We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent view, beer so cold it will hurt your teeth and our waitress Wendy, perfect combination.”
Review of Casa Havana Cafe - CLOSED

Casa Havana Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Swansea, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magnificent view, beer so cold it will hurt your teeth and our waitress Wendy, perfect combination.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stopped for a cold beer while walking along the boardwalk, beer was so cold it was slushy. Sat at table on boardwalk overlooking the sea, met very nice newlywed couple from tobago. Atmosphere was amazing, enjoyed it so much came back for a second visit. Had beers encased in ice the second time along with vieja ropa, flavor was unbelievable. Stopped in a third time for the wonderful view, cold beer and cuban shrimp. Ran into old friends from texas we had met on previous trips and took them back for a fourth time. Got rained out and had to come inside this time, had wonderful time talking with the owner while waiting for the storm to pass. This place will definitely be added to our list of places to stop every time we visit. May still go back for whole fried fish before we head home saturday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baumbergerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“OMG, those plantains!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We absolutely loved Casa Havana. It's cozy and quirky and in a great location right on the malecon. The night we were there we sat inside the quaint little dining room with the doors open to the pouring rain and crashing waves just outside.The food is astounding. Excellent Ropa Vieja. Perfect Mojitos. Indescribably excellent plantains. Portions are enormous. The service is friendly and welcoming. We have really good memories of this place and will definitely go back on our next trip to the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank campmarengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“so good”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Sitting outside on the seawall watching a turtle walk up the beach drinking the best mojitos and enjoying some amazing cuban food. The portions are not normal but somehow we found the room for Victors amazing cooking. Just go and enjoy for yourselves

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylandDarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“JULY2013”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

1. This was first time to visit Victors place. What great experience. We went there for a late lunch. Note to self, they don't open until 2:00 PM. We got there about 1:00 so we walked back to local #3 for a excellent torta, which we split. Went for a nice swim and walked back and got there around 3:00 . Not knowing what to expect. We got two fabulous mojitos to start. After checking out the menu and talking to Gwen our pick was the Cuban fish filet. Then after ordering, we received garlic bread. Sitting on the Caribe walk with THIS GREAT MOJITO doesn't get any better. Then came the fish, this was bigger than TEXAS, no really. It was fish smothered in onions and garlic ! . Served with rice & beans, fried potatoes, plantains, salad, mango, pineapple, avocado, tostones. WOW!
2. Next feast was dinner. Ropa Vieja. (shredded beef with peppers, onions, garlic) rice & beans, fried potatoes, plantains, salad, mango, pineapple, avocado, tostones Had a bottle of Conch y Torro w/dessert chocolate cake with strawberry ice cream & 2 wafers 440pesos! (the wine was 240 pesos)
3. Lunch... Cuban Sandwich came w/ fired potatoes, rice & beans, tostone, plantain. (120 pesos) 2 mojitos(100 pesos) WOW!
4. GOING AWAY DINNER! Our last nite to dine here. Had to order the Ropa Vieja once again. Another winner!
Cannot wait to return. Much more Mojitos for Gwen Cervantes to make....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vincebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not just a place to eat.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is great to eat, but we actually stayed in the apartments upstairs and it was wonderful. Victor is so nice and accommodating. He had some minor issues due to rain from the week before and continued to go out of his way all week to make sure we were happy. The food downstairs is so good and the staff is super sweet. If you go please tell Victor and his dog Coda I said hello!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Merlyn311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Havana Cafe also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing