We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing Las Palmas now I'm back in Vancouver”
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Missing Las Palmas now I'm back in Vancouver”
Reviewed February 14, 2009

It has been two weeks now since returning from a 10 day holiday in Isla Mujeres and nine of those days we stayed at a delightful little hotel called Las Palmas. We found it by accident wandering the town at the north end of the island... we tend to equate travel as an adventure as well as a vacation so we seldom book anything beyond our flight and sometimes the first nights' hotel at the destination... It leads us to experiences that might otherwise be missed by locking into an all-inclusive or fully booked situation. Such was the case this time, we met relaxed friendly people, in the small courtyard of the Inn, from all over the world, travelers on world tours, casual vacationers like ourselves, students, seniors and families... all passed through, or like us lingered for a few days to enjoy the feeling of living in Mexico in a hotel that seemed more natural and intrinsic than the large white behemoths, 100 yards down the little lane that led to the Playa Norte... and at a fraction of the cost...Las Palmas is a Mexican style Hotel that has been totally remodeled and up-dated by the owner, Kate, and her two daughters. The plumbing is new and efficient by the country's standards, terrific showers with hot water, it has Air-conditioning, fans, wireless, new beds and mattresses with fresh new linens... such a treat when traveling... a lovely roof-top deck with potted palms and a dipping pool for cooling when the sun's rays become too intense, and nicest of all a warm and generous host in Kate and her two daughters Jasmin and Safari, offering helpful information, suggestions, and a willingness to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The beaches and restaurants are nearby, without being in the hub of the nightlife that Isla offers, it makes a perfect place to stay while visiting the rest of the islands' sites. I expect those wanting Satellite TVs and stocked bar fridges may not find it to their liking but there are plenty of those down the road at five times the price so everyone can have what they want... Isla Mujeres is a great place to visit, just 20 minutes by regular ferry from Cancun, it makes a special out of the way place to be based when visiting the Mexican Riviera, but well within reach of everything that this wonderful part of Mexico has to offer... I'm starting to sound like a PR Promo... the sun is still inside me... just want to add we are already making plans to return there in November, and yes we will be staying at Las Palmas if there is a vacancy...

  • Liked — The beds and linens cleanliness and the hostess made me feel at home
  • Disliked — not enough time to enjoy it ...wanted to stay longer
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank theorbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
116
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york,maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I wish I could write a positive here but Las Palmas is really not a great deal for the $$. The owners are certainly friendly.
But I would say at this point, this place has more of a hostel vibe than that of a hotel. Our room was tiny, there wasn't any table or luggage rack, and with 3 bags, that makes for a pretty cramped and awkward space. Ugly decor too. My guess is many of the positive reviews were written by family/friends. (Understandable, but deceptive)
The bathroom is tiny, plus no hot water. When we mentioned this to the owner, we were told to just keep it running..we did..for 10 minutes, still no hot water!
If you enjoy privacy, this isn't your place. You hear everything being said in the courtyard, plus one always has to interact with the owner(s) whenever walking in and out. Very public kind of space.
Decent rooftop. No bar.

I think this is a good place for people expecting hostel digs. But for the $$, there is much better value elsewhere. We regretted this choice, and moved on after a day to a nicer spot.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
11 Thank greenroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We just got back from a week-long stay at Las Palmas. This is just a fantastic little hotel. Ignore the old reviews on here, that was before it was renovated. It is now owned and run by Kate and her daughters, a wonderful Canadian family. They speak English and Spanish. They have completely renovated the hotel and live there, so their care and pride really shines though. The rooms are super clean, with comfortable beds, very quiet air conditioners, and plenty of hot water with good water pressure in the shower. In the morning, everyone congregates in the courtyard and sips on coffee that Kate has made (a donation of 10 pesos is recommended). In the afternoons, people can be found up on the rooftop deck, taking in the sun, cooling off in the dipping pool, conversing with other guests, reading, playing games. The hotel is around the corner from North Beach, and across the street from the lonchorias, where you can get the cheapest and best breakfast on Isla. I really could go on and on about this place, but you need to experience it for yourself. I've included some pictures from our trip, email me if you have any questions. If you do stay here tell Kate Megan says hi! (and be sure to make a reservation, she is filling up fast!). :)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFordice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Newly renovated, opened Jan 2009 this spotlessly clean little hotel is owned by a family of friendly Canadians who live on site. Twelve pleasant rooms have high efficiency air con, private baths with lots of hot water and quality mattresses.

The cheerful and cool inner courtyard is a great place to relax, chat with owner Kate or other guests, lie in one of the many hammocks, or have a coffee on the house. The sunny roof top patio has a dipping pool, chaise lounges, tables and chairs and hammocks. A lending library of good books is the perfect touch.

The location is great, just across the street from the Municipal Market and a few blocks from the North Beach. Reasonable rates, great advice and friendly hosts make this a great choice. We were staying down the street and wandered in and then moved to Las Palmas.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Creatingchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We were very happy with the Hotel.It is run by a very friendly canadien family and they keep the place spotlessly clean. The rooms are all renovated with local Mexican bedspreads which are attracive. The outdoor lobby is a relaxing place to meet other guests,and have a drink.On the top floor (3rd.) is a large patio with chairs and tables,and a great soaking pool. The native market across the street has good restaurants and fruit ,tortillas,and fresh O.J. can be bought. A short walk takes you to North beach,or the town square. We will be back next year! This hotel is a good value.

  • Liked — The friendly family that ran it and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — No bedside lamps to read by,but they will add this
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We have just returned from a week long stay at Hotel Las Palmas on the beautiful island of Isla Mujeres. The hotel is under new management and has been fully renovated. They have internet access in the courtyard, air conditioned rooms, brand new pillow top beds, and a dipping pool on the roof!!! And possibly best of all....lots of hot water with tons of pressure! The owners of the hotel went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. They even helped us book a day trip to the Myan Ruins! We cannot thank them enough for all of their help during our stay! As far as we are concerned Las Palmas is THE place to stay on Isla Mujeres, it is a stones throw from the best beaches and shopping, not to mention the restaurant across the street that serves some of the best food I have ever eaten!!! We can't wait to go back with our daughter, the hotel and island both are very kid friendly!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Doodlebugboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver. British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2008

My husband and I along with some family members spent the first week of
December soaking up some Mexican sun. This was our first trip to Isla
Mujeres and definitely will not be our last.

We discovered a delightful, newly renovated hotel run by a friendly Canadian
family. Although still needing some finishing touches the hotel was
spotlessly clean. The rooms are small but comfortable each with its own
private washroom, with lots of hot water!.

The Hotel las Palmas is well situated, only a short walk from the beach and
any number of wonderful small beach bars and restaurants. The owners were
very helpful in giving advice on where to eat and shop about town.

We particularly enjoyed the rooftop terrace where you can relax in the sun,
read a good book and cool off in a little dipping pool.

We will definitely return.

  • Liked — It was extremely clean and comfortable and priced right.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everythig was great.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyofthelake51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Property: Hotel Las Palmas
Address: Av Guerrero 20, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing