We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MUST SEE!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island

JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island
Ranked #18 of 44 things to do in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Richart Sowa built Joysxee, the Floating Bottle Island by himself, with over 150,000 plastic bottles. Shown on MTV Extreme Cribs and Ripley's Believe It or Not, the island that floats on bottles is an ecological masterpiece. Everything on the island was built with recycled materials from the three story house, to the out door bar. Come tour Joysxee and meet the incredible Richie, a real life Robinson Crusoe. An experience you can only find on Isla Mujeres.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MUST SEE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

You must see it to believe it. When I first met Rishi (The Islands builder), He had yet to start the Island. Over the past 4 years, I Stop by and see the progress he has made every year. This is one Attraction that i cant get enough of. I tell my family and friends that this is a must see. What an incredible place. You wont regret the visit. Truly a one of a kind experience. And one unique man who has visions of a better world and someone who is trying to do something about it. When you visit, you could spend 15 minutes or the entire afternoon. And if your willing to get your hands a little dirty, you might be able to spend the night and volunteer to help with the ongoing construction.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank myvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    54
    30
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
380 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“A "TRIP" IN THE VERY BEST WAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

One can call JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island a trip (in all the very best of ways) and friend to the world Rishi a genuine visionary - and you'd be right on both accounts - but there's no question visiting this "island within an island" is an absolutely must see while on Isla! No visit to Isla Mujeres is complete, or nearly as much fun - or educational (Rishi has some truly brilliant ideas) - without a "trip" here!!!

Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Talk about Creativity and unique ideas! Rishi Sowa the builder of the Floating Bottle Island is a true visionary. He is also a man of action; he has built an entire island floating on 150,000 empty plastic bottles. The island has an abundance of live plants and trees.

Rishi actually lives on the floating island in a house complete with an artfully decorated living area, master bedroom, guest bed room, kitchen etc.

The island has three different sandy beaches and many novel inventions all from the mind, labor and love of this wonderful man. Our time on the floating island included a ride over to and back from the island on a “bottle boat” a tour of the island and a wonderful vegetarian meal cooked on an open fire.

In addition to his carpentry skills: Rishi is and artist and a performing musician. He brought out his guitar and we all sang songs around the campfire.

Normally Rishi asks for a 50 peso ($5.00) donation for the one hour tour. I was so impressed with Rishi and his floating island that I gave him a $50.00 tip. What a trip!
Definitely a must see and do if you are visiting Isla Mujeres.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnieDonovanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Cool. A Real Life Castaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Came upon this island as I was taking a tour with my wife and two kids on a golf cart. We stayed at the Palace and the security guard told us it was something we had to see. It is a little out of the way but Isla is pretty small so its easy to find. When we got there, we only saw a small boat with a canopy but no people. A mexican man was sunning himself and waved us to take the boat to the island which was about 50 feet from shore. A rope is used to pull the boat across.

We were very excited as we approached the island and didn't know if anyone was on it. Once we got across a shirtless man started yelling to us and waving. He had a distinct British accent and he was very excited to see us. He took us through out the island and explained how he built it and what he was planning next. He even took us throughout his home that he built with debri he has accumulated. AMAZING what he has built. And the passion he has is extroidinary. The kids loved climbing to the top of the house. The whole experience was very unique and cool. Just understand before you go that this island was made by one man and isn't perfect, but it sure is interesting.

IF ON ISLA, YOU HAVE TO GO SEE THIS PLACE.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This island was very interesting. Wish we could have gotten onto the island for a tour! What a crazy and cool concept :)

Helpful?
1 Thank cindeechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to JOYSXEE Floating Bottle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing