We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sugar white sand and a drink in my hand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Norte

Playa Norte
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Trimaran Sightseeing Cruise in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sugar white sand and a drink in my hand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The beach was beautiful and the service from our beach waiters was always on time. The sunsets were phenominal and the water was ice cold on those hot mexican days.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank anthonydmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,804
    933
    246
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MO
Level Contributor
483 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Best in the Roo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have to say, it is our favorite area in the Roo. We have stayed in villas and condo from here to Tulum, mainly in Akumal, which we love, but this is the best swimming beach in all of the Yucatan. Wonderful place to bring the kids too as it is shallow quite a ways out. It is generally calm, but we did have some good wave action this week I must say, but that makes it fun for the older kids and adults alike. There are alot of restaurants on Playa Norte, but expect to pay a premium...actually outrageous prices. Walk a bit inland and get the same thing for half the price. Pack a cooler, save some bucks, and settle in for the day. There are many chairs with umbrellas to be had...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over sold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

They said this is the best beach. well the waters are crystal blue and the sand is white but it is public. In Mexico that means panhandlers everywhere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcwojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wide and long white sand beach with many places to choose a beach chair for the day. Many hotels with beachfront restaurants to dine. You can walk way out in the clear blue ocean. It is another great place to experience while on Isla Mujeres

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaandLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loopgrl5
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach/Great Margaritas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved this beach. It's fairly long so you can choose to sit somewhere not completely crowded. I definitely recommend going to the beaches that don't charge for use of the chairs as long as you order food and/or drink. Just get a bucket of beer, lounge in the chair, and cool off in the turquoise water when needed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank loopgrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Norte also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing