We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marcianito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marcianito
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed in January 2008. We also pre booked by sending a night's deposit thru Western Union. No problems at all. We were glad we did because there were several nights that the hotel was booked up during our 10 night stay.

The hotel was in a great location. Right in the middle of town. We easily walked there from the ferry dock with our rolling suitcases. If you ask for room 14 on the top floor, you can look out from the balcony and see both sides of the island! Shops and restaurants all around. Laundromat on the corner.The grocery store was a 5 minute walk. Internet store right next door run by a wonderful English speaking lady.

Our room was basic but very clean. The bed was very comfortable-unusual for Mexico. In fact, we had brought a bed pad to use but never put it on the bed.

If you are planning on staying a few days, I would suggest bringing your own beach towels, soap, shampoo, roll of toilet paper, corkscrew/bottle opener, and travel clock.

It was nice to have a TV, although only a few stations were in English. There was also a safe in the room. We locked up our phones, passports, etc. during the day.

Being right in the middle of town, you could hear street noise as stated by othere guests. We ended up buying a box fan at the grocery store and slept great every night after that.

All in all it was a great place-clean, great location, and very affordable. We are planning on going back next year.

  • Liked — price-very affordable
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy_to_You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    66
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
73
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

We got four rooms here.. Son and his wife, my daugher, my two foreign exchange kids, and me and my hubby.... It was clean, GREAT owners who went out of there way to make sure everything was good... All the rooms had fans and tvs... It was loud as it was in town, but that was great as we had so many teenage kids that loved being so close to everything. Close to restaurants for that sneak down to the bar.... We paid $35 a night and would go again in a second! We love Isla and the night life....

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Missed having a pool!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isladreamermichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

I booked from the website based on reviews from this site and found it to be better than expected. I made reservations via Western Union based on the hotels request during busy season. We stayed in room 11 on the 3rd floor and no A/C was needed in January based on the breeze from the ocean. The balcony is shared by all on the floor and wraps around to view both sides of the island. Chairs are provided for relaxing. The rooms were basic, yet offered one double bed and one twin bed, vanity, bench, chair, end table shelves, closet, shelf for unpacking and bathroom with hot water. Rooms were very clean. The only complaint I have is the children below were rather noisy until late at night, playing and screaming at times, yet Isla Mujeres is a populated area with a lot of tourism given the size of the island, so noise is expected. While in bed you could also hear the ocean waves which made up for the children playing. The staff we worked with spoke little English, it is helpful if you know some or bring a translating book. Shops and restaurants are a step out the door, the beach is a 5-9 minute walk. (See submitted hotel photos)

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bmohlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Stayed here for six nights. Very good location and clean rooms. Maid service did a good job. No A/C, but good fan. Cheap. Good deal.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank CamLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

Unbelievable deal at $35 US during the holiday season. The owners keep the rooms meticulously clean. The only downside is that there is a club/bar one main street behind the north wall of the hotel which plays music until the wee hours of the morning. Nothing that shutting the windows won't help though! Excellent place for the budget traveller.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Club down the street
  • Tips/Secrets — French Bistro on Matamoros - Excellent French toast
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BCTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2006

Very well-run little hotel right in the heart of downtown Isla. I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights in February 2006 and would recommend it any day. Marcianito is a little newer than most of the budget hotels on Isla and has TVs with 50 odd channels, which was liberating having stayed in hotels without them for the previous 11 nights! It is a little more expensive though but well worth it.

Ours and a few of the other rooms were a little smaller than the rest, but this was compensated for with a discount of 50 pesos off the standard room rate.

As the previous review mentioned, this place is extremely clean and the caretakers/owners are lovely helpful people. They let us keep our luggage behind the small reception for a couple of hours after we checked out so we could stay a little longer on the island before heading to the airport. We would have stayed longer had we found this little gem earlier on our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank coachroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2005

This place was exceptionally clean. As clean or cleaner than any American Hotel.

Great location, a bit loud at night and in the morning because it's right off the main street (that's why it didn't get 5 stars). Mostly trucks, mopeds, and people doing street stuff, not loud people. A room away from the street may be quieter though.

The owners/managers live there and even though we never needed them I'm sure they would have helped us with whatever we needed.

We have no complaints (we put up with the noise) and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget option right in the heart of Isla Mujeres.

They took a reservation over email and held it for us without a deposit. They responded rapidly to our emails. They do a good job with the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
27 Thank orchard_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#17 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Gomar
Hotel D'Gomar
#30 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#18 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#28 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcianito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcianito

Property: Hotel Marcianito
Address: Calle Abasolo 10, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Marcianito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Marcianito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcianito Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing