We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very nice hotel right in the heart of things!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bucaneros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bucaneros to your Saves list
Hotel Bucaneros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hidalgo #11 | Manzana 14, Super Manzana 01, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
verde valley
Level Contributor
335 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“very nice hotel right in the heart of things!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

this is one terrific place to stay in Isla Mujeres. its literally surrounded by restaurants, shops, live music venues, etc.

the manager and staff are super friendly and extremely helpful and very accommodating.

the internet could use some help, but i think the manager may be working on that. it works very well in the lobby at least!

Room Tip: splurge and get a balcony room! its very relaxing to sit out there and people watch as hordes of to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    130
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
126
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

You can't beat the price or location. It's near everything which is both a pro and con. Hotel is outdated but for the price you really can't complain. Wasn't bothered by the "noise" of the streets. It ended at midnight and it was great to people watch. I would stay there for a weekend but would upgrade to a nicer hotel if staying longer. My only complaint were the ants, dust, spotty WIFI and lack of microwave.

Room Tip: Pay for bicycle transport and they will take luggage up to room (no elevator). Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Worthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you're planning on staying on the island, and not looking for a glamorous or pricey experience, this hotel is perfect. It sits in the center of the island, in the northern end. The center street that runs below the hotel offers a variety of restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Most nights, starting at 9pm a dance group performs along the stream with large drums. The hotel is cozy, offering somewhat small single rooms, but fairly large doubles. Once we saw the single we had booked we were able to pay the difference for the double, it was worth it. Internet is free, and the staff is very flexible and kind. Breakfast includes toast, cereal, plate of fruit, spreads, milk, juice. Ac, hot water. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaheen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent location as their are loads of restaurants on the same street, although it can be somewhat noisy in the evenings but nothing too late, and the beach is just a 3 minute walk. The room was clean with good air-con and a decent fridge. There is everything you need nearby and it is great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

You can't beat this place for location and value. It's located right in the heart of the village, and the rates are very reasonable. However, the room we booked, although advertised as a "suite," was simply a tiny room with two double beds and a tiny kitchenette. In fact, it was so small that it was difficult to walk around the beds to get to the bathroom or kitchen area. The beds filed ip practically all of the floor space. For four people (two parents and two teens), it was really not suitable. On the other hand, we had air conditioning and wifi. And, really, when you're on Isla, you don't spend a whole lot of time in your hotel room. So, this place certainly didn't ruin our trip or anything. But it was not quite as advertised. And, if we'd had bad weather and spent a lot of time indoors, the room's tinyness might have led to family dysfunction. ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I walked in last minute after being Snubbed by another Hotel. Friendly Family Staff! Good English! Clean all around steps away from Music/Eateries/Shopping! BUT!!! The Hotel is Undergoing Construction in the Rear on the second outtet Floors !! Bang bang from 10AM TO Freaking 6PM!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have been staying at Bucaneros for the past ten years and keep coming back for many reasons. The location is perfect - the beach is a short walk, you are close to tons of restaurants, close to the zocalo and supermarket, as well as the ferry and taxis to discover the island. The hotel is clean and there are many options for the size of the room you need, additionally it is a fantastic deal. More than all of that we stay as over the years we have gotten to know the family and staff and it really feels like a second home. Isla Mujeres is a very special place with some of the most amazing people in the world. I will be the first to say it isn't for everyone, but for the lucky ones Isla is a place where each visit back you feel like you never left. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucaneros

Property: Hotel Bucaneros
Address: Av. Hidalgo #11 | Manzana 14, Super Manzana 01, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bucaneros 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Isla Mujeres on Avenida Hidalgo, the main pedestrian street, lies the Bucaneros Hotel & Suites. The hotel was created in 1989 by Mrs. Hilda Pérez Villalba, since then, this family run business offers which started with 4 rooms, (now has 17 enchanting rooms), all nicely decorated in a relaxing caribbean style & colours which will help you feel your vacation come true. You will be only 8 walking minutes away from the turquoise waters and white sands of famous North Beach. You'll have the best location on the island, very close to all shops, restaurants, cafés, internets, pharmacies, supermarket, mainsquare, jewelries, etc... A personal and professional attention from the owner family is most important to us to make you feel safe, appreciated and at home on Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bucaneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucaneros Hotel Isla Mujeres
Bucaneros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing