We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Secreto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Las Palmas(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cabanas Maria Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Francis Arlene Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Arcos Suites(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Xul-ha(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Hotel Xbulu-Ha(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
247
84
25
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
84
25
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastplaya nortewarm croissantsboutique hotelhighly recommend hotelpool areaminute walkfourth floorsecluded beachevery morningour honeymoonroom hotelthe main dragno elevatorbeautiful poolentire staywater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 376 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

While the main focus of our trip was getting out in the water to swim with whale sharks, the comfort and exceptional service offered by Hotel Secreto made the entire vacation a pleasant and memorable one! Our kids (9 and 14 at the time) enjoyed it as much as my husband and I did!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We just stayed at Hotel Secreto for five night in early March. We had an amazing vacation and enjoyed the staff, location and the vibe. It is a few blocks from the main shopping/restaurant area and a couple of blocks from Playa Norte. The staff is helpful, friendly and always available. The rooms were comfortable and the views/balconies were great.

There are a couple of things that you should know... On the website, they tout the 50 best new hotels and other claims. These must have been awarded 5+ years ago. We just kept continually saying how the place had the potential to be AMAZING, but had a lot of small misses. Did it ruin the vacation? No. But you could tell the place had seen better days. Some examples:

- The pool and hot tub - the heater used to work I was told, but hasn't been working for a while. The hot tub is now labeled a kids pool. Throughout the pool, there are a lot of tiles missing or poorly fixed. Even the deck had loose boards that should be fixed.

- The furniture on the balcony - ours had definitely seen better days. Whether it was the "bed" which was overly weathered (ask them to put sheets on it!!) or the chairs which some rooms had cushions, other didn't... they were beaten up. My chair separated at the joints when I sat on it.

- The hallways and rooms - a lot of deodorizer, or cleaning agents. After a couple of days we were numb to it, but definitely a strong odor. Not sure what they were trying to cover.

- Bathroom - The shower head had some mold on it. Our toilet seat was broken and I had to go in and fix the toilet from running continuously a few times.

- And a lot of other little things that just seemed to be lacking attention.

Finally, they don't have food at the place. They make a breakfast (same thing every day for five days) and will happily order food for you, but a bit of a miss, especially when eating and drinking at the pool would really make it amazing.

If the owner would invest in the property, it could easily be a primo place to stay. And I'll be honest, we'd consider coming back, so it wasn't a make or break thing, but it definitely isn't the boutique hotel that it could be, or was when it received all the kudos. But it is a great setting to get away.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms - Floor 3/4
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WanderingJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are interested in a quiet place to relax, sit by the pool while the waves crash on the rocks, and maybe nap a little while being taken care of this is the place. This is not a party place or even a place that we'd take our kids ( our kids are 7 and 9 years old and would love it but it's not that type of place). It's a short walk to Hildago Street and all the amenities that it offers so that was a real plus for us. The croissant, fruit, and coffee breakfast was adequate since we could walk less than 1/4 mile to many places to eat (and drink). The staff was very helpful and we are very impressed with them overall. I (we) are looking forward to returning...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A friend and I spent a lovely week at the Hotel Secreto. The lobby and bar area as you enter are so beautifully decorated. The staff warmly greets you when you arrive. The views are breathtaking as all the rooms face the Gulf.
First off there are just 12 rooms, we stayed on the 4th floor..word of warning there is no elevator.. one of the staff gladly carried our luggage up to the room. I would suggest a room on a lower floor for less money. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom lighting is very poor.. the room is comfortable and most simply decoarated. There is a bed on the outdoor deck which has sheets and pillows with a wonderful view!
The service at this hotel is some of the best I have ever experienced and made our time there excellent.
The breakfast offered each morning was simple and most delicious.. it is not available until 8 or after and is brought to you by one of the staff.
There are no coffee pots in the rooms.
I loved being able to walk a short distance to town each day.
When you look at the website of the pictures the rooms are exactly what you see there.
If you are looking for a quiet place with a nearly private beach andbreathtaking views this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

If I would have paid $165 a night, then this would be a 5 star review. Unfortunately, at $289 I was extremely disappointed.

Pros:
Location. Loved being only a block away from the main drag.

Friendly, english speaking, staff. There was always someone available to speak to at the front desk. They were helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations.

Morning coffee and tea delivered to your room every morning.

Great Wi-fi in every room. It was nice not having to use a communal space like most hotels on the island.

Comfortable beds and nice sheets

Cons:
What used to be a jacuzzi is now a children's pool. Apparently, the hotel wouldn't go through the hassle of fixing the jacuzzi when it broke, so, this was their solution. Pretty lame.

The hotel needs a facelift. The windows were dirty, and the overall aesthetic was bare bones and depressing.

The beach in front of the hotel isn't swimmable, too rocky.

At a different price point I would return and recommend to friends. But you can find hotels with similar amenities for well under $200 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zoedogminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews