We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy suprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tres Mentiras

Tres Mentiras
Ranked #53 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stopped into this place at the north end of Hidalgo street the other night when we were too tired to cook for ourselves. I was expecting standard Australian pub fare and would have been happy with that, but we had much better food than standard pub food. I like shepherds pie and have had it many places and this was amoung the best. My wife had the chili, which was gently seasoned with cinnamon, a great surprise. It was delicious! We also had a potato dish that was really good. The service was great as well. We will definately be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lazarus7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    23
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fun and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

on Hildalgo at the north end the were serving a Sunday roast the roast cam with 9 different vege's and a smile from the owner Tracy lots of friendly people and great drinks

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IslaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, well-poured drinks, central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stepping into this place makes you feel like a local islander. They've got a great atmosphere of mixed ages, languages and background - great for mingling! Their drinks are definitely not "sissy-where's-the-booze?" kind of drinks and economically priced (that's hard to find on this island!). They've also got great food, that's a bit out of the ordinary for Isla. They're across from Lola Valentina's that has live Salsa band music a few nights a week, and they often have a few locals jamming there on other nights.

A great location on the main street, perfect for meeting new people and experiencing real island charm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dstravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best place for a chilled evening on Mujeres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We visited this place on the first night of our holiday on Mujeres. And then every night after that. Great place for a beer, especially if you like: reasonable prices, charming service, good debates, sleepy chihuahuas, tasty pies, and guitar hero. I'm back home in England now, but if I had a teleporter I would totally pop in for a beer tonight. And not just because it is raining here. It is raining though.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RosieSnajdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It be Un-Australian not to eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My fiance and I ate here tonight. I had to write this now while the delicious meat pie flavor lingered in my mouth. It was a fantastic meat pie! (I havnt had one in 10 months of traveling) and it hit the spot just perfectly. Great staff working, very friendly and helpful. Well priced (second cheapest on the main strip) Mains are 80 pesos (and very filling) and beers are only 15pesos!!!! Thats cheaper than the kwiki marts sell them! I've missed Aussie food soo much and both my fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed reliving Aussie food. We had the steak sanga and meat pie. The meat pie was hands down favorite, if I had to be picky the steak meat was slightly chewie but loaded with so many awesome ingredients that you barely noticed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DMAC2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Mentiras also viewed

 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Tres Mentiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing