We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”

Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Columbus Lobster Dinner Cruise in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins, manatees and sea lions in paradise! Located just a short ferry trip from Cancun, Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres brings you the chance to interact with our family of marine mammals in a natural ocean environment. We have programs for all ages, family-friendly experiences that you will never forget!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The Dolphin Discovery is awesome, we have traveled all over the Caribbean and have done many Dolphin encounters, but never anything like this. We paid for the Royal Swim with Dolphins, and let me tell you it was Great. The best, by far, experience with dolphins we have ever had. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KENEDIEGEORGIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    466
    181
    100
    92
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A experience of a life time...”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you are looking for a place to swim with dolphins this facility in Isla Mujeres is a great place, I recommend you to opt for the Royal swim that allows you the most interaction, and take the snorkeling trip for and extra 30 USD this will give you access to their VIP area where the food and the drinks are nicer. Save money to buy your photos, the photographers do a great job and you want to have proof for bragging rights don't you?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wordsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing experience and overall money well paid day :)”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked this trip through our rep Thomson, it was a full day trip. We caught the boat over to Isla mujeres and arrived at dolphin discovery first. Well organised, was led off straight to lockers and given life jackets. We then got split into groups. In ours there were 4 couples and we spent 1 hour in water with the 2 dolphins for us. 1 was called Sabrina :). We did kiss on lips, kiss on cheek, foot push ect.... We then went and saw our pictures, they are expensive but it's not something you'll do every day. We had just the disk with both out pictures on for around 900 pecos. We then went up to VIP area, (if you book with Thomson VIP is included), this meant drink was unlimited and we got a meal included too. Food was beautiful, freshly cooked, the nicest food I'd had all holiday! We then went further round the island to do snorkelling and zip wire.

Overall, this was an experience of a lifetime. Both me and my partner had a lovely day. Very well organised and the dolphins were lovely :)

Well worth the money, thankyou

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesshill91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Day - Food Disgusting!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We travelled from playa touruga on the catamaran (recommended) as we saw a giant green turtel and was so relaxing. We had a royal swin with 2 dolphins this was amazing - i recommed buying the book and the disk (2 disk for the same price) as we keep looking through ours and it is laid out beautifully! The food here was not good at all i recommend buying some snacks to take with you and just indulge in the fruit and free drinks!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Photo scam ruins the day!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The dolphin swim is really amazing. We did the Royal Swim and had a great time. We brought our own underwater camera that they let you bring all the way until you go to walk into the water and then they force you to leave it on the dock for anyone to grab. They then take photos of you posing with the dolphins. Not one photo of our group, but all individual shots. At this point, you can feel the photo fleece coming. $50 per person for a disk. So a family of 4 needs $200 for photos and none are of the group!!! I am trying very hard to remember the pleasure of the dolphin experience and not the madness that was the photo experience. They aren't even nice about it and it is the last thing you do before you leave. Great last memory. My suggestion is go, but don't even look at the photos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Evets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing