We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garlic knots!”

Oscar's Mexican Grill
Ranked #18 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oscar’s Grill was founded in Isla Mujeres over 2 decades ago. It is a great place to experience Mexican and International food. Stop by for breakfast, lunch or dinner at this unique restaurant located next to a quiet marina on the shores of the lagoon Macax. Enjoy your favorite drink at its diverse bars, sitting on the incredible wooden chairs; you will be pleasantly surprised how comfortable they are. The only place to enjoy eating lobster chosen by yourself, and cooked specifically for you. Oscar’s can also be rented for all types of events and can accommodate up to 150 guests. Located mid-island, you can access by golf cart, motorcycle, car or yacht. Supervised at all times by the owner of vast culinary experience - Oscar. He will ensure that you are fully satisfied with your food, service and visit at his restaurant.As of September 2012, Oscar’s Grill will also be serving authentic New York pizza and pasta. Pizzas created and hand tossed by Michael (formely of Milagro’s pizza). Don’t miss out on the famous Garlic Bread. Pizzeria open 5pm to midnite, last pizza order at 11:30pmDine In – Take out - Delivery
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Garlic knots!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

These are amazing! Order a bowl of these to share as you look over the menu. Garlic covered soft bread that melts in your mouth! We also ordered the Oscars special pizza and got it delivered during a rain/wind storm by a guy on his scooter! Ate a yummy, double crust...but not too thick..stuffed full of meats and veggies pizza. Cute outdoor seating alongside the road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M-K-BOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    158
    40
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was quite a surprise. What a fantastic find! My husband and I drove by this place on our way back from Centro to the Villa Rolandi on our first night on Isla. We decided to give it a try the night night. It looks small from the street, but has a large, waterside dining area in the back. And, the pizza! WOW! This honestly is some of the best pizza I have ever had in my life. I've had pizza in some of the best pizza places in the US, and this gives all of them a run for their money. We also had the nachos extreme which was delicious, with homemade guacamole. I only wish I could have eaten here again while on the island. I will definitely be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hginphl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Oscar's was recommended to us by many people and we finally got to find out for ourselves how good the pizza is. It is the best pizza I have ever had anywhere. We had Oscar's Special. It was huge and delicious. We definitely will be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moby39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, MN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot on Isla!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent several hours at various times in the past couple of weeks at this fun place. The amazing chairs lured us in initially but we soon found their drinks and food to be great as well. I had the coconut shrimp and HIGHLY recommend it. Hubby had a beef burrito he pronounced "best I've ever had". Be sure to make it a point to drop by and visit at least once. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toldo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved the bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Easy to find great outdoor bar - right on the street. Back deck is right on the water and the food was good. The service was acceptable but your in Mexico!
Loved all the TVs and the unique furniture. All in all we would go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenacreskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Mexican Grill also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Oscar's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing