We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place”
Review of Soggy Peso

Soggy Peso
Ranked #19 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Hughson
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fun place”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We enjoyed the vibe here, it's a fun spot to have a cold one with friends with all its eclectic decor of hats, etc and funny signs. A warning don't have too many margarita's, they'll put you to bed! Also if your hungry don't plan on eating here. We were there on cheeseburger in paradise day and waited 2 hours, which ruined my experience and I walked out leaving the food sitting there. A word of advice, no food is worth a 2 hour wait. Also that day our waiter was a inatentive and somewhat rude, unlike our previous experience where all was great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 14Daroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    205
    73
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had drinks at the Soggy Peso and found it to be a very friendly place. The owner stopped by our table and chatted with us for quite a while. The drinks were the strongest we had on Isla but the menu wasn't gluten free friendly so we couldn't stay for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woohoozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant, only bar food”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Soggy Peso is a bar. Lots of Americans drinking beer, talking roundly, listening to country music and having wings or cheeseburger or whatever the dish of the day is. Nothing great, nice if this is what you want. They have a nice water view, all out of the way.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsmith_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“margaritaville”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we always make it a point to go to the soggy peso when on the island, have had the ribs a couple times,and, not super impressed, I remember they were good last time, not this time, and quite expensive compared to what we get in the states actually, and bbq sauce could have been home made, not bottled, easy to do. BUT.... margaritas are great, stong , so don't over do it, beer is super cold, bar tenders are a blast!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aletha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bar where everybody knows your name”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We love this bar and visited it several times while we were in Isla. The cheeseburger was the best we both have ever eaten. The lobster taco's were 2nd best and the ribs were last. The drinks were very good the first couple of visits then tasted funny the last couple of visits so I switched my drink. All was good after that. Freddie, Daniel, Goosie, are so much fun. It is so welcoming when you walk in and they remember your name. I love this place!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rms102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Peso also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Soggy Peso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing