We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise by the Sea”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wow. What a beautiful B&B! The property is absolutely stunning. So much charm to this little jem. You can tell that Ashley and Curtis have poured their hearts into it. We stayed in Palapa #2. What a room. This room has a couch that overlooks the Sea and the view is breathtaking. Curtis makes the best breakfast you will ever eat. There is no better way to start the day. The staff make the best drinks with the freshest ingredients. They are there for all of your needs. We will definitely be back in the future. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 713 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Villa la Bella is one of greatest little retreats I've been to!! Curtis and Ashley are terrific hosts, making your stay one to remember! They are able to accommodate almost any request from organizing an excursion for your party or suggesting a great place to eat. Their sign says "Beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt"...they aren't kidding!... and I'm pretty sure they make the best coffee on the island! :) Stop by and visit while you're on the island - you'll book next year's visit with them - GUARANTEED!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in November. We've stayed in many B&B's in the USA and Mexico and this was our best experience for what we were looking for. As many others have mentioned, this is an adult oriented getaway. We stayed in Palapa #1 which I highly recommend. Even during a big storm it was an experience, lol. The combination of Curtis' creativity both in the design of the property and his gourmet cooking along with Ashley's incredible attention to detail and delightful personality make for the perfect partnership to run a B&B. Curtis' layout and design of the nighttime lighting have to be seen to be believed. The pool and hot tub along with the Caribbean surf crashing nearby made for a wonderful ambiance. The bar service was very good and convenient with high quality spirits and beers available. Mango Cafe for breakfast on Mondays and lunch other times along with Monchis for dinner are conveniently within easy walking distance. Overall a very fine experience that we can't wait to repeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa la Bella for our honeymoon and loved it! We stayed in one of the Palapas which was great. The drinks at the bar are delicious. Try the piña colada!!! Ashley and Curtis, the proprietors of VLB, are super nice and accommodating. The delicious breakfast is served at 8:30AM which is prepared by Curtis. We have no complains and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paola h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

WARNING!!!! Be prepared for an awesome experience! Highly recommend the palapa#1 most likely the best room in Mexico! The view and breeze are to die for! Our host Ashley and Curtis, were amazing! From Ashley's wonderful smile in the morning with flowers for all to Curtis's gourmet breakfast!!! Bar service was impeccable, with extra emphases on the Piña Calodas (best I've ever had!) Highly recommend, can't wait to come back next year;) Mike& Cindy

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindyrae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife I stayed with Ashley and Curtis for the 1st week in November 2013 and is our second stay at Villa La Bella. This is a very clean and well run B&B. Quiet, nice breakfasts, Palapa Bar and plenty of private spaces to lounge and relax. The waves break constantly and there is always a breeze.

Part of the bar has swing seats and is open to the public. If you are a day visitor to the island and are tooling around in a golf cart than make a point to stop by and enjoy a cocktail or cold beer. Walk out to the edge of the cliffs and enjoy a perfect mid-island view of the Caribbean side of Isla Mujeres. However, do remember that this is a B&B and not "Girls Gone Wild"! There is a serenity and peacefulness about Villa La Bella that Curtis protects with a passion.

I'd recommend this B&B to anyone seeking refuge from the busy north end of the island. You can walk up the street to Monchi's for dinner and the Mango Cafe for breakfast or lunch. Curtis eagerly provides recommendations so always fell free to ask. On a lazy day ask to have an order of Mayan Chicken brought in for lunch. Easily feeds a party of two.

We feel like we've made friends and we will be back again for another stay.!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolarMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week to Island Mujeres, located 15 ferry minutes from Cancun. We were greeted by Curtis and Ashley. The proprietors of the Villa La Bella B & B, two of the friendliest, warmest people you will ever meet. Curtis prepares a breakfast that will knock your socks off. You haven't lived until you've visited Isla Mujeres, Mexico.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing