We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious”

Rosticeria La Mexicana
Ranked #64 of 206 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Ontraio, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I ate an early dinner here and it was delicious. Moist roasted chicken served with barbecue sauce, yellow rice, marinated onions, hot pickles and tortillas. This is simple food prepared with care. The restaurant is nothing fancy but the owner came and took my order and was around during my meal to ask if everything was good. I ordered the half chicken dinner and a soft drink. The bill came to 110 pesos without tip. This is really good value. I would highly recommend eating at least one meal here .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BCr0cker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Premium chicken on a small budget”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I like to think I am a good cook on the grill. I only wish I could serve chicken that tasted this good. Tonight my Wife and I are wrapping up an 8 day visit to Isla Mujeres with our 1st week stay here last June 2013. On that trip we walked by this place as we were walking to our room with the contact person from Ixchel Condos. As we went by he commented that it was the best chicken on the Island. As we started unpacking, food again came up and I volunteered to go get us some of that chicken to try. WOW, that's a great way to start a vacation with food that good. And the price is hard to beat-$130 pesos for a whole chicken and 2 sides,easily enough food for the 2 of us.
Needless to say it was also the last dinner we had on the island,both trips.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cantrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic chicken”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

It's simple, 1/4, 1/2 or a whole chicken with rise or spaghetti. If you want beer you go over the street and buy it. The taste: fantastic.

Helpful?
1 Thank ThoWib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious chicken”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Another great place to either eat in or take home. Can't beat the price, or quality of the food. The pickled onions are great. We often stopped after a day at the beach for a late lunch/early supper. Have been going there for years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been here on both of our visits to Isla Mujeres and both times the food was perfect. You can't beat the prices or quality of food here. Excellent service too.


Closes at 5pm or earlier if they run out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosticeria La Mexicana also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rosticeria La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing