We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #2 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited this place seven years ago for a drink. Their Piña coladas are the best on the island. We finally made it back to stay. Curtis and Ashley are great hosts. The attention to deal in everything they do is perfect. Curtis cooks breakfast everyday, each one was delicious. They provide great recommendations on places to visit while there. The room was unique, towels were fluffy, and the bed comfortable. The grounds are impeccable, and the views incredible! If you want complete relaxation this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
503
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
413 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at VLB & just when I think it can't get any better, it does! VLB is also Curtis & Ashley's home and their attention to detail is impeccable. On our first 2 visits, I thought everything was perfect but over the last year Curtis has managed to make it even more so. He's added a waterfall to the pool area, new tile all around, a new heating system for the hot tub (it gets hot pronto now!!), a new bathroom for the bar patrons to use, and a new staircase to the Palapa suites. If there is anything you need while at VLB, Curtis & Ashley will bend over backwards to make it happen for you. They have a wonderful staff & offer great suggestions for experiencing Isla. Their location is one of the prettiest views on the island & it's convenient to get to from wherever you are.

Room Tip: We have previously stayed in Palapa 1 but got to stay in Palapa 2 on this trip. Now we're torn o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Clare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in Villa la Bella in November 2013 and were given an amazing welcome by the property owners. We immediately felt very welcome and they went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. The room was spacious and very pretty with a big comfortable bed, lovely soft towels and a great view. The breakfast was delicious but be warned, they are American-sized portions. For Europeans one portion to share between two is probably more than enough. Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Isla Mujeres.
There was only one thing that could have been improved. When we asked for our bar bill when we were checking out, we were handed a post-it with a figure written on it. We had absolutely no quibble with the amount on the bill, it was what we expected it to be, but an itemised bill, or even a total written on some headed paper would have been a lot more professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB_Co_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We just returned from a lovely stay at Villa la Bella! The hosts Curtis and Ashley are so gracious and kind, and even allowed us to renew our wedding vows on the cliff overlooking the beautiful Caribbean. We stayed in a poolside bungalow and the sunrise view from our bed was stunning! This is a perfect place for couples who just need to relax and reconnect amongst the peaceful surroundings. All that you hear while staying there are the crashing waves and fountain by the pool. The attention to detail here is amazing, and, oh the breakfasts....gourmet! we can't wait to go back!!!
My only complaint: we had to leave!! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinneapolisMarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for three days in Palapa 2 and wish we could have stayed longer!

What was great:
-Location is halfway down the island and convenient to all attractions.
-Wonderful employees that really made our vacation relaxing and enjoyable. We were able to have a golf cart delivered and picked up from the property, and we also had burrito delivery!
-Restaurant recommendations that were fabulous: Mango Cafe, and a small local seafood place near the water that was packed with locals with a live band!
-Beautiful vista, and a gorgeous property with a fabulous pool, swing bar, hammocks, and lounge chairs.
-Curtis and Ashley are friendly, welcoming hosts who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
-Palapa 1 was a fun, inviting room with a hammock and a conch shell shower head, and a bed that is suspended on the ceiling.

What could have been better:
-Hot tub wasn't hot (but you can have them turn it up)
-Lights out at 11pm in the common areas. We were traveling with friends and wanted to play cards at the tables, but couldn't. We ended up going back to our palapa room and playing on the floor. (We did mention this to Ashley, and she was great at taking feedback and said she would look into a solution)
-Palapa rooms are great unless there's no breeze. We had one great night with the tradewinds, and one awful night that was extremely hot due to lack of breeze. Palapa 2 has a fan near the bed, but Palapa 1 does not.

Word of warning: If you drink too much, you may feel that the bed in the Palapas is not that great of an idea as it encourages that "seasick" feeling. (Obviously this is not the fault of the property!)

This was an absolutely fabulous stop for us and we would return in a heartbeat! We can't say enough wonderful things about this property. If you are looking for a place to truly relax and unwind, Villa La Bella is the place!

Room Tip: Palapa rooms are fun and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeLiElHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

There aren't words adequate enough (in any language) to describe how perfect Villa La Bella is. The property is very welcoming and comfortable the minute you walk through the front gate. Curtis and Ashley are the perfect hosts! Both are so kind and have such easy going sweet spirits. Every minute of their day is making sure their guests have everything they need, without being an intrusion.
The rooms are very clean, the pool and fountain are beautiful, the rest of the facility is designed with their guests comfort in mind. There are only six rooms available so there's never a crowd. It's the ideal place to relax and quickly slip into Island Time. The staff is never more than 10 seconds away and are always smiling.
The complimentary breakfasts (except Monday) are delicious! You will have to taste the creations to appreciate how good they are.
Your afternoon drinks are served with a sparkling white, beautifully scented, cool, damp cloth to refresh you while soaking up the sun. What service!!!
I am already planning trip #2.
A huge thank you to Francisco, Ernesto, Luis and Esteban.
Curtis and Ashley....THANK YOU!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

When we arrived late after a terrible journey (delayed flight and missing luggage) we were greeted by Ashley and Curtis who immediately understood what we needed to relax and begin our holiday (cold beer, steak burrito and lasagna!). While we were waiting for our luggage (48h) Ashley went out of her way to find us some essential items and even lent me a bag of clothes.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was amazing. Huge room with 2 balconies, massive bed and stunning views of the Carribean sea. The whole place is beautifully decorated, looks spectacular during the day but even better at night with funky lighting around the bar and pool area.
The bar was great- cold beers, excellent pina coladas and mojitos and the staff were lovely. Location is really good- very quiet and relaxing but easy walk to two local restaurants- Mango Cafe and Monchis (best coconut shrimp ever). A taxi to Playa Norte is only 35 pesos and the bar staff are happy to arrange taxis or take-aways.
In summary we would not hesitate to stay here again. Everything was amazing and really made our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#1 of 40 in Isla Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing