We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Norte

Playa Norte
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Trimaran Sightseeing Cruise in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“paradise :)”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

beautiful sand, palm trees, and calm seas... what more is to be said? you can rent a chair and umbrella if you want, but if you don't need that, the sand and the shade of the palms is free.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarilloPuerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,916
    960
    256
    44
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

White sands, calm waters, shallow for a long way out. This is where we tested out our snorkel gear the first day there, and it was perfect.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank forthesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

When I first saw photos of this beach, I thought they had to be touched up. Upon visiting this wonder of the world, the photos I had seen could not do justice to its beauty. Truly, this is one of the most amazing places on earth I have been. Calm turquoise waters, beach clubs, pure white powdery sand, and much more. Do as little or as much as you like here. Water sports places to rent whatever you might need. Someone once described Playa Norte to me that I have never forgotten, 'Water so blue, it makes the sky look pale'

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IslaMujeres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rough for the kids”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Quite shallow and warm, but the confluence of waves at the north end has them coming at you from every which way . . . Scary for my two year old and a waste of a boogie board for my 4.5 year old. Beach nice but kinda small with annoying topless euros and loud beered up Americans. Anywhere else, a great beach (4-5 star) but for my purposes/kids, I'll take most of the Mayan riviera over it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank otxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Beach !”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just a beautiful beach ! A good mix of locals and tourists. Most afternoons the water is dotted is boats which you can easily swim out to. The water is crystal blue on a clear day and it seems like you can swim to Cancun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gia711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Norte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
 

Been to Playa Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing