We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Little Local Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortugranja (Turtle Farm)

Tortugranja (Turtle Farm)
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cute Little Local Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We loved the Turtle Farm. It's not big, but well worth the $3 we paid to get in. They practice sea turtle preservation and you can see turtles in all stages of growth, from the pools of tinies to the adolescent and grown. They are released right off the reef and they have a hatchery on site. Not a big place at all, but well worth visiting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    882
    470
    85
    71
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“love the turtles...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

my husband and i go to the turtle farm 4 times a year. we love it here. i must have 300 pics of these beautiful turtles. this is a wonderful place and always makes me so happy to go.. the people that work here are also so nice and helpful.. what a beautiful place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nancym211_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“turtles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Moderately priced, this is a relatively quick walk through of the turtle farm. There are lots of turtles about of various sizes for your enjoyment. There is a tank at one end with several marine creatures including a horseshoe crab. One of the staff will place it on your arm for a photo op. Lots of fun

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Interesting but only worth a short visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We visited here and were a little underwhelmed, there is not a lot of information and no guides or people offering information when we were there, there are a few small fish tanks with other sea life, but if this is all for a good cause then its worth the admission and a 20 - 30 minute stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank scotprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Very hands on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Although there are signs all over saying not to touch the turtles, the little old guy working there ran around picking up turtles and other sealife and handing them to our 4 & 7 year old...they were THRILLED. This is a very small place but a good value. Not much more than half hour to and hour stop.

Helpful?
Thank Going_to_Normandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortugranja (Turtle Farm) also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Tortugranja (Turtle Farm)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing