We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive. Poor service.”

Parque de los Suenos Bar & Grill
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open for breakfast and lunch, enjoy a meal and the breath taking vision of the Caribbean waters beyond the edge of our beautiful infinity pool. Our special lunch menu features an array of delicious choices with a twist – like Pulled Pork Tacos, Smoked Fish Tacos, BBQ Ribs and, of course, good old fashioned handmade USDA Sirloin Burgers. All our meats are dry rubbed and slow smoked, combining great flavors to make a variety of Mexican and American favorites. The Pool Terrace also features WiFi, TV, and great music.South Point Sunset Restaurant and Bar is a classic tropical waterfront jewel. Enjoy a panoramic evening view of Cancun as the sun gives way to the stars. From 4 to 7 pm daily, we feature Happy Hour drink specials and an outstanding bar menu served to your table, your hammock or even your beach chair. Our Sunset dinner menu features epicurean delights created by our brilliant team of chefs. Our restaurant manager, Chef Michael, a Culinary Institute of Arts of New York trained specialist, has a rare ability to discern flavors that combine to tantalize and delight the palate. Head Chef Raul, a critically acclaimed Mexican Chef, will amaze you with the artistry of his creations. Together they create fabulous meals that delight the eye and the senses.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Expensive. Poor service.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The only good thing about this place is the fantastic view. The food is average to poor and often is served cold. It is expensive. The service is slow. ( perhaps because they automatically add 18% tip regardless of the size of your party. This is unusual for restaurants on this island.) If you pay by credit card, the amount in pesos has to first be converted to USA dollars and then go through Paypal. Again strange for this island. A lot of mosquitos at dusk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarManager, Manager at Parque de los Suenos Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry your experience at Casa de los Suenos was not what it should have been. We pride ourselves on both our food quality and service and we take this very seriously and will take steps to make sure both issues are resolved immediately. As far as the Credit Card issue, we can do either US dollars or pesos but most of our clients are from the US and prefer US dollars and to go through PayPal so as not to incur a foreign fee on their credit card. Again, so sorry you caught us on a bad night. We strive for consistency in both food and service and will endeavor to not disappoint you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    36
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penland, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Casa de los Suenos is incredible”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although I did not stay at Casa de los suenos during my recent visit to Isla Mujeres, Mexico, I went there for dinner and drinks and did not want to leave! First of all, the place is gorgeous! It is a breath taking location that has been impeccably decorated. The outdoor seating overlooking the Caribbean is wonderful. There are multiple levels of comfortable outdoor seating and a long dock where you can see the sunset, kayak, or snorkel. The owner of Casa is attentive to every detail. She greeted us, checked on our meal and drinks, and asked for our feedback. The food was delicious, as were the drinks. The atmosphere is luxurious and laid back at the same time. And the staff is friendly, helpful & professional. I highly recommend Casa de los Suenos for dinner & drinks and I'm sure it is a wonderful place to stay as well.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sad overprised food; disappointing!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went for a late night dinner here. The setting was beautiful and it was a pretty restaurant with fancy decor and chilled music. Nicelooking place BUT the food was terrible!! AND Overprised (600 pesos) and we only got half a grilled fish each with some rice and a few sad peppers - bland taste to tell you the least. To sum it up it was a tiny dinner for two starving people! We recommend if you´d like traditional mexican food or nice quality fish rather go downtown to visit the restaurants in the city area by the sea, there you could get a nice dinner with grilled fish for two people for half the price they charge in Casa de los Suenos restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Currygrytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarManager, Manager at Parque de los Suenos Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry your experience at Casa de los Suenos was not good. We are confused as to what grilled fish you ordered for 600 pesos as our grill fish on the menu is 225 pesos and we receive compliments on it every day. Again, so sorry you have a great experience as we strive for consistency in both food and service and will endeavor to not disappoint you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stumbled in here looking for a place to eat near the house we had rented and could not have been more delighted. Patti was very welcoming and, to get right down to business, the food was delicious. We came back to eat more than once, and were also made welcome to swim and to enjoy the property. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Berkeleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize Cayes, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Dinner....Excellent”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband Jim and I dined again at this beautiful restaurant on New Years Eve. This place overlooks Cancun on the other side. The views are magnificent, but let's talk about the food. I had the lamb chops with polenta, red peppers and vegetables and it was fantastic. Jim had the grill shrimp and also enjoyed his meal. It satisfied all my taste buds and had a caribbean cocktail to go with it. I am a good cook so my expectations are very high when I dine out. Casa de los suenos satisfied all that. I also love the friendly manager Patty and the staff that kept checking to make sure we had everything we wanted. I highly recommend this place, in fact I have been sending all my divers to this restaurant. Keep up the great taste and service!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsDangriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque de los Suenos Bar & Grill also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing