We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in the middle of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place in the middle of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

Las Palmas is a really cute, cozy place and was perfect for our vacation. It's about a block from the beach and close to a lot of great restaurants. Rooms are on the small side, but air conditioning works perfectly, beds are super comfortable, there's hot water in the shower, and the roof, with dipping pool and hammocks, is a great place to hang out. The owners were away while we were there, but the people taking care of the hotel were wonderful.

Some tips and recommendations for the hotel and Isla:
*Don't leave food out in the rooms. It'll get stale immediately, and a trail of tiny little ants will find it.
*Don't leave your things unattended on the beach in Isla. It really might get taken (ours did). Otherwise, though, we felt completely safe the whole time.
*Get the chocolate cake at Mogagua, a great lounge-y bar near the dock. Amazing.
*Rolandi's is fine, but there is an even better Italian restaurant closer to Las Palmas. There's a picture of Italy on the board that's always in front of the entrance.
*If someone offers you a free day at the Avalon, it's worth sitting through the time share presentation for it. For about 3 hours of our time, we got day passes which got us access to their really nice pool, 3 free meals, and unlimited free drinks from 9-5, plus we got a free golf cart rental for a day.
*There's wi-fi at Las Palmas that works great in the lobby, but doesn't work in the rooms.
*Water is available all the time in the lobby, so it's helpful to bring a reusable bottle so you can take it with you.
*This is a small hotel, and you will definitely interact with the other guests, especially on the roof - it was a plus for us, but it's good to know if you're looking for total privacy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhillyCoupleTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
112
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

We all loved it, the only way for it to be any better was if it were on the beach. But from here it is a short walk to Hidalgo Street, just around the corner, and to any of the North beaches, just a couple of blocks! The little pool on the roof was a must. You get back all salty from swimming and sweating, take an outdoor shower to get the sand off when you walk in the front gate, then grab water, beer, etc, and head for the roof to get in the pool for awhile and socialize. This place makes all the guests feel like family with the courtyard and roof. The pics on their site don't show some of the recent improvements like some shade on the roof and hammocks and more loungers. Very pretty place and the young couple who were running it while the owners were away were friendly and helpfull and kept a watch on everything. Extremely well kept and clean, but like all hotels, our bed was pretty hard.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnorkelingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in Feb. for 5 nights. We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful pillowtop mattress, a real find in MX. The rooms are basic but clean and the owners are planning to add things as money permits. The bonus is the rooftop! Nicely done, lots of plants, dipping pool, table, chairs, hammocks. Did my pilates up there in the morning and had friends over for drinks at sunset. Wonderful spot. As they add use of frig and microwave in their kitchen it will be even more user friendly. Lots of gathering in the courtyard and had a very friendly atmosphere. Right across the street from the market so very handy and short walk to North Beach or the busy street of Hildago.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

I had stayed at Las Palmas several times in the past for its location, but it had been a while since I had both visited Mexico and finished up on Isla Mujeres . The pluses were to me that Las Palmas is just two blocks from Playa Norte and right across the street from the comedors, where one can get an inexpensive breakfast and lunch. It is also close to the post office, the market and a laundry.

Now it is owned by a mother/daughter team from Canada, and it has greatly improved under their aegis. For someone who wants a comfortable place and who doesn't care about television, this was great. Once I am done with getting to Maya ruins on any trio, I like to do what passes for relaxing for me and eat a lot of seafood.

It does look like Las Palmas is a work in progress and I look forward to the kitchen for guest use that is coming. I especially liked being able to inexpensively rent one of the hotel bikes and explore the island. It is also great that an early riser like myself can just turn on the coffee pot and not have to worry about finding an open coffee source. The next time I can tear myself away from visiting Guatemala, this will be where I finish up that trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

I've stayed for 10 nights in March in this Hotel and really liked it. The Hotel is quite small (12 Rooms or so?) on ground and first floor. The Rooms face a small courtyard with a lot of plants, chairs, tables (and hammocks).
On the roof top there are some additional chairs, hammocks and a small dipping pool.
I found the courtyard a great place to get in touch with the other guests over a morning coffee. There was no breakfast in the Hotel (except the mentioned coffee) but the next restaurant as well as a market was just across the street.
My room was basic with a queen bed, fan and aircon. The later one I didn't use much since it really cooled down the room. There was no TV in the room which was an advantage from my point of view - I didn't want one.
So if you are looking for a 5 star Resort or a Party Hotel that's not the place you should go. If you are looking for a clean, quite place with great hospitality then you're right.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

On our third trip to Isla Mujeres in 11 years, we were so happy to have learned about Las Palmas through Trip Advisor, and were completely satisfied with this friendly, bright, warm and comfortable hotel. We are a family of four - two adults & two older teenagers - who had room to put unpacked clothes on the hangers, on the shelf and in the hanging closet organizer. The suitcases fit under the shelf. (A place to hang towels in the bathroom will be helpful).
I wish I'd moved our towels off the outside railing before taking the video clip (posted here) - but you can still see how beautiful it all is.
My arthritic back has suffered from sleeping on old mattresses in other places, but there are new (firm) pillow-top beds and we all had great sleeps. The island downtown is a friendly place, we enjoy meeting people who live there, and Kate and Safari were really helpful when we had questions about anything!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

I have been coming to Isla Mujeres for 10 years... and this hotel is the besy place for the money. I have stayed in All Inclusives and 5 star condos on the island costing $300 per night to small bed and breakfast smaller hotel type places. Las Palmas is wonderful ! It is inexpensive, CLEAN, cozy and comfortable. Location on the island is key.. and Las Palmas is located just 1 block off the North Beach and 1 block off the busy main street. Katie and Safari (the owners) treat you as if you've known them for years... and are very accomodating. I typically go to the market when I get there to get all my necessaties such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, room snacks...etc. so that I don't have to worry about all of this with my carry on luggage (i travel very light). I had forgotten a cooler, which they have to use.. and I forgot my beach towel, which they had extras to loan. Yes.. it is still partially under construction with things they want to improve or add... as it just opened after xmas holiday. And yes... like your own home, you would want to save $$$ - so do they. Turn off lights and AC when not there. Makes sense. This keeps costs down for all of us and saves the planet! I highly recommend this to anyone. I will be back!
tricia from MN - [--]

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicogirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Property: Hotel Las Palmas
Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing