We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COLD beer,great food,friendly staff”
Review of Soggy Peso

Soggy Peso
Ranked #20 of 206 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Sandstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“COLD beer,great food,friendly staff”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Heard about this bar,food, from a fellow traveler at the msp airport..Said be sure and go there, if you do anything. So we walked there,(love to walk),only twenty two minutes from our hotel,has a crazy entrance,,fun place. Staff will even give you spanish lessons LOL..nice fellas, went several times during our stay on the island. We tried the hamburgers,Huge, good, and also tried the wings, so yummy! Also had the lobster tacos,very good,nachos is a big serving, and also very good..comfortable,relaxing place to enjoy COLD beer, good food,a great memory for Isla.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVMV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    202
    72
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We can never leave on a Saturday...because of Sunday Ribs!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always head to the Soggy Peso on Sundays so we can enjoy some of the best ribs you will ever have!! Be sure to arrive early or you could miss out. We have been there around 6:30 and had the last of the ribs. The bar area can get a bit crowded, but there is plenty of seating around the pool area. One of the best margaritas I've had on the island was at Soggy Peso. Be sure you take Pesos, because they exchange USD at 1 USD to 10 Pesos. So grab some Pesos and head to the Soggy Peso!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eser1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua Adventures Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunday ribs are amazing.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The ribs were awesome, great intimate bar setting. We've been back for the burgers, and will make it in for the Lobster crispy tacos.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiveIslaMujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You are a stranger here only once!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on a Monday for the lobster tacos. The bar was full so we had to take a table nearby. We were welcomed warmly by all staff members (Freddy and Jo Jo). Started with the guacamole, the best I ever tasted. We followed that up with the tacos, served with two sauces a garlic oil and a spicy mayo number. Tacos were great, could not finish all four.

This is how every business should be run. We were comfortable from start to finish. Thank you soggy peso for a memorable night on this beautiful island. We will be back later in the week to try for a bar stool!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoots H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Ribs”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went on Sunday & had ribs...fabulous! Then, we returned the next day and had the guac...best we found on the island!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Peso also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Soggy Peso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing