We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classical back packing hostel”
Review of Poc-Na Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poc-Na Hostel
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I loved the atmosphere there and the location is just perfect! directly at the beach, hammocks and free yoga classes! People on the island are hippie style, super friendly, relaxed but professional. We stayed 5 nights in the supreme room and had no problems with cockroaches or cleaning issues at all. Truth is, if you need 8h sleep a night and you cannot sleep until everything is super quite - stay away! They have life music from 9-11pm and from 11pm on the beach bar opens. Of course, you can hear that. From our point of view: we loved the music, though we weren't sleeping at all ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In-E-G-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Poc-Na Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 624 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Poc-Na has been a backpacker's home for many centuries already and there is definitely some charm to it. The community area as well as the backyard with hammocks under palm trees and sea view is amazing. This is also where there is the bar and where you can party at night if you want. The island itself is rather chilled out so this is place is good if you want some partying. If not you can sit a bit off and have the music as background music.

The rooms are okay and the hostel is way bigger than it seems like in the beginning. My dorm was on the second floor. The lockers are big enough for the big backpacks as well so that was nice.

The food they offer is not really good but there are enough places to eat just a couple of meters away. Isla Mujeres is nice and I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at pocna in a private room, it was very hot and we had no A/C (just a fan) because the rooms with A/C were full but we enjoyed our stay there. There's a nice private beach (even though you can't swim there) with a lot of hammocks and a bar which is pretty nice. there's also a lot of activities offered by young people who live there. We would recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chavds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

When I arrived the sheets were given to me without any explanation where to go or which bed was mine. The first night at the beach bar my Birkenstock where "gone", I asked them the next day and they did not seem to care and pointed to a room where I had to look for a lost and found box. Also I asked for things to do on the island and it seemed that I was bothering them with this question. The dorm room I stayed in was too small as there was not even space to put a big backpack. The staff at the beach bar were at least nicer than the staff behind the reception. The Location is good and it is next to the beach and this hostel is a nice way of meeting people when you are traveling alone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniekBiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to the Pocna, I love all the activities they have and of course the nightly parties and music. It's a nicely spread out hostel with its own beach access, and only 500m to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The staff while not rude has never been friendly. We stayed in a private room with A/C that had 2 beds. The A/C was great, but the room was pretty embarrassing. It literally was a concrete room, and nothing more. The bathroom/shower were one in the same and very very small. Concrete block walls and floor. I actually slept pretty well on the beds. I'm sure we'll be back, but just won't ever expect the rooms to change.

Room Tip: Quite warm on the island A/C isn't a bad idea
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cteclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hostel´s really nice, directly at the beach, palm trees and hammocks everywhere... you easily get in contact with other backpackers. The yoga class was awesome. Never tried it before but enjoyed it a lot! I´d say 5 stars if I hadn´t booked that whale shark tour there.
The boat of the external contractor was overcrowded, the crew was really bold (especialy to some girls!!) and overstrained as lots of people got seasick and started to puke...
There are many other companies around the Poc-Na which offer the same tour but with better boats, less passengers, lower prices and as far as I heard, nice crews! :-)

Have fun guys!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed with a friend in a double room -
The only bad thing were the beds - in the double bed were ants, so we ended up sleeping in the double bed - and the Mattresses were pretty bad and not so comfortable...
BUT besides that - the hostel have fun free yoga classes twice a day, live band every evening and the best bar in the island. The breakfest is simple but its OK, the hostel was very clean at all times, and it had a great Atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlonaShub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-Na Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-Na Hostel

Address: Av. Matamoros | Esquina c/ Carlos Lazo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $11 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Poc-Na Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexicos oldest hostel that still ranks among the countries best. Built in the 1950s it is located on Isla Mujeres, a small Caribbean (7km long) island and is 20min from Cancun by boat. This hostel boasts a restaurant and bar that is open until 11pm, after which the real fun begins at the beach bar until 2.45am. Pocna has access to beach volleyball, games room, movies on demand and bikes for rent. We are close to North Beach, which is Isla Mujeres most beautiful beach and Pocna itself is situated right on its own beach that is perfect for relaxing and taking the sun.This exciting hostel offers free activities such as Yoga everymorning, Spanish classes, juggling and what ever happens to be being taught by one of the many talented people that pass through. If you have the talent and the time of at least one month, you can teach an activity and have your cost of your stay covered.Winter time brings on private parties inside the hostel and also bonfire nights with live music and jamming after. Everynight in there is live music in Pocna and the year also brings many high profile bands to play within the walls of Pocna. Those to date include Los Authentico Decadentes, Los Aguas Aguas, No Te Va a Gustar and La Renga with many more in the future plans. An amazing fun and social hostel. On the backpackers trail and full of international guests. A must to come and visit in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poc-Na Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poc-Na Youth Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing