We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a kick!”

JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island
Ranked #18 of 47 things to do in Isla Mujeres
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Richart Sowa built Joysxee, the Floating Bottle Island by himself, with over 150,000 plastic bottles. Shown on MTV Extreme Cribs and Ripley's Believe It or Not, the island that floats on bottles is an ecological masterpiece. Everything on the island was built with recycled materials from the three story house, to the out door bar. Come tour Joysxee and meet the incredible Richie, a real life Robinson Crusoe. An experience you can only find on Isla Mujeres.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a kick!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Looks like a great place to live! Imagine floating on an island of plastic bottles. We didn't go aboard but enjoyed the view.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrammaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    55
    30
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gotta go meet Richard”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The most unusual tour on Isla! Richard's floating island is worth a tour. Richard will welcome you into his very unusual home made of plastic bottles making this handmade island an eco-friendly oasis. Just go and meet Richard!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank OdetteVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We very much enjoyed touring the island and visiting with Richart. Such a unique experience, and such an interesting tour guide.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KDR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique in my experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Be sure to tour the island and make a donation. Rishi, who built the island and lives there, is someone I consider a friend. His environmental experiment is his lifestyle, and he's so interesting to talk to.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Seeing is believing”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have to stop and look everytime we go past this floating island/house. Who would have thought to try such a thing, and accomplish it. We stopped on a Sunday, unfortunetly he was closed that day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank relics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing