We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Pina Colada's”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #2 of 37 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yummy Pina Colada's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My BF and I pulled our golf cart over when we read the sign "beer so cold it will make your teeth hurt". Based on previous reviews that the Villa La Bella offered the best Pina Colada on the Island, the reviews were right, so refreshing. VLB is a perfect little eclectic piece of paradise. We hope to visit the Island again soon and make this our home base.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freckledcubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
498
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My partner, best friend and her partner stayed in the Palapa suites at Villa La Bella as a bit of a splurge (as we are backpackers). It's a great location (right in the middle of Isla Mujueres) great set up of the entire b&b and amazing rooms and nothing compares to the great service and generosity of Ashley and Curtis. Since the moment we arrived they made us feel extremely welcome and shared all the right info for us to get the most out of the island. Any activity that we were interested in they organized everything for us and seem to know everyone worth knowing. The bar staff were all also extremely friendly and accommodating.
On the day We were supposed to check out Ashley and Curtis offered us a HUGE discount to stay an extra night in our suites as we were having some trouble with our accom plans.
When we did leave it felt like we were waving goodbye to family!!!

We have travelled a lot and 3 of us work in hospitality... Never have any of us encountered such great hosts and won't forget it!!!

Thank you Ashley and Curtis we reccomend your b&b to people all the time!!!

Emma aaron Shannon and Bret

Room Tip: Palapa suite is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Isla Mujeres and staying at Villa La Bella. I can't say enough about the hospitality and beauty of this place. Ashley and Curtis are the best at making you feel welcome. The rooms are wonderful with a view of the Carribean - a silent retreat away from the crowds and Playa Norte downtown. Curtis' breakfast's are simply "the best". And did I mention the homemade sangrita, the pina coladas, the cold beer??? We retreated every afternoon back to our "sanctuary" to watch the sun set and enjoy the wonderful bar offerings before dinner. There is no better vista to be had than Villa La Bella. We are looking forward to our return to this wonderful place....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are looking for "Beer so cold it will make your teeth hurt", or the best pina coladas around, there is no better spot than Villa La Bella. Despite the bustle of the quickly developing Isla Mujueres, VLB offers a perfect sanctuary, whether as a one-time stop to visit the bar or those looking for a place to stay. Be prepared for wonderfully quirky and eclectic decor, featuring everything from Mayan deities, anchors, conch shower heads and even proprietor Curtis's hand-carved coconut creations (harvested on site). Co-proprietor Ashley is incredibly welcoming and will be sure to make you feel right at home! Amenities include a pool, hot tub and a beautiful ocean view. VLB is a true Mexican treasure and I look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbeaty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

After being home only a few days after our recent seven night stay at Villa La Bella we are ready to return. When we arrived, the first words from our mouths to Curtis and Ashley were, "We're Home!" This was our third stay at Villa La Bella and are reluctant to tell too many people about the clean rooms, the great drinks, the friendly and attentive staff, the beautiful well kept grounds, the delicious breakfasts and the most gracious hosts as we want to keep this as our secret destination. Shhhhh! - Jan P., Jenks, OK

Room Tip: Love bungalo one with large round window, giving a great view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteP51434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I took a belated honeymoon trip to Isla Mujeres and Villa La Bella seemed like the perfect thing for us. There are other hotels that will put you right on the sandy beaches, but Villa La Bella is perfect if you want to be able to retreat from the crowds at the end of the day or night, and just relax. The place is just beautiful to look at, and the view is incredible. Kids aren't allowed, last call is 9:30, and quiet time begins at 11pm, all of which was just perfect for us. Foodies will love the breakfasts. Everyone will love the margaritas and pina coladas. Ashley and Curtis are extremely friendly and helpful. Their personal touches really make you feel welcomed to the island. They have a small staff who also are really helpful and do a great job of keeping the place beautiful and comfortable. The logistics of staying there are pretty straightforward -- we walked, or took a cab into town or to the beach. One day we rented a buggy to explore the rest of the island, which was fun and worth it. Villa La Bella makes a great place to start your day and to end it. Thank you Ashley and Curtis!

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite -- spacious, great views from two different balcolnies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can't wait to get back!!! My husband and I stayed there on our 25th anniversary and fell in love with the place. When just 6 months later the chance to go again with my sister came up, I jumped on it. AS LONG AS WE STAYED AT VILLA LA BELLA!! Not only does every detail echo the uniqueness of Isla Mujeres, hosts Ashley and Curtis reflect the soul of the island - warm, caring and at ease. I have never been as relaxed as I am staying there. Curtis's craftmanship of the B&B and the beauty of every detail hits you like the waves crashing on the shore. And the breakfasts that Curtis makes are splendid and last you til dinner. Ashley's big heart shines through in every interaction from arranging a golf cart or booking a sunset cruise. They both put you at immediate ease which insures a perfect vacation. I can't wait to get back!!

Room Tip: I love palapas room 1! The most perfect of breezes comes through and caresses you til you relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank otterbhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing