We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
$280
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
$237
$215
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playa La Media Luna Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
Free cancellation until 07/28
$89
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel La Joya(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$338
$220
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
$837
$537
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$648
$605
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
36
13
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
13
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea glassminute walktaxisunitsshellsisland
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 57 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I finished our yearly 3 weeks in Mexico with 3 days at Punta Piedra. It was wonderful, very peaceful. In the mornings you could watch the sunrise and know that there is peace in the world, if only on that small island. I have a fairly stressful job and only get one vacation per year so it is nice to go to a place that is away from hussle and bussle of the world.
I read 4 books I brought with me and went to sleep each night to the sound of the waves on the beach. Everything we needed was there and Amy was great with anything else we needed. Have all ready booked our next stay there, this time for 7 days.
I like the upstairs room better because you can nap on the balcony and have the windows open and not worry if someone will walk up or look in. Yes it is a little remote but taxis are reasonable 20 pes. to the square but if you want peace and quiet and a simple room with a comfortable king sized bed this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovebluewaterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed 8 nights at Punta Piedra II in the bottom studio. We were unsure if our balcony would be private enough because it's right next to dipping pool but we liked the idea of being close to beach and pool, so we booked it. It was as if we were the only ones staying there! We rarely saw the other guests (which would have been fine). The studio has everything you need to make simple meals. They supply all the drinking water you'll need. Very clean and no bugs...the only time I was bit was on an evening trip to town for dinner. The location is far enough away from El Centro that you can choose either a busy or quiet atmosphere easily. We also walked to the south into the small neighborhoods and found the island tortilla makers and the homemade bar-b-que man. We really enjoyed that.
Amy (the owner) was great as is Bowser, the dog, and Pepepita (something like that), the cat. And the highlight, which isn't on the web site is that there is WiFi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annmarien-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We spent 12 days at PPII and enjoyed it tremendously. It was private, relaxing and had an outstanding view. We only had to walk outside and down the steps and we were on the beach with a beautiful view. The studio was clean and comfortable and Amy was very accommodating. There was some noise from the traffic in front of the apartment, but the sound of the waves on the other side made it a non-issue for us.

There were a few restaurants within a short walking distance and the cost of a taxi to centro was just 20 pesos plus a tip, and the taxis passed by about every 2 minutes so it was never a problem getting one.

Da Luisa at the Hotel Casa Ixchel was just a couple of blocks away and had very good food. The Mango Cafe is about a 15 minute walk and was excellent. Our favorite was Lolo Lorena - just absolutely wonderful and a 20 minute walk. There were some small taco stands and grilled chicken/pork cafes and a bakery nearby, also.

If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay, away from the busy beaches and centro area, this is ideal. We can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We spent a week at one of the studio apartments at Punta Piedra 11 recently and enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment, although basic, had everything we needed and was spotless. The view out to the beach was absolutely fantastic .. we loved it !! It is about a 30 min walk to town, and taxis were very reasonable.
All in all, the apartment was extremely good value for the money and we would not hesitate to recommend it, and would certainly return.
The only small detail that seemed to be missed was the bedding .. sheets were old and faded and actually had holes in them (although the bed was comfy), but hey, it that's the worst thing you have to deal with in a week in paradise. life is pretty good, lol !!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Lainer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This was our third stay at Punta Piedra and we enjoyed it even more. We had the whole place to ourselves for the week and Amy upgraded us to the upstairs apartment because the air was broken in the unit we had reserved. If you are travelling with a family or 2 couples, I would definitely recommend the apartment. It had a full kitchen, dining and living area, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The balcony was amazing and you got sunsets and sunrises! The pool was nice and warm and just a short trip down the stairs. And we still got the wonderful sound of the waves, but for the first time it was calm enough to snorkel. We had a couple of stormy nights and watching the weather from the balcony was amazing. Amy was great as usual and we didn't end up paying until she popped in right before we left. We also booked through Maria at Mornings in Mexico and would definitely recommend her especially if it is your first trip. We had no problems hailing a cab right out front and the walk isn't far into town. We rented a golf cart and there is a small gated driveway to keep it safely. We love Isla and staying at PP gives you the best of everything - a beautiful view, a wonderful pool, close to the town and North Beach, close to the Colonias and far enough away for privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peaches2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews