We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Isleno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Isleno
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great quiet clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Found this hotel by chance. It was a great spot to stay, easy stroll to restaurants and bars but lovely and quiet away from the bustle. Come out of the hotel and turn either left or right and you are at the sea in 100m. The hotel was spotless. We booked for one night and ended up staying seven - I guess that says it all!!

Room Tip: Room 101 was spacious and had a small balcony. Two double beds and a lovely large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaM116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
60
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We originally booked this hotel, for one night, but after seeing how clean and it's great location we extended our stay to 10 nights. Each of the bedrooms has two double beds so if you are travelling with mates, then the rooms are suitable for couples and mates on travels. There is a communal relaxing area with reclining comfortable chairs and wi fi. The rooms are very well cleaned and tidy. Air con and tv plenty of store age space. The best rooms are the end rooms as they are slightly bigger and have a larger bathroom. Also ask for a room with a bathroom. They don't seem to accept any pre booked prices as prices are set at 700 plus 120 tax per room per night. Very close to restaurants both sides of the island are only minutes walk away. Ferry terminal nearby, Main Street with loads of bars and restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel, can't agree with the negative comments. The manager is two people and they are identical twins, one wears shorts and the other trousers. Friendly staff who speak limited English.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12801
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is fairly new, quiet, good location, clean,very helpful staff, overall good value, very limited cable televison, good internet service. block away from main street of town. easy access to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hendrix9422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAXAHAChie, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The size of the rooms are nothing to write home about but location is everything. Hotel Isleno is centrally located to the main retail row and minutes from the ferry port. We showed up to the island with no reservations and just started walking. Hotel Isleno was happy to provide a tour of their quaint hotel and were very helpful with suggesting interesting things to do on the island. English is not the language of this island and it is advised that if you stay with Hotel Isleno you have someone with you that is fluent in Spanish. The hotel itself is very clean, appears to be knew and offers few amenities. Standard room comes with free Wi-Fi, fridge, and a rigid mattress. Over all I was impressed with the service and proximity to activities.

Room Tip: Always ask for the best. Never fear the chance of being told no!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRANDON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This small new (1 yr old) hotel is located a block from the Cathedral and about two blocks from the main thoroughfare along the water (on C. Guerrero at corner of Francisco Madero. The rooms are very clean (no elevator), and reasonably spacious (although the ones at the end of the corridors are larger than the ones in the middle. Rooms have high ceilings, fans and A/C, which we did not need at night if we used the fan.
Easy walk from the ferry. Beds are comfortable. Room is bright and well lit with reading lights. Restaurants are two-three block walk away. Hotel is quiet at night - far enough away from the bar scene not to affect you. There is a tv but only about 6 stations, all in Spanish.However, there is a DVD player. There are DVDS to borrow for free at the desk and also you can rent DVDS at a DVD store a block away.
We stayed in February 2013 and paid 700 MP per day for a double. Hotel personnel are very nice but speak very little English, if that is important to you. Beach towels are available for rent by the day. It is about a 5 block walk to the beach where you can rent chairs and umbrella for the day.
Bathrooms are very stylish with glass sink bowl, marble walls and floor. Free book exchange. Free instant coffee for about 2 hrs in the morning in lobby but no milk. If you want milk for it, buy milk at the small supermarket 1 block away and store it in the refrigerator in the room.
Three laundries which will wash and dry for you in one day within 1 block in each direction from the hotel. Wonderful Italian bakery around corner on Madero.
Strongly recommend and would stay here again. Very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms are end of hall are slightly larger than rooms in middle of hall. There are one or two rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is very New and had beautifull rooms for The price that you Pay! Nice beds and big shower, also very close to The main street, like 300 meters. We spend here 2 nights for 700 pesos a night. If we ever come back we definitly come back to this place :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anoes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

After staying 3 weeks next to the beach in a good hotel, this nice boutique hotel was a little disappointing, but really ok for what we paid for. It is new, clean, well-kept, and in the centre. Although walking for 15 minutes to the beach we enjoyed our last week on the island.
Before we booked I had a discussion about the price of the room. I wanted to make a reservation on the 14th, but I needed to pay directly. Didn't had any cash on me, so I asked if I could return the next morning to pay. No problem. If I came on the 15th I had to pay 600 pesos a night, but if I came on the 16th to pay, I had to pay 700 pesos a night. I told the guy I would return the next day so I would pay 600 pesos. Coming back the next day, the price was already 700 pesos.
The only explanation I could get was that the boss had called to raise the price directly... Whatever...
It's not really a family hotel, not with small children that is.
Nice beds, refrigerator, and good working airco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MP641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isleno

Property: Hotel Isleno
Address: Madero 8, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Isleno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Isleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing