We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Getaway Experience”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I'll make this short because there are so many excellent reviews already posted.

This was the second time we have stayed at Villa La Bella, and have already booked another week for February 2009. We absolutely love staying here for so many reasons. Curtis and Ashley make you feel so at home, and treat you like kings and queens. Their staff is wonderful, and it is so easy to become friends will everyone there, including Bella! We especially enjoy the laid back atmosphere and all the amenities and special treatment. We first discovered Villa La Bella several years ago while touring the island. We noticed the "beer so cold it will make your teeth hurt" sign and stopped to check it out. We have been going back every year since and have introduced family and friends to this great place.

We have met some wonderful friends there, and this year, several of us from around the country will be there at the same time. It will be wonderful to spend time with friends again. We all share the same opinion about Villa La Bella.

It is difficult to write a review after viewing other reviews. It's all been said, but bears repeating!!

We have stayed in a palapa suite, which is wonderful, and this past February and next year we are in a poolside bungalow.

We enjoy touring the island, either on foot or with a golf cart. There is a great walking area around an inland lake just a few blocks from the Villa La Bella. We feel perfectly safe touring the island during the day and exploring restaurants and bars during the evening.

We would highly recommend this establishment. You won't be sorry. It is truely a paradise!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IslaMujeresFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 725 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2008

This was our first time visiting the Yellow house by the sea.
We desired to experience the real Mexico & find a stress free haven away from most tourists. Villa La Bella provided all of that.
The local Mexican people were friendly & it was interesting to see this different culture. From the honeymoon suite we had an amazing view of the property & the Ocean. Our hosts Curtiz & Ashley are over the top. They made us feel part of there family. Amazing breakfasts prepared by Curtis. Ashley thanks for the flowers & positive comments every day. You both give us privacy when we needed it & were always available to give advice on where to visit & eat. Thanks for helping out when we were under the weather.
Hot weather, breezes to cool you down, a spotless pool & the swing bar what more do you wnat?
Ashley you make the most healthy Margeritas :)
If you watch carefully you might see Curtis creating another ecclectic art work. Has the head found a home yet?
This B& B was central to just about every thing on the Island but far enough away to be out of the hustle & bustle. We walked, used cabs & a golf cart to explore the Southern end of the island. Isla is a place where you need to look under the rocks to find the real treasures.
Thanks for your love guys
Ian & Linda
B.C. CANADA

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Save yourself the trip to the south point of the island to see the small Mayan ruins of the Temple to Goddess Ixchel, for whom Isla Mujeres is named. It's just a heap of bricks without much information on the ancient site--far more attention is given to the Legend of Mundaca the Pirate, and a collection of forgettable modern art sculptures. The REAL GODDESS of Isla Mujeres is blonde, blue-eyed Ashley, the American host at Villa La Bella, the "B&B by the sea." She is as creative, gracious, and beautiful as any Goddess at any time, and she and her husband Curtis are also kind and generous when it comes to helping their guests orient to what to do, where to eat--even how to get an amazing personal driver to whiz by the tourists buses to get you to Chichen Itza so you can have those mind-blowing monumental ruins to yourselves for a while.

Villa la Bella is a feast for the eyes (check out the colorful photos at www. villalabella.com), well located, close enough to town and North Beach that it's a quick and cheap cab ride away but secluded on an amazing stretch of Caribbean beach. The views of the white water waves from the enormous outdoor living room/dining room are spectacular, as are the views from the bedrooms. It's not a beach for swimming, but great for sea shell collecting and drink sipping. The honeymoon suite is perfection--spacious, with huge balcony and the best view in the house. The palapa suites, which are basically open air, are quite romantic, if you're adventurous and hardy (depending on weather conditions). The included breakfasts are as scrumptious as they are picture-perfect.

Since the island attracts snorklers and divers, know it's a convenient cab ride to the reefs on the southwest side of the island, For those who just want to tan and jump in the waves, North Beach is even closer, has nicer sand, as well as everything else you need to enjoy a day at the beach (competing restaurants GIVE you free lounge chairs and umbrellas if you buy their food or drinks). Isla Mujeres has fine restaurants with an amazing variety of international cuisines--and Curtis will help you find the very best of them--but perhaps the tip we all enjoyed the most was his direction to walk just five minutes to the local baseball field, where every night they set up barbeque pits to make what locals call "beisbol tacos"--the quality is as good as you'll find anywhere, and they add grilled pieces of pineapple to add distinction--a few of those, with literally fishbowls full of mango smoothies will only set you back a few dollars. Don't wait 'til your last night to try it--you'll crave more and want to go back before you leave. And if you can tolerate a few more calories, knock on the bakery's window on your way back, as the locals bake in the cool of the night, and don't mind opening the door and letting you pick from hot-from-the-oven goodies.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank drjlever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We spent our first wedding anniversary at VLB in July. From the moment we walked onto the property until the moment our taxi pulled away, Curtis and Ashley waving goodbye, we couldn't have been more pleased.
I spent a lot of time researching accommodations on Isla Mujeres and the reviews I read here helped me make my choice. I'm glad I listened to everyone! My husband had no idea what I had arranged, but within the first half hour of arriving, he said, "It's perfect." And it was.
Overlooking the Carribean, away from all the crowds of el centro and North Beach, we were so happy we had VLB to retreat to after our activity-filled days. Villa la Bella is secluded, but just a $2-$3 cab ride to downtown, or a 25 minute walk (which we did twice).
A few things of special note:
FOOD: Curtis made beautiful breakfasts, but my husband and I are vegetarian, and my husband does not eat eggs. Curtis was kind enough to prepare granola, yogurt and fresh fruit for us, so we could start off our days with something in our bellies. Very satisfying! (Tip for vegetarian travellers: We did eat breakfast downtown at Elements of the Island several days--tofu and other vegetarian breakfast items, homemade marmalades, very yummy! Also, we liked Comono for dinner).
POOL/BEACH: The pool was cleaned and refreshed everyday, and nicely balanced with not too much chlorine. We fully enjoyed coming back after some of our daytime adventures and having a pool--often to ourselves--to cool off in. The beach is not really a swimming beach, though we did wade and lay on the small sandy area. Fun to explore and also to watch the pelicans diving in the early morning hours.
ROOMS: We stayed in the bungalow on the end with the round window. It was beautiful. The sliding doors opened up directly to the pool, with a beautiful view of the sea behind. Simply decorated and comfortable, the room was well-cleaned.
WEATHER: We stayed in July, so obviously, it was hot. But, at VLB there was always a breeze. It really is the breezy side of the island. We had no problems with mosquitoes or any other insects. There was a tropical storm the last two days we were there, and Curtis, Ashely and their staff made sure everyone was safe, and had movies people could borrow, which we watched on our laptop. Great lightning show, too!

Halfway through our trip, we decided to make a day trip to Chichen Itza and Curtis and Ashley helped us make this long journey a pleasant one. We got on the 6 a.m. ferry and then were picked up by a private driver they recommended and got to Chichen Itza by 8:30 in the morning (quite the feat!) and visited a cenote and the city of Vallolidad on the way back. We are SO glad Ashely & Curtis recommended this way to travel, it made the whole day so much more enjoyable and was worth every penny. We got to the ruins when there were only a handful of people there and the birds were still singing.

We loved Isla Mujeres, loved Villa la Bella, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oceanarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

My husband and I discovered this little gem of a hotel in 2005, when we were on our honeymoon. We stopped in for a drink and vowed someday we would come back and stay there. We never forgot about it, and this winter we returned to Isla Mujeres just so we could spend a week at Villa La Bella.

It was everything we hoped it would be. Quiet, charming, and gorgeous. The views of the Gulf are amazing, and we spent most of our week never leaving the property. We were in need of a relaxing vacation, and with our room being just steps from the pool, the hammocks, gorgeous views, and a great bar, why leave?!?

What we weren't expecting was the wonderful hospitality of the owners (Curtis, Ashley, and Bella the dog) and the friendly camaraderie of our fellow travelers. We enjoyed exchanging stories over Curtis' fabulous breakfasts and swims in the pool.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AthenaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We absolutely loved Villa La Bella! We stayed there for the last 3 nights of our trip and it was by far the best part of our vacation.

Breakfast was incredibly delicious and the pina coladas were the best ever! Curtis and Ashley were awesome hosts. They are definitely experts at running a bed and breakfast!

The first 2 nights we stayed in a palapa suite and the last night in a poolside bungalow. They were both very nice rooms, but the palapa suite was the best. There was always a breeze coming in the window and it had a cool hanging bed. Both rooms had an incredibly cool conch shell shower head.

The grounds were very well designed and landscaped. There are shells everywhere and interesting sculptures and signs. And we loved their swing bar!

The 2nd day we were there Curtis arranged for us to rent a golf cart so we could tour the island. I highly recommend doing that; it was great fun!

Overall we had a very pleasant experience at Villa La Bella and on Isla Mujeres in general. I wanted to stay forever! We hope to be back soon and stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jewlzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We used trip advisor to find this place, so i am going to keep up the good karma.

We stayed here for 10, too short, days on our honeymoon. Ashley and Curtis have created not only a space but a vibe that this is your home... away from home!

Breakfast was fabulous, and believe me I love to sleep in, but miss Curtis' breakfast, not a chance. Then there are the rooms themselves, FABULOUS, you can't go wrong. We stayed our first 3 nights in the honeymoon suite, then moved to a poolside bungalow- literally 3 steps out our door and you are in the pool, finally to end our stay we moved to the ocean view palapa. Staff moved us each time, no luggage to carry.

Rules:
No kids EVER
Beer before noon on Sunday

We had massages in your room, lunch delivery, drinks by the pool or the swing bar- fresh, yummy and cheap, ocean views, quiet, a quick trip onto town, all arrangements made for you,,, we had not a care in the world. Oh and there is a secret treat for you to enjoy. WOW!

Then there are Ashley and Curtis. An indispensable source of information and super fun to hang out with. We miss you guys and will be back soon! Love, the Brady's from San Francisco.

Oh and Isla Mujares was wonderful :)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimconnector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,414 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
2.1 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing