We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, good food.”
Review of Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar - CLOSED

Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stopped into Bahia after seeing all the positive reviews. I have to say, We were not blown away by the menu. It is very American (gringo) styled but does offer some local flavors as well. I suppose people love the fact that it has familiar dishes to them from the States but when I travel out of the country I want to experience local cuisines and flavors.
The location is very nice with a great Palapa Bar and water view. Service was very good.
We decided on the fried Grouper basket and two very tasty and limey margaritas.
We left satisfied and happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OBX_Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed our fresh grouper. We hand pick our fish at the local fishing cooperatives several times a week and our chef fillets them on-sight. Maybe consider trying our authentic Mexican chicken tacos or enchiladas with verde sauce on a future visit.

We hope to see you again at Bahia Tortuga. Thanks again.

Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 260 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Ambiance is spectacular. Drinks are incredible. Food is delicious. Thanks for closing the bar with us on Sunday!

Thank Issacsbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you very much for spending your Sunday with us at Bahia Tortuga! We hope you'll be back to Isla soon. Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Its hard to go wrong with waterfront dining with dollar tacos, friendly staff. I would go back again for sure!

Thank humboldt-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We happy you like our margaritas and activities. Hope to see you at the TEXAS HOLD'EM table again soon. Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

JJ the bar tender was awesome!!! Fresh margaritas with fresh lime juice. They have have Texas hold 'em and Monday night football for us...I will be back tomorrow. Tiki bar and and tables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swensonryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We're happy you like the BT margaritas. Fresh lime juice can't be beat. We hope you'll be back for more TEXAS HOLD'EM and Monday night football.

Thanks for sharing your comments. We so appreciate it.

Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have had the pleasure of visiting Isla Mujeres a couple of times recently. And, both times we frequented the Bahia Tortuga. The drinks are fabulous, and the food is great!! Don't miss out on having their Philly cheese steak. Yummm!!! The bartenders JJ and Emilio are awesome, and make sure you have a great time. We enjoyed the live music tremendously. They have great music playing all the time, and the live music is an added treat. The owners Danny & Rhonda made us feel like we had just returned home with their warm welcome as always. This place is a must visit if you are visiting Isla Mujeres! You are guaranteed to have a great time, and meet some of the greatest people. Thank you guys for everything. We will be back soon. Maybe next time we will stay in your wonderful rooms you have to offer.
Best Regards,

Michelle Butler & Rob Herrin

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michelle19714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Michelle & Rob, thanks so much for your flattering review, and sharing your pictures! We're happy you like our Philly and live music. We hope you're planning a return trip to Isla soon! And we would really enjoy having you stay with us at the hotel.

Thanks again. See you again soon hopefully. Happy New Year!

Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing