We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return in a heartbeat”
Review of Villa La Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Bella
Ranked #1 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would return in a heartbeat”
Reviewed January 28, 2008

An incredibly relaxing beachside B&B! Great breakfast, good conversation, wonderful hospitality, and amazing views.

And no kids!

We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
513
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

VLB was absolutely amazing! From the hammocks to the swinging bed under the palapa, this place is a must stay. Curtis and Ashley are very accomodating and helpful with things to do around the island. The place is centrally located to both sides of the island. Curtis' breakfasts are wonderful and they have the best pina coladas i have ever had! The views are second to none. Overall A+++++++++


Brooks and Maria

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank austinislaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

Wow! Where to start...
From the moment we entered the front gate we knew we found a little piece of Heaven on earth. They call it a bed & breakfast - well because that is what it is... I have been to B&B's in the States before and would not really compare it to be anywhere near the same experience. You will feel as if you are staying at a private little resort. The sounds you will experience when you lay your head on the pillow at night will lul you to sleep. The stars are too numerous to even begin to count. The all night breezes allow you to have every window and door open all night long - no bugs. Never needed the ac - don't find that too often in Mexico . It is absolutely amazing!! Breakfast... the only word that comes to mind is scrumptous! Kudos - Curtis!! Corona and Pina's were awesome! Can you say brainfreeze...The views - at any time of day or night are absolutely breathtaking! Photos do not even come close to justifying their reality. The pool and hot tub are very nice to relax in and were always spotless. The grounds were very well kept and nicely decorated with little surprises peeking out all around. The beach is a great place to go shell hunting - make sure you bring some water shoes that stay on your feet - no flip flops ladies. While we were there the water was rough so no swimming/snorkeling from here - but we didn't care / we were mesmerized by the waves. All of the rooms are very nice with all of the ammenities of home and then some. We rented a golf cart for a day and had so much fun just driving around exploring the Island. Curtis & Ashley gave great recommendations for shopping, lunch and dinner - all of our meals the entire stay were fabulous. Shopping downtown was very nice with very little pressure - unlike the Playa Del Carmen experience we are so used to. I left my Oakley's in a little swimsuit shop (best suits-best prices) and found that when we returned from dinner they had brought them back to VLB. Tell Vicki Thanks! Ashley. You won't find that service very often. :-) Isla Mujeres is one of the most beautiful places to visit. We have been to Mexico six times and love to see different places, but will definitely be finding ourselves returning to this little piece of Heaven on earth!! Words cannot express how grateful we are to Curtis & Ashley for opening up their home to us and making us feel like family. Muchas Gracias! Hasta pronto...

  • Liked — Everything...
  • Disliked — Leaving...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wannabeinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Just got back from Villa La Bella for a Thanksgiving getaway for 3 nights. I had seen a article in a magazine about a year ago about Isla Mujures, and the article recommended this little gem to stay. I have to agree with other reviews the place was spotless and cute with alot of personal touches. We stayed in a upstairs palapa suite, which had a cathedral grass roof and cool wood shutters and a hanging king size bed. The room , the palapa suite, had no a/c which I thought would be perfect for me but was alittle concerned for my hot blooded boyfriend, but once we arrived we saw that the villa is located on the windy side of the island and the cool breeze coming in through the windows and blowing the open air grass roof was nothing less than heaven. The other 4 rooms do have a/c. If I were to go back I would pick the ocean front palapa suite, it had solid windows with nothing but ocean to look at. My boyfriend was mesmerized by the hanging bed, and devised for many hours how he could duplicate it when we got home. The rooms have no tv's or phones so this is a place for serious R & R . I have been to many caribbean hotels that were beachside and the water calm, this was my first time staying somewhere where there was no beach but perched on a bluff with waves crashing in, The view from the rooms and the noise of the ocean and the breeze were unbeatable!! Bring some decent shoes and you can hike down the bluff explore a tunnel, and find tons of big shells and coral. There is a book in the room that lists everything you need to know about Villa La Bella and Isla Mujeres and their personal recommendations for food , fun , transportation, etc. The property had awesome sun beds with pillows to lay around, read, or lounge on . The bar was cute with one side of it having swings for seats and yes the pina coladas were stellar with little shaved coconut on top ! The taxi's were cheap to any other side of the island, but we got a golf cart which let us explore everything on our own which we preferred. Curtis and Ashley were fabulous hosts , they aim to please , and Curtis does have quite a talent in the kitchen, his breakfast was creative and tasty . All and all this place is ideal for a laid back romantic vacation where you have instant american friends , thanks to Curtis and Ashley, to guide you to all the hot spots. If you are looking for a young party crowd this would disappoint you. If you want to stay beachfront you should consider the other side of the island, where its sandy beaches and less breeze. Casa O's had great views for dinner and sunset . Villa Rolandi was the best food we ate which was also waterfront but more upscale. Baseball Taco's were really good too as a local eaterie, and they were only $1 a taco, located about 2 blocks from Villa La Bella. The locals on the island were very friendly .

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank planetkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Returned a few weeks ago from a terrific six-night stay at Villa la Bella. When we arrived, we were thrilled to find that the place looks even better in person than it does on the website—loads of little touches and attention to detail throughout the grounds and in the rooms.

We logged a few hours reading in the hammocks, more in the pool and even more at the outdoor bar. For such a compact property, we certainly found plenty to keep us occupied and if I have a complaint, it's that we felt so at home that we were almost reluctant to venture off-site. When we did, owners Curtis and Ashley (and new bartender Carlos) were full of good suggestions. Upon check-in we received a helpful binder that included information on several of the owners' favorite spots on the island. When we wanted to go out someplace special for my birthday dinner, Ashley made the reservations at Casa O's and even double-checked to make sure that we'd get a great table in time for sunset.

VLB is a five-minute walk from the island’s renowned “baseball tacos”—after several nights’ experimentation, our favorites were the pollo and the chorizo (yum!). The shore below the b&b, while unsuitable for sunbathing, is perfect for beachcombing and shell-gathering. If you're looking for long stretches of white-sand beach or raging nightlife, look elsewhere. But if you want to relax in a welcoming, lovingly cared-for home, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Just a quick note. Although we never stayed at the VLB we did happen upon it on one of the hottest days as we toured the beautiful island in a golf cart. On the last leg of your tour there appeared a sign saying " Beer So Cold It Will Make Your Teeth Hurt". Low and behold just what we needed... Curtis met us with great enthusiasim and generosity it was unreal. We were a group of 6 and he made sure that we were given the best treatment even though we were just passing through.
He let us tour his beautiful home and B&B.. I wanted at that moment to cancel our all inclusive in Cancun and stay there. What a fabulous place and I can't wait to go back and smell the fragrance of the cool towels that were offered to us as we enjoyed the coldest beer. Thanks Curtis and Ashley you can expect us next year..

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Majestic_4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

This property was full of care and perfect touches. My favorite thing to do was to float around the pure water pool drinking the perfect Pina Colada and look at all of the accents from color to precise placement of art. Art could be in the form of a carved mask, handmade tables with sliced conch shells from the beach(by Ashley and Curtis's own hands) below or the colorful hammocks strewn about creating an atmosphere I have only experienced in hideaway places in Thailand.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite and, all though only there a couple days, still slid out of bed with the margs still rolling around in the head to observe a perfect pre-morning sky from our balcony. Our room was expansive with front views of the water from the front balcony and a back balcony to overlook the island in its true form of villages and vegetation.
We appreciated truly, that we were always greeted by the amazing older gentleman when we came home to offer us a drink. The bar is open untill 10 and while most would close down to lack of business we felt it respectful that they stayed open for our night cap-And we would truly race back in our golf cart to get back before closing hoping they would do just that. This type of respect for the guest, and we were the only two, is almost unheard of.
Ashley made sure we without want, almost to a fault. We almost in our eagerness to get to the beach did not have one of the signature breakfasts. Ashley gave us sweet breads and sent us on our way, we returned at 10:00am to have the most luscious breakfast ever-I am still trying to copy it and have told the executive chef at the resort I help manage to find the recipe....
No complaints but would recommend coffee be made available earlier as people are on different wake schedules.
In all, this is a property molded into what most of us would dream to have. Amazing.
Ashley, thank you...

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank KimberKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
2.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Bella

Property: Villa La Bella
Address: Carretera Perimetral Al Garrafon | Smz. 004, Mza. 091, L. 003, SL. 2, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly "Villa Las Brisas")
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront bed and breakfast with only 6 guest rooms for single or double adult occupancy in a peaceful environment overlooking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy relaxing in the outdoor fresh-water pool or in the circular lounging pool, read a book or take a siesta in a hammock, fall asleep on one of the pool side beds or cushioned lounge chairs. Enjoy made-from-scratch drinks or "beer so cold it'll make your teeth hurt" at the swing bar open daily until "last call" at 9:30 PM. Free wifi in our unique open-air living room and a library with a great selection of books, games, cards and DVDs. Ocean and pool views from every room. A king sized bed with quality linens ensure a relaxing night's sleep and a private bathroom in each room with real conch shell shower head provides an amazing tropical feel. For comfort and convenience, each room has a ceiling fan, mini fridge, personal safe and daily housekeeping. Bungalows and Honeymoon Suite have AC. Each of the 2 second floor palapa suites have a hanging bed and are cooled naturally by the Caribbean breeze. Delicious complimentary breakfast served oceanside daily from 8:30- 10 AM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa La Bella Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing