We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Ribs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soggy Peso

Soggy Peso
Ranked #21 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Big Lake
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We have visited before and returned for the fun, this time however we hit it on a Sunday for ribs and Bloody Mary's. The ribs were amazing!!! Dry rubbed from Texas and the bloody Mary's were the best of combinations!! Our bar tender Yo Yo remembered us from the minute we walked in and didn't disappoint with his exceptional service. You have to go if you get the chance!

Helpful?
Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    193
    70
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fun little spot (cozy) - worth a stop for a drink and great blackened wings! but wouldn't have without mapchick

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank annacoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just don't get it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

So.... people LOVE the Soggy Peso. We don't. Not bad, just not extraordinary. It's a bar with seating (some indoor, more outdoor). Nice view. We had the special - lobster tacos - and they were just so-so. Lobster was deep-fried nuggets. All anglos, all English, all the time. So - if you want to go to a sports bar in Mexico to be with other Americans longing for their favorite sports bar (and sports bar crowd) - there you go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyleHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahpeton, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Really enjoyed this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We went to the Soggy Peso a few times during our trip to Isla. We had heard about the potency of the margaritas but I don't think we were really prepared for what lay ahead! They were delicious but after two, I was struggling! The staff were so friendly and our food was great. I ordered the nachos and some guac. Very delicious and the atmosphere can't be beat. Just very low key and it definitely has an island feel that we were looking for. Absolutely someplace that everyone traveling to Isla must go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Britthatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We visited the Soggy Peso on two separate occasions during our stay. The first was on a Saturday evening and the second was early afternoon during the middle of the week. We had a group of eight people each time. The meal on Saturday evening was superb! Three of us ordered the fish tacos, and we all agreed they were the best we'd ever eaten! The nachos were also wonderful! Pay attention to the margaritas - they will sneak up on you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Peso also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Soggy Peso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing