We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great low-key place for young family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Carbondale, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great low-key place for young family”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Had a great time at the Avalon with our 3 year-old son this week.
Pro's: lots of uncrowded beaches to choose from; shallow pool for our little boy to play in; friendly laid-back guests and staff; great breakfast buffet; quick response to our requests (including fixing a toilet within minutes); very nice room in one of the "studios" (better known as villas, but listed as studios when booking); never a crowd or a line or a wait for anything at the Avalon in late March 2011; nice little walk into town for dinner each night; reasonable prices at the bar and good happy hour every day
Con's: none for us...we used to be backpacker-style travelers until our son was born, and Isla Mujeres and the Avalon Beach Club are a nice step up from budget travel but not so far removed from the local reality that you feel isolated at an Americanized resort. Easy to get by with all English or a little Spanish, easy to get into town and feel like you're actually in Mexico, easy to find warm water and sunshine everywhere you turn.

Room Tip: the rooms in the villas are booked as
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceAvalon, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear Guest
wow! it is so nice to hear those kind words you wrote , we thank you deeply for taking the time to review about your vacation. Thank you for staying at Avalon Reef and allowed us to be a part of your vacation. We hope to have you back at the Reef. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    720
    337
    192
    201
See reviews for
474
973
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Avalon Reef Club was the perfect trip for myself and my two school-age boys over Spring Break. We were specifically looking for clear, quiet, shallow water away from the typical foolishness. The staff there was incredibly accommodating to our needs and made special efforts to interact with my sons to make their vacation fun and interesting. Snorkeling and fishing facilities on site made it convenient to experience more than just the great beach area.

Don't miss a trip to Chichen Itza.

Warning: if you need a Cancun hotel zone party experience, this is not for you. But if you're looking for a more authentic experience at a great price, check out Avalon Reef Club.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briancook5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceAvalon, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to know that you had such a good time with your family at the Reef and we hope to have you back at Isla. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Dear Avalon please change:

ALL INCLUSIVE - BRING IT BACK! They no longer do all inclusive! It is so convenient to eat at the hotel without having to leave for different meals but that prices per plate right now are ridiculous!

Workers, especially the waiters/ servers should not have to wear long sleeve shirts or long pants in that hot weather!

Avalon: If you make a mistake, a compensation should be made: Araceli overcharged me on my debit card, then she offered to leave the charge as it was with the mistake she had made but to credit the extra amount to my tab. WE WERE NOT EATING AT THE HOTEL! I did not need to have it put on my hotel account! That was not a solution to her mistake. I had a certain amount of money in my account for my vacation and had to wait a few days to have that money credited back to my account and was charged for the exchange rate.
It was an inconvenience and she offered no real solution or compensation.


Last complaint the air conditioners are very loud!



HOTEL OVERALL:

Efrain, Eliseo and Rosendo are amazing! The best workers at the hotel! Great people, great service! AWESOME!

Always tip the waiters even with a meal plan, they live off of tips!


We did not have any water problems that people complained of. If the room smells humid turn on the dehumidification setting on your ac unit! The beds are hard but better for your back, put some blankets under your sheet and you'll be fine.

The hotel is not a five star by any means! Don't expect that and don't expect clubbing night life. This is a peaceful call Island with lots of beauty to see and great people to meet.

If you like to party, don't come to this hotel or Island, go to cancun!

We will come back to this hotel for years to come. It has basic amenities with a great breakfast buffet plan for a week for 74 US dollars.

Places to eat at MUST TRY:

Rene and Renee tiny place with a sign only sign when looking up and at the wall when walking by on Madero street! GREAT DEALS< GREAT FOOD< AMAZING SERVICE

Portofino- new italian restaurant run by Italians, great people and excellent food, coffee and desserts! YUM!

Cafe Mogagua- somewhat pricier compared to other places but good coffee and good food, desserts are ok. Nice atmosphere

Barlitos- Cinnamon buns are yummy!



DO NOT GO TO QUBANOS! The food is only so-so and the owner does not appreciate business, not very friendly... go somewhere where the food is great, service is excellent and your business is appreciated.


Overall Avalon is a great hotel! Don't mind bad reviews, as others have said, bad reviews are usually from people too spoiled or expecting a five star hotel or club night life. This is a great place!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_chicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I came to Avalon expecting to have issues with pretty much everything with the way everyone puts it down. I was under the assumption that the place was badly managed and the staff were unfriendly. Boy was I wrong. The staff was wonderful and management was the same. If you want to party and stay at a grand hotel with all the amenities then stay in Cancun, they do not need you in Isla. I chose Isla due to the fact it was a quaint fishing village without all the commercialization that you have on the mainland. It was perfect for myself and my girlfriend. We loved every minute of it. Already planning on our return trip as well. The staff was overwhelmingly helpful as well as friendly. The hotel, even with its faults, was fantastic. I came to a third world country expecting to stay in a third world country and Isla did not let me down. The nightlife on the streets is fabulous as well as the drive along the island roads. I would not pay too much attention to these people with all their horrendous stories of how bad it was for them, they obviously have been spoiled throughoout their lives. Your in Mexico people, not shangri-la. Dont expect luxury here by no means, if you want the luxury then stay in Playa del Carmen and pay the price. But if you want a great inexpensive fun time just relaxing and enjoying yourselves on a wonderful island then this is the place for you. We pretty much ate something from most every place we could on the island and found that even though some may not have been to our liking, there was always something on the menu that was perfect no matter which place it was. The food is cheap, its the drinks that get ya, just like at home. If I had anything I would say that I did not like, it was the constant begging from the shops wanting to get you to come in and look around, but isnt that everywhere in Mexico.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pneu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceAvalon, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your review and we hope to have you very soon at the Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I came to the Avalon Reef Club with low expectations and had a pretty good time. But this hotel could do a whole lot better. We decided on Avalon despite reading many negative reviews because of its truly stunning location at the tip of the island and we were not disappointed in this respect. However, it is also worth mentioning that because you are at the narrow tip of the island there is little shelter from the relentless wind that is around during the windy season. The walk over the plank bridge to Avalon feels like you are entering a fairytale land especially when the bridge is lit up at night. However, it is not for anyone who has trouble walking, because the planks are uneven and spaced with large gaps in some places.

We knew our room would only be used for sleeping at night so we could put up with less than ideal conditions. True to expectations, the room was depressing, much more so at night when you did not have the stunning view out the window, which was the only nice part of the room. Although, even the view was muted by the ugly dark solar film on the windows. The bedroom was lit with one very bright white, florescent overhead light that gave the room all the lifeless charm of a funeral parlor. We were traveling with a 2 year old, which meant that after he went to bed, there was no way for us to sit and read with out turning on this horrible overhead light. I asked the front desk if we could have a bedside light and it took them another night before they got us one. Apparently someone was already using their one bedside light in another room and they had to wait for them to check out. The room had a noticeable damp smell when we arrived but this went away once we left the window open for a while. However, there is clearly something wrong with the plumbing in the building, perhaps the pipes aren't vented properly, which can give the room a faint smell of sewage.

While we were staying there the power went out in the building for over a day. There was a generator which allowed the one horrible overhead light to turn on but none of the other lights in the bathroom, dressing area worked and none of the outlets worked. Nor did our newly acquired bedside lamp work. The hotel had us believe that the entire island was blacked out, which was true, but not for over 24 hours like it was at Avalon.

The beach at the Avalon is beautiful except for the seaweed, which washes up on shore. The Avalon does rake up the seaweed, but not everyday, and they pile it up at one end of the beach, which is unpleasant to look at, smelly and creates a nice nest for sand fleas and other bugs. This is especially apparent when you notice, at the Hotel across from Avalon, them raking the seaweed off the beach at 7AM every morning and carting it away with a wheelbarrow.

Overall, we had a good time at Avalon. The staff was mostly very friendly and helpful. I did not find the beds uncomfortable, as other reviewers did. But I don't think we would come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samandjoeshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceAvalon, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments, your experience will help us improve our services in general. We hope you think about comming back to the Reef in the future we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is just about perfect, with a beautiful private beach, an excellent natural pool for snorkeling, and walking distance to the town.
The hotel is very clean and there is excellent security.
The only thing missing is that there are no balconies to thoroughly enjoy the magnificent views. The rooms could benefit from better lighting for reading and a small refrigerator.
On balance though we would definitely return on our next visit to Isla.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperbeech17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceAvalon, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review, next visit please we ask you to request for one of our villas so you can enjoy the balconies and the amazing views . We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2011

After reading all of the negative reviews, I was second guessing my reservations. However we found all of the negative reviews to be completely false. The beds came with a matress topper and while it was firmer than other beds, was not uncomfortable. I had hot water during all hours. The room in the tower was adequate, not luxurious but sufficient and very clean. The decor was simple but did not detract from the beautiful surroundings. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the room was not ready for a slightly early arrival. Otherwise our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msfury12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceAvalon, Guest Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments, this is the kind of feedback that we love to have to keep working on improving our services everyday. We hope to have you back soon at the Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
401 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Property: Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing