We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Parque de los Suenos Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Seafood, Spanish, American, Contemporary, Pub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Open for breakfast and lunch, enjoy a meal and the breath taking vision of the Caribbean waters beyond the edge of our beautiful infinity pool. Our special lunch menu features an array of delicious choices with a twist – like Pulled Pork Tacos, Smoked Fish Tacos, BBQ Ribs and, of course, good old fashioned handmade USDA Sirloin Burgers. All our meats are dry rubbed and slow smoked, combining great flavors to make a variety of Mexican and American favorites. The Pool Terrace also features WiFi, TV, and great music.South Point Sunset Restaurant and Bar is a classic tropical waterfront jewel. Enjoy a panoramic evening view of Cancun as the sun gives way to the stars. From 4 to 7 pm daily, we feature Happy Hour drink specials and an outstanding bar menu served to your table, your hammock or even your beach chair. Our Sunset dinner menu features epicurean delights created by our brilliant team of chefs. Our restaurant manager, Chef Michael, a Culinary Institute of Arts of New York trained specialist, has a rare ability to discern flavors that combine to tantalize and delight the palate. Head Chef Raul, a critically acclaimed Mexican Chef, will amaze you with the artistry of his creations. Together they create fabulous meals that delight the eye and the senses.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Maybe we just hit the place on the wrong night or something, but we found Suenos to be overpriced with mediocre food. We ate out every night during a week on Isla and this was the only place that nobody liked. Waiters were very nice, but they got our orders all wrong several times and we were overcharged for what we got. Even the tortilla soup, a hard dish to mess up, was bad.
The best part of the visit was the walk through the hotel, which is very stunning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BROC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarManager, Owner at Parque de los Suenos Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our restaurant. I am sincerely sorry and surprised that your visit was not perfect. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and top quality food and want all of our guests to have a great time while visiting us. We have two culinary trained chefs on staff. One is from Mexico City and the other from New York so we specialize in both American and Mexican dishes. The tortilla soup is one of our most popular dishes so again I apologize that it was not up to your expectations. I will find out what happened on your visit and make sure it never happens again.

Again thank you for visiting us during your stay and we hope you will give us another try on your next trip to Isla Mujeres!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    35
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We rented a house at Punta Sur and went looking for a place to celebrate our friends 40th birthday and happened on a gem. The views are awesome. The owner Patty from Texas was great. She pulled out a $300 bottle of Tequilla and gave our friend a shot for his birthday. Invited us back for breakfast and to snorkel and kayak at her dock. Which we most definitely did. One of our group got a massage at the spa and she said it was one of the best she had ever had.

We also came back for Valentine Day dinner. Food was really good. Service wasn't up to par with other visits but it was packed. And even so everyone was very friendly.

We would definitely go back to Casa de la Suenos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCphotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place on Isla”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed in the villas across the road from Casa de Los Suenos and couldn't stay away. The owner and staff are clearly working hard to make the business work in a slow tourist season and that means inviting in folks to enjoy the hotel, lounges, and beaches even if they aren't staying at the hotel. Great happy hour, great snorkeling, high-quality food, good music, excellent service, all with a "hidden gem" classy feel to it. Don't miss this during your Isla trip.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the must places to visit if only for a drink”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were told to check this place out on our tour the Island day in our rented cart. So we stopped by and what a beautiful setting. We only visited the restaurant and bar that is street level with the infinity pool that looks out over the water. Truly a beautiful view. I understand there is a separate bar that has live music on Sunday afternoons and happy hour. The staff was awesome and the drinks were delicious. We only had the guacamole which was very fresh, unfotunately I can't comment on the other food. But for everything else, it's a place that makes you sit back and go, yep this is the life.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JlovKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great owner”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went for drinks and happy hour one evening. Two young ladies we met from New York were staying here and we joined them. The atmosphere is terrific. Patty the owner came over and talked to us. She really is a super person.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kclady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque de los Suenos Bar & Grill also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing