We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for ex-pats and tourists alike”

Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar
Ranked #59 of 218 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Bahia Tortuga is a very friendly place to eat, drink, socialize and enjoy the sweet life on Isla Mujeres. The bartenders and cook are locals who really know how to quench your thirst and satisfy your hunger. Danny, the proprietor is a very friendly fellow who has a wealth of information on how to live the good life on Isla Mujeres. The food they serve is delicious and fresh. We haven’t been disappointed yet. The grouper is fresh, simple, and delicious. If you are an American craving a taste of home they serve a fantastic Philly Cheese Steak. It was so relaxing to have a drink, a bite to eat, and watch the iguanas sunning themselves on the seawall. They also have live music some nights which is a welcome alternative to schlepping into the center of town and fighting the crowds on Hidalgo. So be sure to make a trip to Bahia Tortuga and say hello to Emilio, JJ, and Danny

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mongrelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your flattering review and recommendation to other travelers. We're happy you found Bahia Tortuga friendly and relaxing, and our food and drink satisfying to your taste buds. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 306 of 359 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

I truly enjoy my frequent visits to Bahia Tortuga, whether I am relaxing under the cool shade of the palapa (even on HOT days) and admiring the view, dipping in the pool, watching a football game on their TVs or enjoying the bands when they play - especially Sundays! The food is excellent and large portions. I cannot choose a favorite because I have tried and liked everything on the menu. The bartenders, JJ and Emelio, are both wonderful and the ambiance from the music during the day is casual and relaxing. Although I am a typically a beer drinker, I have enjoyed their specialty habanero drinks: martinis, mojitos, and margaritas - all nice and strong! What a great idea to add a bit of spice to those drinks! They also have a few nice rooms to rent at affordable prices! I highly recommend stopping by for a visit to Bahia Tortuga.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dianne_DeLaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent Serendipitous Location for a Gringo and European random walk-in. Great food (Fajitas mmmmm! yum! delicious and generous), Conch Fritters were great. Chicken Tacos delish! Even the side servings of Sour cream, Guacamole and Salsa (sans and con Mango) both types - fresh, flavorful, cold and good portions. Emilio made drinks that had good top-shelf liquor and good quench-your-thirst volume (more so than I have had, having had being here for over a month now visiting family). Danny took the time to chat with us, invited us to look around and stop in for a swim at another time. We asked to take a look at the guest rooms which we found spacious, well equipped and quite inviting. (Good info for friends who might want to a too prolonged "crash on our couch" while we are in Isla. The prices were also extremely reasonable given the amenities of pool and ocean are but a stones throw away from your room. Watched a large yacht comfortably dock at the restaurant and join the group at the bar for refreshments. We definitely lucked-out and even chatted with Jorge who runs the fishing and whale shark tours. We caught him on the last-run plan for whale shark viewing and he chatted with us about plans for the morning boat-trip. We were double booked for AM plans, but based on what he had to offer on his trips, we sure hope we can swing this! Happy to say, Bahia Tortuga is definitely a hidden-jewel on Isla Mujeres. Given our find, we will likely be frequenting our "new find" whenever we can. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MoJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Wow - we are flattered by your review! We're happy you liked the Conch Fritters, one of the newest additions to our menu. I'll let Emilio know that you really like how he mixes drinks. I hope Danny didn't talk your ear off. He does really enjoy talking. I hope you had the opportunity to go swimming with the Whale Sharks with Jorge. If not this year, then next. It is a trip of a lifetime! Thank you for classifying us as a hidden-jewel on Isla. We look forward to your return! Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

One word...well, ok..one drink....Spicy Mango Margarita! Get One! Loved this bar... A cold cocktail and watching the sun go down. Doesn't get more relaxing than that..... Staff is very freindly, service is terrific. Also, I highly reccommend the Grouper sandwich... Wish I was there now! Thanks for a great time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RodMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for the nice review. We're happy you liked the Spicy Mango Margarita and Grouper Sandwich! I'll pass your compliments to the staff. We wish you were back here also. We really enjoyed your company. We're so glad you found our place relaxing... the main reason to come to Isla we believe. Thank you again! Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We found the Bahia Tortuga on our most recent trip to Isla Mujeres. Besides it's convenient location, we found the food to be delicious and the staff to be friendly and attentive to it's patrons. JJ and Emilio make certain that you feel welcome as soon as you enter the bar and restaurant. The beer is always ice cold and the food hot and delicious. On one visit, we had been longing for those good nachos that we can find in the states, and were extremely pleased with the quality and quantity that we got with our oder. And believe me, it's almost impossible to get good nachos in Mexico. On subsequent visits, we always got excellent service and delicious food. Suffice it to say, we have never been disappointed! We are axiously looking forward to our next visit in October 2012.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cottongirlboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Yeah - you're coming back soon! Thanks for the feedback and review. We're really happy you like our nachos. Chips here can be a challenge. We start with thinner fresh corn tortillas so that our chips are more like the ones in the States. And we use cheddar cheese which some of us are accustomed to. Next time you order, if you like spicy, take the plunge and request sliced raw jalapenos instead of the pickled. Yummmm. Looking forward to seeing you next month! Thanks again. Danny & Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing