We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot! No better hostel in isla mujeres!!!”
Review of Poc-Na Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poc-Na Hostel
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot! No better hostel in isla mujeres!!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is all about ambiance! It was my introduction to hostels and made it a very high bar for every other hostel to meet up to! It was my first stop on a two month trip and no other hostel experience came close to that. Big outdoor area with hammocks, right on the beach, outdoor deck/platform for yoga or whatever, volleyball court, bar on site! The showers are decently big and hot! The rooms are awesome with hand painted murals... The hostel lends itself to meeting people and having a really good social experience! There is also a lounge room with ping pong and a tv... Overall, my favorite hostel of all the ones I've seen and I've told lots of people traveling thru the area to check it out!! I didn't find any other hotel or hostel in isla mujeres that I would want to stay at after that!! Perfect scene for backpackers or budget travelers with a desire to have some fun :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    218
    85
    52
    47
See reviews for
12
143
162
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hostel staff are rude and not helpful at all.
They appear to have this 'too cool for school' attitude and they work in a hostel! Not very good customer service even if your customers are backpackers.

We stayed in the apartments opposite which was brilliant value for money. Trinchan apartments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Pascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Poc-Na Youth Hosel on the Isla Mujeres near Cancun is a great place to get used to a backpacker lifstyle. The Hostel is located near the coast of Isla Mujeres.
You can spend your time on the privat "beach", which isn't exactly a beach, but a large area with sand, palm trees, hammocks and a beach volley ball field behind the hostel; or you relax in the big patio, listening to live music playing in the evenings; or you play pool, have lunch/dinner/breakfast, or drink at the bar; or you take part in one of the different curses (like yoga, or spanish). You can rent golf carts to explore the island or book one of a variety of tours. The staff is really nice and helpful.
The rooms are small dorms, but comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are clean, too. They have lockers for your valuables. Breakfast is included and consists of strawberry jam, honey, toast, coffee, tea and fruits.The "good" beach, where you can swim and relax is just 5 minutes away from the hostel and it'S beautiful!
One problem is that there are a lot of people, so it's loud and crowded most of the time. But if you're looking for interesting people from all over the world, its THE place to be on Isla Mujeres.
The only drop of bitterness is the price. A little more then 10 Euros isn't cheap and It's probably one of the pricier hostels on the island, though I haven't heard of any better place.

Room Tip: Try a room facing away from the patio. Those might be more quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Well, after the Weary Traveler in Tulum the Poc-Na is probably the second worst hostel I have stayed at.

Pros:
- free breakfast: four slices of toast, jam, honey, butter, coffee, tea
- cheap restaurant compared to the rest of the island
- nice hammock area
- in theory wifi

Cons:
- loud music till early morning, the common area is a dancefloor at night
- if you end up in one of the dorms around the common/bar area you wont be able to sleep at all
- the wifi is basically just a joke as it hardly ever works properly and if at all only at the bar and not in the dorms. they have one router for more about a 100 guests and everyone has problems with the internet...
- no kitchen, not even a fridge
- bathrooms are small and dirty
- met people with a lot of bites, whatever they are...
- no outside alcohol allowed

I really don't get why the owners do what they are doing with the hostel. It would be such a nice and calm place, with all the hammocks, the beachview and the palmtree area, but the horrible loud music at night destroys everything as you can hardly sleep at all at night, especially if you are staying in a dorm close to the bar.
I guess, it is again all about making money as they don't allow outside alcohol and keep you up with all the music going on at night, so you have no other choice as to drink and buy these drinks at their bar. They also have a dive shop in the hostel, which is acutally more expensive than some of the other dives shops.
The worst thing is that you don't have another choice if you want to have a cheap place to sleep at night as the PocNa is the only hostel on the island. After two nights I decided to go to one of the small Posadas in town as I really didnt want to give them more of my money for the terrible wifi and the other average services they offer for basically the same price as the nice posada I stayed at. Hopefully someday someone will open another hostel on the island and make it the opposite of this one...

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christineexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Private room with ocean view for 300 pesos and a comfortable bed. Facilities were fine, but stay here for the fun. Awesome beach bar and lounge area with hammocks, but no direct access to a swimming area. Walk a few blocks to Playa Norte, and all of the bars and restaurants a few blocks the other direction. One of the most fun hostels I've experienced, great vibe and crowd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at Pocna in January 2013 for 4 nights and I have to say I was not impress with the place. It is affiliated with Tribu Hostal on Holbox Island and Nomadas hostal in Mérida. Having stayed at both locations and loved it, I can say that Pocna is unfortunately not comparable. The main problem with this place is the noise. Day and night, it is so loud! There is always music playing in the common room. Even on a rainy day, the TV was on mute and music was playing (a movie would have been nice!). And at night, there is almost always live music or a party going on. Thats what I'm usually looking in a hostal but with this one, the problem is that there is no walls to the dorms. (Not in dorm 1, 3 and 3 anyway) There is a wall, but it is full of big holes with a mosquito screen. So it basically feels like you are right in the party or in front of the live band when you are in your bed :S

Also, we didn't find the staff very friendly. Always on the computer and you feel like you are bothering them when you ask a question...

Besides that, the place is super clean, I have nothing to say on that side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuauchichinola, Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the worst hostels I have stayed at. Shared a private room, after two days all of my belongings stank from the over powering smell of the toilet bowl cleaner. The bathroom was tiny with the shower almost over the toilet. The beds were fine, and maybe the dorm rooms don't have the same problems. I loved the atmosphere in the daytime, but when I was there the beach bar was closed down, so the party was moved to an employee area directly outside of my room. One member of the staff was extremely rude when I asked about this the next day, she didn't even apologize, and insisted I should have known the noise level would be so high. I have stayed at 30+ hostels and never been prevented from sleeping (this was with earplugs)! The noise would have been fine if it had been at the beach area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uvanomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#17 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-Na Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-Na Hostel

Property: Poc-Na Hostel
Address: Av. Matamoros | Esquina c/ Carlos Lazo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Poc-Na Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexicos oldest hostel that still ranks among the countries best. Built in the 1950s it is located on Isla Mujeres, a small Caribbean (7km long) island and is 20min from Cancun by boat. This hostel boasts a restaurant and bar that is open until 11pm, after which the real fun begins at the beach bar until 2.45am. Pocna has access to beach volleyball, games room, movies on demand and bikes for rent. We are close to North Beach, which is Isla Mujeres most beautiful beach and Pocna itself is situated right on its own beach that is perfect for relaxing and taking the sun.This exciting hostel offers free activities such as Yoga everymorning, Spanish classes, juggling and what ever happens to be being taught by one of the many talented people that pass through. If you have the talent and the time of at least one month, you can teach an activity and have your cost of your stay covered.Winter time brings on private parties inside the hostel and also bonfire nights with live music and jamming after. Everynight in there is live music in Pocna and the year also brings many high profile bands to play within the walls of Pocna. Those to date include Los Authentico Decadentes, Los Aguas Aguas, No Te Va a Gustar and La Renga with many more in the future plans. An amazing fun and social hostel. On the backpackers trail and full of international guests. A must to come and visit in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poc-Na Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poc-Na Youth Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing