We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious”

Loncheria La Gloria
Ranked #143 of 277 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 22, 2016

My boys ordered the beef taco and then ordered a second round, so good. I was just getting over the Mexican flu but ordered the bean and rice and could have eaten that for the rest of the vacation. Nice workers/owner, great cheap cheap cheap food.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank sekdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2015

Loncheria Gloria is a hidden gem in the middle of the Colonia La Gloria. It's on a side street near the Malecon and across from the large staircase. Once you find it, you will return often. Gloria has been cooking for friends for years and finally opened a restaurant. She makes the comida de dia (food of the day) for the locals every day and if you are lucky enough to stop by for lunch you will get a tasty treat. She will make you anything you want but my favorite is Enchilada Verde. It's the best on the island and much cheaper than downtown. She also makes wonderful pan seared fish with rice and guacamole. In the evening sit down for a lovely shrimp or fish dinner.
If you are in the mood for lighter fair try her chicken soup. It's filled with chicken and a tasty broth. I've been eating here for more than 15 years!!! I wonder why not many people know about it. Maybe this review will tempt you to try a really good restaurant in the colonia instead of the higher priced downtown places. Try it. You'll like it.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank starislamujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2015

simple, delicious food. I believe we both ate well for under ten dollars. Love the locals that cook the best.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank nocoats4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2015

TOTALLY worth the search in the LaGloria area. We stumbled upon this years ago during our first visit to Isla. A wonderful family with the best place to eat for service, portion, and value. Top of the list is: guacamole, coconut shrimp, mixed chevic, shrimp tacos...the list goes on!

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greek12see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

All the stalls are great....we have never had a bad meal at any of them and you can't beat the price.

Date of visit: November 2013
Thank Ryansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loncheria La Gloria also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Loncheria La Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing