We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres

Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Columbus Lobster Dinner Cruise in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins, manatees and sea lions in paradise! Located just a short ferry trip from Cancun, Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres brings you the chance to interact with our family of marine mammals in a natural ocean environment. We have programs for all ages, family-friendly experiences that you will never forget!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nice place, dolphin experience was truly amazing, once in a lifetime experience. Only let down was buying the photos at the end, think its a major rip of for us English! For one they don't even do print outs you pay for a disk of photos yet you have to pay to pay extra to get them printed out yourself. and two prices so high, there was 4 of us buying photos we all wanted one each which was $25 for one pic and $ 50 dollars for all, managed to get a deal in the end, paying $30 each for all the photos that were taken off everyone , yet was told we would get a disk each and only got one disk for $120 we payed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,097
    449
    178
    97
    91
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place but Discovery cove is better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Make sure to get there when it opens and stay until it closes- great place but you feel very rushed - esp if you come a distance on the shuttle

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank heathery1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Swimming with dolphins is a great experience!
The tour takes a couple of hours - ferry leaves at 9 or 11am and it takes 30min to get to Isla Mujeres. Depending on how many people are for the dolphin activity they give you a certain time for your group. Meanwhile, you can sit by the pool on the island, drink at the bar or have lunch. We had all included in the ticket so it was nice to chill before the dolphin session we had around 1pm.
The experience is really neat - the dolphins are adorable!! I felt bad for them though as they perform tricks all day long for a LOT of people! You can kiss, hug, dance with them, do a belly ride or a boogie push and much more!
We paid around $100 per person for the entire tour including the swim, the boat ride, drinks, lunch, locker etc. You can come back at 3 or 5pm.
TIP - they take photos of you while swimming with the dolphins! 1 photo is $25!! crazy!! you can get all the photos for 1 person for $50 on a cd. If you are 2 people - $100 for the cd. You can definitely negotiate with them!! We were 3 people and DID NOT PAY 150$ - that's just crazy!! So please negotiate!! Pictures are really nice - that's true - and worth having!
It's a unique experience - try it!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing creatures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was the first time my husband or I have done a dolphin interaction. There are several packages to choose from. It was a wonderful surprise to know our food and drinks for the day were included in the price.
We chose the middle package where we were able to interact and swim with the dolphins. There are several groups in the water at the same time and each interaction is in a group of 10. We were the only English speaking couple in our group. Too often, the trainer forgot to translate his directions into English. He seemed annoyed when we didn't get the hand signal right or asked to have him translate. We felt left out of the group.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is perfect!!! We had an unforgettable day there. First we had our session with the sea lion! It´s so smart! The second part was with the manatees! We could feed them, take cute pictures, kissing them and being kissed, holding them.... and finally we had the session with the dolphins! They are amazingly smart and cute! I had played with dolphins before in Tahiti, but this time was incredibly better!!! In this session, we can literally swim with the dolphins! The foot push and the dorsal tow are the best part!! I can´t describe how cool this program is!
We had plenty of individual time with all the animals even though we were in a group of 9. Just loved it!
The only bad thing..... photos prices!! The photos are very, very expensive! I paid $175 for a CD with all photos and a cute album with 24 photos. Vey expensive, but I couldn´t leave without them!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria Fernanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing