We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in the dorm rooms if you can't handle the extreme heat!”
Review of Poc-Na Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poc-Na Hostel
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't stay in the dorm rooms if you can't handle the extreme heat!”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

If you book the dorm rooms through hostelworld or similar, they don't have air-con as it may seem, and they are unbearably hot. We traveled all over the Yucatan and into Belize in August without air-con anywhere we stayed, and this hostel was by far the most uncomfortable (only 3 small fans for 6 beds in a small concrete room). Otherwise, very clean, very social, cheap cheap food, close to the beach (don't bother trying to swim at the beach on the property - pretty gross), not great service though (we waited about an hour and a half for salads, and you often get ignored when standing at the front desk). Free internet but always too busy to use.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    218
    87
    53
    47
See reviews for
13
145
162
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I stayed here the last night of my trip as an alternative to staying in Cancun before my flight out. I was, by then, lazy, and so instead of poking around all over with my heavy luggage in the hot sun, I just went to what looked the cheapest in my Lonely Planet. I got into a female dorm for $130MX (about $10 USD), it looks like a cell, but was clean, 8 beds, two floor fans, two ceiling fans, on the 2nd floor. The mattresses are not bad considering others I'd seen. Upon checking in, you are given a pile of white sheets, a bracelet to allow you to get in after 11 pm when the gates are locked, and a free drink ticket to be used after 11 pm at the beach bar. When traveling, I'm prone to early sleeping and early mornings, so the late night offerings did not interest me and, in fact, rather concerned me, but it was my last night, so whatever, I was already there. They also give you free internet for 1/2 hour a day although it's very not monitored and sometimes people cheat the line/time. Also included was a basic free breakfast including coffee/tea, toast, and a piece of fruit (we had bananas when I was there). The really disturbing thing about this place was that no one there was Mexican. I only heard Spanish being spoken by the staff, everyone else conversed in English or a variety of European languages (a lot of Swiss were there, Italian, German, etc.). I found the staff to be unfriendly, reluctant to attend to you (even when standing right in front of the desk, they wandered over whenever they got around to it) and cold (so NOT Mexican) and not really helpful in the least (after I paid for my eggs for breakfast at the front desk, they handed me my receipt and never told me I had to give it to the kitchen staff, so I sat for 40 minutes waiting for two little eggs before I realized maybe I had missed something; they never told me anything). (BTW, by the time I got my Huevos Mexicanos, they totally were not worth the wait; not really good at all.) I met a couple of friendly girls, but it seemed most were dismissive if you weren't into the bar scene, which is what this place is, except instead of dragging your drunk a** home at the end of the night, you can just take it up to the on-site accommodations. The bar opens early (maybe 8? it was open when I came in) and stays open until 11:00, at which time they move to the beach bar outside. Until that time, you hear: blaring, thumping techno music, loud, drunken laughter (drinks are 2x1 and were flowing freely by 8 pm), a frequent cow bell (indicating food orders were done - both kitchen AND bar/dining area were directly below all the dorms where I was), and sounds from the amusement park next door (not sure if permanent installation or temporary) which included it's own blaring music, loud announcers, and incessant horns honking (as part of some game, I imagine). I put in ear plugs and had tired myself out that day, so I ended up sleeping fine, but just know that this is the deal. If you're into it, it would probably be great (if you're a social butterfly/party type, which I'm not); everyone seemed about 23-25, girls all tan and in sundresses, guys ripped and wearing only swim trunks. The bathrooms were clean and nearby and the lighting was adequate. As far as a well-thought out hostel, it's pretty good - you can arrange pretty much anything you want to do from there (rent snorkel equipment, go on tours, etc.), there's cheap food available, they provide you with a very decent-sized locker in your room (bring your own padlock), free internet, and the place is clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexicanmadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I personally loved PocNa! The beach bar is the highlight of the place (try the 2x1 Mango Daikiri...hmmmmmm) along with the fact that it's about 400 meters to Playa Norte, the best beach on the Island. The place is clean. If you like to party and meet people, this place is for you. If you want to relax, I think you can also find it very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

There was a definite scene at this hostel - everybody is about 20 and wanting to tan/party. That being said, it was pretty friendly, comfortable (but basic) and was very well organised by Mexican standards. There's music in the main lounge-y area until like 11ish and after that the party moves to the beach bar - I couldn't hear this from my room, and was surprised by how quiet it was (by hostel standards, that is). Internet was fast compared to most other Mexican hostels.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed in an air conditioned dorm with 8 beds and a shower/toilet. The bunks were built into walls so they were very sturdy and roomy. The shower and toilet were clean but I suppose it depends on who is in your dorm!

The included breakfast was toast and coffee and you could add extra bits for a small extra cost. The meals served throughout the day were average, you can get much better food at reasonable prices around the town. There were problems with the internet when we were staying.

This is a great hostel for meeting other travellers and really close to the beach and town. Some friends of ours were staying in a dorm with fans and it was very stuffy!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verden
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2009

They had Bed Bugs and the Matrazes were horrible!
The location is nice and the athmosphere aswell but there are nicer places on the Island to stay that do not cost very much for example like 30 USD for a double room with AC and fridge. There the warm water at least works better and you`re not woken up by a bell every few minutes in the morning cause the kitchen guy rings it everytime he brings out some eggs for someone.
They have two pieces of toast and a coffee included in the room rate every morning but be careful if they catch you eating a third peace of toast they yell at you. Unbelievable(!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostalmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

This hostel was terrible.

We had booked 3 nights in a double air con room (room 1) and left after the first night. The windows did not shut properly, the bathroom was digusting (and instead of a window it had open bricks, like in public beach toilets) - also there were no screens on any windows.

The bar pumps out music until really late - but fortunately the rusty old air con unit blocked most of the noise out.

Overall dodgy and unsafe feel to hostel - there were a lot of druggie backpackers hanging around night and day, even trying to sell henna tattoos! Most looked like they lived there.

We ended up going to a hotel for only 10usd more!! (45usd instead of 35usd) which was great, clean and worth every cent!!

Definately stay away fom this place! (unless you are a druggie with no money)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-Na Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-Na Hostel

Property: Poc-Na Hostel
Address: Av. Matamoros | Esquina c/ Carlos Lazo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Poc-Na Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexicos oldest hostel that still ranks among the countries best. Built in the 1950s it is located on Isla Mujeres, a small Caribbean (7km long) island and is 20min from Cancun by boat. This hostel boasts a restaurant and bar that is open until 11pm, after which the real fun begins at the beach bar until 2.45am. Pocna has access to beach volleyball, games room, movies on demand and bikes for rent. We are close to North Beach, which is Isla Mujeres most beautiful beach and Pocna itself is situated right on its own beach that is perfect for relaxing and taking the sun.This exciting hostel offers free activities such as Yoga everymorning, Spanish classes, juggling and what ever happens to be being taught by one of the many talented people that pass through. If you have the talent and the time of at least one month, you can teach an activity and have your cost of your stay covered.Winter time brings on private parties inside the hostel and also bonfire nights with live music and jamming after. Everynight in there is live music in Pocna and the year also brings many high profile bands to play within the walls of Pocna. Those to date include Los Authentico Decadentes, Los Aguas Aguas, No Te Va a Gustar and La Renga with many more in the future plans. An amazing fun and social hostel. On the backpackers trail and full of international guests. A must to come and visit in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poc-Na Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poc-Na Youth Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing