We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true!”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2010

My husband and I just returned from staying at VLB for 6 nights and all the reviews are true! Ashley and Curtis are the kindest, nicest hosts! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left(at 5am I must add)Ashley and Curtis were there to make sure all of our needs were met. The B&B is perfect because it only has 6 rooms so it's private and intimate. The location is great as well as the B&B overlooks the ocean and is mid island so a cab ride to either end is between 20 and 30 pesos.
The breakfasts were delicious and huge as you've read from other guests. Some mornings pastries were served in addition to the breakfast from local panaderia. Yum!
The staff was fantastic as well-Luis, Francisco and Ernesto always made sure we were comfortable. The pina coladas are a must. They are made from scratch and topped with shredded coconut. The best drink ever! It's about the small touches here too. Every afternoon we were given a cold hand towel(scented with orange extract)to wipe our hands, faces and other sticky body parts. Amazing!
We made some wonderful friends here too who we will stay in touch with for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADeckerCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 726 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

We had an amazing stay at Villa La Bella. It was the last four days of our honeymoon and we really enjoyed the peace and tranquillity. Isla Mujeres is a very nice island, but our main reason for picking Villa La Bella was to spend a few days enjoying ourselves relaxing by the pool and sipping cocktails at the end of our three week holiday travelling round the Yucatan. We were not disappointed - especially by the pina coladas served in coconut shells!! The honeymoon suite was very clean and spacious with a great balcony with views over the sea which - perfect for spending a few hours in the sun reading a good book. Ashley and Curtis are brilliant hosts and it is obvious that they have put a lot of effort and care into making Villa La Bella a very unique place to stay. Sorry it has taken so long to add a review.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo1978Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Our stay at Villa la Bella was exactly what we needed. Ashley and Curtis could not have been more welcoming, entertaining, and helpful . Our stay was just not long enough, but we were so grateful to have had the opportunity to discover this gem. It was peaceful, intimate, and beautiful, The breakfast were excellent—our only complaint: the portions were too generous for our small appetites. We will definitely be back!
Thank you so much, Ashley and Curtis, for creating, and sharing your paradise on earth!
Suzi & James

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sujas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I am so impressed with Villa La Bella. Our room was the front Palapa suite and had the most wonderful breezes at all times. I slept the best I have ever with the sound of the ocean and the gentle breeze that swept across the bed. Curtis and Ashely are the most gracious hosts ever!! We arrived on a sailboat at 4:30 am and was met by Ashely with a beautiful smile and kind words of welcome. I will be returning again next year and look forward to staying longer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jans01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We arrived in Isla Mujeres after participating in the Regata del Sol al Sol sailboat race from St. Petersburg, FL. Frankly, anywhere would have felt luxurious after roughing it for 3 days on a sailboat, but staying at Villa la Bella felt like we were in heaven! We were surrounded by breathtaking views from every vantage point. Our room was filled with island charm...a bed hanging on ropes from the ceiling...a conch shell in place of a shower head. We filled our bellies with scrumptious breakfasts each morning, so much so that we could hardly eat another bite until dinner time. Best of all was the way we were treated by Ashley and Curtis. From the moment we arrived (in the middle of the night, I might add!), we felt like we were long lost friends who had arrived for a visit. Everything was taken care of for us...from arranging for a golf cart rental to making suggestions for great island restaurants. I love this place and will be sure to stay here each and every time I return to Isla Mujeres!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband and I decided on our trip to Mexico this time to search out and find little romantic and special get aways or boutique hotels. We were lucky enough to get a room at Villa la Bella. The owners Ashley and Curtis have built a little shangri-la on the West side of the Island. The location is a little further from town than some of the other hotels, but is much quieter! The beach there is beautiful, and they make the best Margaritas on the island! Taxis are inexpensive and there are some restaurants within walking distance. Ashley and Curtis are so friendly and helpful to really make your stay not only with them but on the island, special. We will definitely return for some pampering and true R&R!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aestheticgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We were looking for a relaxing, virtually stress-free vacation and that's exactly what we got at Villa La Bella! Ashley and Curtis, and their wonderful staff, made our stay ideal from the time we arrived until we left! Our spacious poolside bungalow had gorgeous views of the ocean as well. Nothing was more peaceful than swinging in the hammock pergola with a book and the best pina colada we've ever had, or floating in the pool with the best pina colada we've ever had! After only a day or so, we felt we had known Ashley and Curtis for years. The small size of the b&b made it easy to get to know other guests and breakfast every morning was a true event with Curtis' imaginitive and skilled hand in the kitchen. Bella, the lovable dog, was a plus--as were our iguana neighbors! The setting on the rocky Caribbean side of the island was spectacular. Truly great to be outside the busier centro, where we were living alongside many locals and got to know some in the local shops and restaurants.

We're already looking for a way to get back to Isla Mujeres soon and would not think of staying anywhere else when we go. We couldn't recommend Villa La Bella highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyandChris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
445 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
509 reviews
2.1 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing