We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Kind of Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Bar

Rock Bar
Ranked #2 of 13 Nightlife in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My Kind of Place!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have to say that this was the LAST kind of bar I expected to find in Isla....and I am SO happy I did. Romina & Paolo made me so happy and welcome (even without the beer). We had so much fun playing Siouxsie & The Banshees, The Cure, Killing Joke, etc. all night. Everybody is welcome but you will feel most at home if your music tastes are not the USA top 40. I can't wait to see them again in October 2012. This really has become my 'night' spot on the island. Great people, drinks and music. Just GO!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UlfAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    7
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite place to be when not in the water”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just loved hanging out with Romina and Paul, enjoying drinks, awesome music, and some really cool stories about how they followed The Cure. They even give you a shot when you sit down and put a karaoke microphone in your hand when they can tell you want to wail your own version of Glycerine. Definitively one of the things we miss most about Isla. If you make it out there be sure to stop by. It's right on the "main" road, Hidalgo Street, where all the action is.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lyfschaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Special place, run by awesome people. Great, welcoming place to meet folks from around the island, and also the world. Best jukebox south of New Orleans.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cafNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a great time! Great Music, drinks and Hosts!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking for a great new alternative for something to do at night on Isla Mujeres, then check out Rock Bar for sure! A small bar with a BIG heart and love for music! The bartender pours some great drinks while DJing your favorite rock tunes (and takes requests!) while drinks are brought to your table outside on Hidalgo or right at the bar! Perfect place for a group of friends to meet up, sing songs (yes, you can sing on the mic there) and have a great evening while getting some good people watching in right in the heart of Isla Mujeres!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DCAnthro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing