We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best!”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hosts Ashley & Curtis take hospitality to its highest level. Their resort is beautiful, the setting wonderful, and the employees fantastic. In this cookie cutter hotel room day and age it is refreshing to find a small inn that has been shaped by the love of its owners. Special touches surround you at every turn. Ashley provides fresh cut flowers while Curtis prepares fantastic home made breakfast. Not a bad start to the day! A lovely pool/jetted tub await you with the bar and excellent home made Pina Coladas just steps away. Looking for something special in town? Curtis has you covered. You can keep your five star corporate lodging. Villa La Bella is a real treat, one not frequently encountered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williewould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 713 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I came for a long weekend to celebrate our first anniversary. The rooms and the views are stunning. Not all the rooms are air conditioned, but before you freak out, it actually isn't necessary. The ocean breeze and the bug-free settings make sleeping with the windows a bit open ideal. Those rooms have suspended beds and make for an unforgettable stay. We also tried out the honeymoon suite, which does have air and is only a fraction more. However, I think I enjoyed the other rooms with open air even more. In addition, the breakfasts are delicious and the service very friendly and eager to help. This B&B is located right on the water, but does not have beach access. Even so, I would would definitely stay here again because it is only a minute and 30 pesos to the main beaches without all the headache (drunk, bachelorette parties, etc...) that you get right on Playa Norte. Also, great pool and overall, just a beautiful hotel. Thanks, Curtis and Ashley, for a memorable anniversary stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean side palapa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineinNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked here at very short notice after our previous hotel cancelled on us. Curtis and Ashley made the whole experience one we'll never forget. On our first night there we were the only guests and were able to wind down very quickly from the stressful lives we normally lead. Another couple arrived on the second day, and as luck would have it we got along very well and ended up going out together for dinner etc.
The room (Honeymoon Suite) was everything we wanted, the views were stunning, our hosts were most attentive, as were their staff, and in all it lead to a wonderful, relaxing short break. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My trip to Isla started with my hotel search. After endless emails back and forth with Ashley, I am so thankful that I chose Villa La Bella. For fear of getting the word out about this place, I could not have asked for a better exerience. I'm still here and will be here til the end of the week, but I felt compelled to tell everyone. I have wanted for nothing...well maybe some more time down here...and I've been greeted by Ashley's beautiful smile, a fantastic breakfast by Curtis, and a fresh hibiscus bloom every morning. Lest not I forget the exceptional staff...courteous, friendly, and very efficient. Definitely the one and only place for absolute rest and relaxation. Mucho gracias Villa La Bella!

Room Tip: Pala!a #1...just not when I'm coming down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrKen1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Villa La Bella is absolutely amazing! I went with 2 of my girlfriends and this was the perfect place for us. Curtis and Ashley are the best host and gave great recommendations for what we should do around the island and most importantly where to eat! We had 2 of the poolside bungalows which were perfect for us. We appreciated the AC in August! Be sure to read the information book they have for in your room. It has a ton of information about getting around Isla. They have 2 beach towels in each room and fresh water. Breakfast is a must! Curtis makes the best 3 course breakfast in the morning and the coffee is the best I have ever had. We ate breakfast every morning and lounged around the pool for a few hours before making our way around the island. The staff at VLB is top notch and was always there to bring us a fresh pina colada or margarita. Ashley has her recipes just right! We could have spent all of our time at VLB and never ventured out of the gate. They have places that will deliver food and we enjoyed everything. Special thanks to Luis, Francisco, Ernesto and Vicente for taking great care of us and keeping us well hydrated!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Villa La Bella was simply amazing - I can't remember ever liking a place I've stayed at as much as I loved it here. Ashley and Curtis have really made something special. Every recommendation they had was spot on and they were so friendly and informative. The property is beautiful, the colors are vibrant and the place is super comfortable. Every second there was relaxing between the stellar ocean view, refreshing pool, hammocks and nummy nummy margaritas. The staff was excellent and very friendly and Curtis made a killer breakfast every morning. I can't recommend this place enough. It was a truly magical spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lfragile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We found the place like many visitors, just cruising along the eastern road on Isla Mujeres and looking for a beer that would make my teeth hurt. I took some pics and said to my gf "if we come back here, I know where we're staying." Well, a year later, we made good on that.

Ashley & Curtis are just about the best hosts you could hope for. They checked in with us in passing and tipped us off on EVERYTHING that would make our trip to Isla unique and wonderful, which it was. Curtis' eggs are phenomenal, the staff are spot on, and the honeymoon suite provides an excellent view of the shoreline. Next time we'll bring a 200-lb. dog and three kids just to see how that goes (jk, seriously don't do that folks!!) If you want to feel like an honored guest in someone's home rather than a resort participant, you could hardly do better than Villa la Bella.

Room Tip: The quiet hours are from 11:30p-8a. In the palapas and bungalows this probably wouldn't work bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing