We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed in Rm.201 from Jan26 - Feb03/07. This was the first time we had spent any time other than day trips to Isla. We knew that we would love the island but we were winging it as far as which hotel to stay at, we decided on this one after reading reviews of many on the island. We are not very hard to please travelers but this hotel went far beyond our expecitations. All of the staff were excellent., as were the management. On our 2nd day we had a leak in the toilet and mentioned this to the cleaning lady and within 15min some one was there to fix it. Also the staff take great pride in keeping the whole hotel very clean. The only thing that really bothered us was a couple next to us from Conn. who basiclly complained about everything. some people can never be happy. Again we would like to thank the hotel for a wonderful stay and will be back next year for 2weeks

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ReginaMissinglink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2007

Excellent hotel!! Clean, very comfortable beds! Stayed on the 4th floor in a room with one single and one double bed. Private bath with a shower, TV, etc. Plenty of room, but don't expect mega spacious quarters!! Your time won't be spent in the room anyway - you'll be at the beach, restaurants, etc. Very nice family runs this hotel - very safe, reliable, good food, etc. Perfect for a week or more. I was really impressed with how comfy the beds were, how quiet the hotel was at night, etc. Just a perfect stay. Thanks Bucaneros!!! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank katmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

My husband an I were staying in Cancun at 'mega-resort' when we decided to take a day trip to Isla Mujeres. We had been there once before with a tour group and didn't get to spend any time. So, we took the ferry boat over and spend the whole day at the principal beach (to the left of the ferry dock and about a 1/2 mile walk). We enjoyed ourselves so much we decided to spend the night. A little walking through the town found his this little hotel. It was clean and they took visa so we said, why not. We had to purchase all of our toiletries and some clothes as we had only our swim suits. We sat on the balcony (you have to crawl out the floor to ceiling window) over looking the street. We just relaxed and watch the town's activities. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The price was right, the rooms clean, the food a 2 or 3 on a 5, but not bad. We would go back for 4-5 day stay. Rooms are on the smaller side and you might drive each other nuts if you need a bit of space. It was refreshing to know you could just walk up to a hotel in a small island town and get a room for the night. We didn't miss the mega resort at all for that one day and night.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank suzanne0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

My finance and I stayed at El Meson del Bucanero for a week during february. This is a small, family owned, wonderfully charming and friendly hotel. The staff are helpful to a fault, the rooms are clean and service is very well done. The airconditioner was quiet and kept the room at a very comfortable temperature. The hotel also has one of the best restaurants on the island. And for the price, I'd find it difficult to recommend any other hotel on Isla Mujeres. However....However...However....I'd only be willing to stay there again under one condition--that I could pick up the hotel, (including its staff) and move it to a civilized country.

From the time we stepped off the plane, until the time we left Mexico, we were hounded incessently by a herd of time-share vultures, taxicab arrangers, trinket hawkers, shop merchants, restaurant barkers and the like. The entire time we were in this decrepit 3rd world country, we felt like we had the American flag on our backs and targets on our foreheads. Our experience felt like a non-stop sales pitch, given by a parade of cheesy used car salesmen. Although the beaches of Isla Mujeres are wonderful, we simply couldn't enjoy them because of the endless procession of merchants wandering past, schlepping their wares. Jewelery, bags, popcorn, bangles, cotton candy, nuts, hats, tee shirts, etc, etc, etc. By the time we left the island, we were just sick of it. And trying to walk down the streets of the island was no better. Shop owners and restaurant front-men...constantly exhorting us to "come inside"...."come inside". They couldn't have been more obnoxious or shameless had they been peddling brothel services. It was non-stop. One night, as we were having a drink at one of the restaurants around 10:30(yes, p.m.) a woman was directing her two young children (ages 3 and 4?), arms laden with beads, bags and other assorted junk, to approach people on the street. Does it get any lower than that? So cute...so pathetic.

Nice hotel. Nice Island. Nice beaches. We'll never go back.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank Jinglz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

Bucaneros is in the center of town and a 2-3 minute walk to Playa Norte. The staff are wonderful, the restaurant we thought is one of the best in town, it's clean and aesthetically pleasing. It was perfect for a romantic vacation, but would also be well suited to a family vacation.
Our room and bathroom were spacious and very clean, the AC worked well, we had a refridgerator, and filtered water was free.
On a separate note, Isla Mujeres as a whole is perfect for the traveler who wants to relax in a gorgeous setting, do a bit of exploring and experience Mexican culture; Bucaneros is the perfect hotel from which to do it!

P.S. This hotel listing is the same as the "Hotel and Restaurant Bucaneros!"

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank amerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We stayed here for two nights in January. We were in a very small room on the second floor. The rooms were clean, the employees were nice, the service in the restaurant was quick, and the price was right!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zippingallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Really good value for money - close to the beach and in town - easy to get around - rooms were clean and spacious with private bath - looking to go back again next year!

  • Stayed: November 2003, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites

Address: Av. Hidalgo # 11, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $57 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Isla Mujeres on Avenida Hidalgo, the main pedestrian street, lies the Bucaneros Hotel & Suites. The hotel was created in 1989 by Mrs. Hilda Pérez Villalba, since then, this family run business offers which started with 4 rooms, (now has 17 enchanting rooms), all nicely decorated in a relaxing caribbean style & colours which will help you feel your vacation come true. You will be only 8 walking minutes away from the turquoise waters and white sands of famous North Beach. You'll have the best location on the island, very close to all shops, restaurants, cafés, internets, pharmacies, supermarket, mainsquare, jewelries, etc... A personal and professional attention from the owner family is most important to us to make you feel safe, appreciated and at home on Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucaneros Hotel Isla Mujeres
Bucaneros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing