We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"'Great for Family vocation and romantic stop'"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"'Great for Family vocation and romantic stop'"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Mia Reef , I was worried because I had read many bad comments about the rooms in the tower (where we stayed). My first impression was good, the rooms were clean and an unbelievable view from the window , the air conditioning made ​​the room nice and cooler . Yes , as I read in other comments there is constructions going on, but nothing that hinders your day on the paradise beach where the hotel is located, right beside the north beach . If you have children this is the right place to stay , it has an natural pool where you can swim with the fishes , unbelievable magical experience . The beach is really calm and the water is so clear. If you go to Isla Mujeres don't forget to rent a golf cart ( 650 pesos or 55 dollars per day and you pay at the hotel ) where you cross the entire island. The staff at the hotel were friendly , some of them wasn't , but also the guy who does the entertainment ( Armando ) was a nice guy too. The hotel need to provide more ladies working at the restaurant area. The all inclusive was a delight and good choices on the menu. I would stay at this hotel again, but if you like partying and busier place don't stay there. But as I enjoy quiet places Mia Reef was perfect, next time I would stay at the village, it looks better . For the price you pay, I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments. WE hope you can make us your choice on your next visit to Isla Mujeres. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    583
    301
    183
    188
See reviews for
386
759
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've been going to Mia Reef for many years from the time it was known as Avalon Reef Resort. Isla Mujeres has been one of our favorite places for many years. The Reef Resort was never the ideal place for someone who wants all of the five-star features. However, if you wanted great location with the sound of the waves breaking on the reef outside of your window, great staff who really seemed to care about you and your needs, and were reasonable with your requests and were interested in mingling with the locals, this was a great place. In recent years, it has shown the lack of care and was beginning to look a little down.

Having heard that the ownership had changed, we were a bit uncertain of what to expect on our return this year. WOW. The new owner(s) are working to make this a top notch resort. Though there was construction going on while we were there, we were really impressed to see all of the current improvements and speculating on what the new additions were going to look like when finished.

One of the most common complaints on this page has been the hard mattresses. At least the ones in the villas have been changed. These are great.

Room Tip: Reef side in the villas give you the waves as your sleep aide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T0m_J49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest, we thank you so much for your comments. This is all to make it a better place for you to stay. We thank you for taking the time to write your experiences. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vero beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

ok have come here since 2002. Part of the beauty of this place is that everything is just a little "off" wine is served in a champagne glass. Water in the rooms is luke warm at best but we are not in the US. Mia is making some great strides forward, if you want a great all inclusive.... stay in Cancun. If you are part of the vacation member group I think you will be excited with the progress made.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keylime3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Vacation Club owner,
this place will look just the way you deserve! Thank you again for your patience and kind words. We are working to make it perfect for your next vacation. REgards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple shade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mia reef from May 31,2014- June 7th 2014 and we loved it. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Yes there is construction going on but it does not affect you at all, it's not loud nor is it in the way. There weren't very many people staying there which was really nice! We traveled around the island, we went to the local grocery store and purchased snorkeling gear for $7.99 each and we snorkeled in kings bath everyday and it was all ours everyday! The resort and the island is so beautiful that I was crying the day we had to leave. My only complaint is the weather but that is out of my control. Don't listen to all these horrible reviews... I read them before I left for my trip and they had me so worried and literally sick to my stomach that the place would be a nightmare but when we got there I was in love. Oh and another complaint is that they messed up the name on my confirmation but whatever. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ditaliano16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
you are beyond kind to us and we thank you for your kind words. We can't wait to have it all complete and show it to you. Please let us know when you come back it will be our joy to have you back (with the right name of course!). thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We traded our time share for a unit at the Mia Reef Resort. We were so excited we had been on the island for the day several years ago and had hoped to stay there sometime. The pictures on the internet were beautiful. I counted the days. When we arrived the hotel/condo's were dilapidated run down and nothing like the pictures. The room was ran down, stained tile floors, cracked and decaying walls. We thought we would make the most of it, after all the property was amazing and beautiful. We went to the restaurant and had a couple of beer's and nachos. The nacho's were canned cheese, meet like Taco Bell and jalapeno's. Not very good. We were glad we choose not to do all inclusive. We also noticed that the entire hotel portion was being torn apart with a jack hammer and many hammer and chisels, the deck was also being restored with a chainsaw, planer, table saw,hammer and nails. The pool had plywood around it, but was useable. Lots of construction, we had been told the construction was complete. In the morning we noticed many ants in the room and a couple of cockroaches. we also noticed there was NO HOT WATER. I called the office and was told we are working on it, they could not give me a time it would be fixed. I called interval who had traded through and was told they could move us but there was only an all inclusive and it would be 1400.00 more. Not wanting to spend the additional money or stay at an all inclusive, I had to stay.

On the up side the people were nice and hard working making the most of what they had to work with. Every morning two or three guys raked and took care of all the seaweed that washed up on shore, they offered umbrellas and old broke chairs to lay in. The beds were new and very comfortable. WiFi worked most of the time in the lobby and restaurant and I cannot say enough of the location, walking distance to town, surrounded by some of the best snorkeling around. When the construction is complete I am sure it will be the best property around ( I hope). I only wish we would have known about the construction and no hot water before we stayed there. Isla Mujeres is beautiful quiet and so relaxing. Everyone should go. Just make sure the hotel is not under construction and has hot water.

Room Tip: make sure to see the construction is complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanetterachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Interval Guest,
thank you for your comments. They do help us a lot. We are sorry for not fullfilling your expectation and we thank you for your kind words. This will help us improve our services and facilities. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just returned from Mia Reef last week and these are my thoughts:
1. We bought Avalon many years ago and yes, there are many changes happening at Mia but they are all the right changes. The previous owner (Avalon Michael E Kelly, google it please) invested nothing into this resort. Mia Reef owners and staff are bringing back dignity to this beautiful piece of paradise.
2. If you show a smile to the staff at this resort you will receive 10 smiles in return. They will bend over backwards and do flips to make your experience a good one if you respect them. They are very hard working, proud, sincere people and deserve respect in their country.
3. The breakfast buffet was delicious!
4. We snorkeled everyday whenever we felt like it and it was amazing. If we weren't snorkeling we were enjoying the reef on the east side and loving the bay on the west side. Sunrise and sunset!! Or we were meandering into town for a delicious fresh seafood dinner. Or taking a kayak out into the bay and enjoying a bike ride along the reef. Find that anywhere else in Cancun! The pool and beach were clean and very nice. Tip: take your own good quality snorkel gear. The reef is quite rough and you will have a better experience.
5. If you want pomp go to 5th Avenue. This is a small island in Mexico with ALL the charm that goes with it. If it's not your thing to indulge in simple, total relaxation without anyone bothering you, stay away.
6. The people on this island are so friendly and warm. The culture so unique. Please don't bring an attitude that everyone should be serving your needs every minute. You will ruin a beautiful, peaceful, gorgeous hideaway in Mexico.
7. Our mattress was brand new! We slept better here than we did when we moved to a five star resort in the Hotel Zone in Cancun!!
8. Our villa was impeccably clean. Always had hot water and clean bathroom! If we had any problem at all the staff handled it immediately! Of course, we asked for help with a smile on our faces.
9. Let's talk honesty. My son left his ipad in the restaurant/bar one afternoon. We searched frantically to find it thinking he lost it. I asked at the front desk if anyone turned it in and there happened to be a waiter there that said he saw it on a table in the restaurant/bar area. Sure enough it was there. I was so thankful and impressed with him; he proved that the culture in this resort is honest, gracious and welcoming. I really wish I could remember his name to let management know they have very decent employees and it's a reflection on their beautiful resort.
10. With the entire management transition and ownership change I really hope we will continue to be part of this resort through our timeshare. I can't wait to go back next year to experience all of the upcoming changes. Yes, there is construction but it didn't bother us at all. For the first time since we bought here I am really happy and excited like I had hoped I would be when we bought time on this remote island paradise. In fact, we preferred Mia Reef to our five star resort in the Hotel Zona on this vacation.
11. Go to Mia Reef with a good attitude and you will return refreshed 10 fold. Explore this amazing island and enjoy the simple pleasures this resort has to offer and you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PatriciaN172014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Vacation Club Owner,
thank you for your trust. We can garantee your timeshare is secure at Mia Reef with this transition. Please if you have any doubt or questions contact vacationclub@hotelesmia.com, we will be happy to talk to you and receive any comments or feedback, after all, it is your home resort.
THank you again for all your comments, they are very important to us and help us improve every day. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Dear Guest Services:
We visited Avalon Reef Club in 2003 and loved it. We are returning and there are a total of 10 of us and we would love to be prepared. Can you tell me if the construction/remodeling will be complete by July 4th?

Do you provide snorkels, mask and flippers for coral reef?

Can we get any discounts on golf carts rentals by staying at this resort?

Can we get any discounts on any other attractions on the island by staying at this resort?

All mixed drinks such as a margarita or pina colada and any beer were free (all inclusive), is this still the case?

Also, is it true you are only allowed 2 waters a day/per person?

Your responses are greatly appreciated. Thanks

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank padron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments. We would love to respond to all of your questions in a more personal way to make sure we provide all the answers and resolve all of your doubts. Please send us an email with your information so we can contact you. guestservice@hotelesmia.com
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Property: Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing