We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked it so much we went twice in the same day”

Oscar's Mexican Grill
Ranked #16 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oscar’s Grill was founded in Isla Mujeres over 2 decades ago. It is a great place to experience Mexican and International food. Stop by for breakfast, lunch or dinner at this unique restaurant located next to a quiet marina on the shores of the lagoon Macax. Enjoy your favorite drink at its diverse bars, sitting on the incredible wooden chairs; you will be pleasantly surprised how comfortable they are. The only place to enjoy eating lobster chosen by yourself, and cooked specifically for you. Oscar’s can also be rented for all types of events and can accommodate up to 150 guests. Located mid-island, you can access by golf cart, motorcycle, car or yacht. Supervised at all times by the owner of vast culinary experience - Oscar. He will ensure that you are fully satisfied with your food, service and visit at his restaurant.As of September 2012, Oscar’s Grill will also be serving authentic New York pizza and pasta. Pizzas created and hand tossed by Michael (formely of Milagro’s pizza). Don’t miss out on the famous Garlic Bread. Pizzeria open 5pm to midnite, last pizza order at 11:30pmDine In – Take out - Delivery
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we went twice in the same day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a very kewl little restaurant right on the street in Isla Mujeres as you are going to the beaches south of downtown. We went by on our golf cart and grabbed a beer before we went to the beach down south. The atmosphere was so pleasing and the people so nice we stopped again on the way back for lunch. This time a couple of more beers and nachos. We both agreed that they were prop the best nachos we had ever eaten anywhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    157
    40
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OOOOOOOOhhhh Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Oscar's Pizza is the best Pizza. We met Michael and just loved him and his pizza. We drove by Oscar's a few times on our golf cart as we tooled around the island a few times. Each time we did we wold smell that lovely garlic smell and each time we would say we have to get some pizza. When we did we almost passed out that pizza was so good. We ordered Oscar's special. Holy Hannah that pizza was huge and amazing and more than we could eat. My husband is a big eater, He is 6'6" tall and he loves pizza, He could only eat 2 pieces and was stuffed. I barely made it through 1. The garlic knot rolls they bring are phenomenal also. They make the best lemonade on the island, and believe me I drank lemonade everywhere on the island all week long.The service is wonderful and I love all of the smiles of the wait staff.If you look at the place from the road it looks like its just this little bar area but it's a huge restaurant down in the back also that extends all the way to the dock. It can hold over 100 people and you would never know it. The other thing is that it is 2 restaurants in one. The pizza side is only open from 5-11 pm nightly but the other side is open all day with mexican and seafood dishes daily. We have eaten that food also and it was really good also Do yourself a favor go grab a pizza at Oscar's but remember to go hungry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MNDeniseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

nice place !!
I stopped for a beer and then I opted for a pizza
and was a nice surprise
a good pizza !!
I recommend it !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klaus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must try.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

It might seem silly to have pizza in Mexico but this spot is fantastic! Atmosphere is fun yet relaxing. Seafood pizza was incredible. . Also had what I think was the Oscars Special- I will be thinking about these pizzas for a long time! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank bkhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Met up with a couple that we met while snorkeling with the whale sharks by accident and shared a table with them. We ordered a Hawaiian Pizza (thin crust) and Alfredo rigatoni with chicken. The menu only had 1 size for their pizzas which ended up being very large as well as the size of the Alfredo. These 2 things fed 3 of us and we still had pizza to take back to the hotel. There was also a Mexican side to the restaurant which we did not have time to try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Mexican Grill also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Oscar's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing