We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nice”
Review of Poc-Na Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poc-Na Hostel
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Im going to keep this brief and just list some problems I had with this place:
- Dirty
- Rude and unhelpful staff (apart from 1 girl who was very nice)
- Loud
- Hot (fans not aircon)
- Rubbish internet
- The beach is not great by Isla standards

Good things:
- Cheap food
- Isla is nice

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 627 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great base for exploring Isla Mujeres, although we didn't make it much further than the beach!

I deliberated quite hard on what to give this hostel - the atmosphere was excellent, but we did make the mistake of staying in a private room. Cramped, unclean and a pathetic excuse for a shower. After a couple of days I used the communal showers which were far better. As we checked out we found out that our air conditioning worked - would have been useful to know at the start of our trip!

The dorms looked wonderful in comparison, and we've heard good reviews since from other travellers. Other reviewers have talked about rude staff - we also found them a bit surly, but generally helpful.

Good stuff - enjoyed the live music every night; really friendly atmosphere; great communal area; good beach party; loved the free yoga and wish I'd taken up the free Spanish lesson.

I would give it a 3.5 out of 5 is I could...

Room Tip: Get a dorm, and pay for the larger bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Grotbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great setting and well laid out hostel, with lovely beach areas with hammocks (although you can't actually swim in the sea from there..). Staff were average but not overly helpful (nice barmaid though). Pain in the proverbial to have no kitchen and to have to pay quite a lot for water refills (which has been free almost everywhere else we have been). Poor breakfast. Its a definite party hostel, although the vibe is a bit too cool for school. Luckily we had a good room out the back which was away from the beach party and noise so this didn't worry us. We were less enthused about the people sleeping on couches in communal areas and breaking the apparent strict no drugs rule... Not for everyone, but will suit some people!

Room Tip: Ask for one out back, away from the beach party and communal areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve_itchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Poc-Na as the second place on my Central America travels. I wish I could have brought the place with me. I had a wonderful time there. The atmosphere is great and the staff helpful. I would love to go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Replicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay a Pocna for around 5 days, but decided to leave after just one night.

The hostel itself is well laid out, with a decent restaurant and communal area. It also has its own beach area out back which is cool. You can only get wifi in the common area.

We booked a double private room w bathroom. It was the tiniest, cramped, most depressing room I've ever seen. There was barely room for the bed, and the small window faced out onto a passage. I got claustrophobic just standing in it.

They also have live music every night until 11pm, which makes the hostel quite loud. And people continued with the party much later into the night as well, which kept us up.

The staff were not very friendly or helpful in general.

I've stayed at much worse hostels than this, but you can certainly do better elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuickFox82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Clean hostel, nice hang out/kitchen/main area. Disappointed when we discovered there is a beach outside the hostel but no access to the ocean. We stayed in a private room, shared bathroom. 2 fans, no air condition. good and simple breakfast. good price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in Poc-Na hostel just one night and we enjoyed its nice atmosphere (with night party) and location (with sand and palm trees).
The room was basic but clean and, for the price we payed, breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-Na Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-Na Hostel

Address: Av. Matamoros | Esquina c/ Carlos Lazo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $12 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Poc-Na Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexicos oldest hostel that still ranks among the countries best. Built in the 1950s it is located on Isla Mujeres, a small Caribbean (7km long) island and is 20min from Cancun by boat. This hostel boasts a restaurant and bar that is open until 11pm, after which the real fun begins at the beach bar until 2.45am. Pocna has access to beach volleyball, games room, movies on demand and bikes for rent. We are close to North Beach, which is Isla Mujeres most beautiful beach and Pocna itself is situated right on its own beach that is perfect for relaxing and taking the sun.This exciting hostel offers free activities such as Yoga everymorning, Spanish classes, juggling and what ever happens to be being taught by one of the many talented people that pass through. If you have the talent and the time of at least one month, you can teach an activity and have your cost of your stay covered.Winter time brings on private parties inside the hostel and also bonfire nights with live music and jamming after. Everynight in there is live music in Pocna and the year also brings many high profile bands to play within the walls of Pocna. Those to date include Los Authentico Decadentes, Los Aguas Aguas, No Te Va a Gustar and La Renga with many more in the future plans. An amazing fun and social hostel. On the backpackers trail and full of international guests. A must to come and visit in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poc-Na Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poc-Na Youth Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing