequila.....thus saving you money on your bar tab. If you do want to wine and dine with all of the bells and whistles and a higher bill (none of them high by USA or Canada standards) then stick to Ave. Hidalgo. If you want some REALLY great home-style foods cooked with love and with some real inexpensive prices then you need to look at the neighbouring streets. My policy is when I see the locals lining up to eat someplace then THAT is the place to go. Ave. Hidalgo restaurants can be really good...but they are for the visitors.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank UlfAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    313
    111
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Just the right mix”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The "downtown" as it were of Isla Mujeres is just a great mix of shops and restaurants, cart rentals, little hotels, grocery stores, some peoples homes, the public square or plaza, an outdoor basketball court lit for night games. Go there every night for dinner at a differnt restaurant, not just on Hidlago AVe, but also stray onto the sidestreets for eating at some of the more local places. Every place we ate at was great food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff_and_Joose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice walking street”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Relaxed atmosphere. Many shops and restaurants to choose from. Low key. The town square was great. Got to watch a basketball tournament going on the nights we walked by going back to our wonderful little hotel, Casa el Pio.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Busy”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

AS a New Yorker , I appreciated the desire for them to make int urban. I loved the setup of open and closed spaces in the Plaza De Americas. But I prefer the laid back life of Cozumel and Isla Murejes. Can cuns's busy structure is goodin small doses ,unless its the nightlife whichh of course ROCKS

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank emanuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Playa Norte is the best beach ever! Crystal clear aquamarine waters!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Restful, beautiful and soothing place to regenerate and relax. I love to swim "float" and spend absolutely all day everyday in this beautiful water that goes from knee deep to neck deep for 2 blocks out! Waves crash on the sandbars (not huge waves though as you can actually kneel on the sand bar when they come!) waters are basically calm. Beach is pure white coral sand, it is never hot on the feet as coral does not get hot! :-) We stay right on the north beach.. so we can be out on the water by 8-8:30 a.m.! The local people are wonderful and kind and the quaint colorful little town has the most wonderful cobble stone streets and awesome shops and eating places! Don't bring much from home! Buy it here, they have everything you need and it is good to help support their home town atmosphere!! I love Isla Mujeres and the people and the ocean!! Can't wait until the next time.. no other place I would rather go!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Minnesotatocold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing