We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday ribs”
Review of Soggy Peso

Soggy Peso
Ranked #20 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday ribs”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Sunday rib experience at Soggy Peso is worth the wait. The ribs are fall off the bone tender and perfectly seasoned. Along with potato salad and corn bread it's a great meal. They don't encourage take out or take home, but did provide foil for what we just couldn't eat at one sitting. The beer is always cold and the atmosphere is friendly. Signs outside notify that this is an adult bar so please don't bring children.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    199
    71
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sartell, mn
Level Contributor
214 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Inspect the kitchen before eating here.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The night before we left to return home we went to the "soggy peso" . The food seemed ok but not great.
A day later I was in the emergency room with food poisoning. Can't say for sure where it came from but have stayed on the Island thirty or so times and was never sick. I suspect strongly the Soggy Peso. For your protection, ask to see the kitchen. Good travels.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnguy48Sartell_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ice cold beer, fun bar staff!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped into Soggy Peso on 12/04/12 while vacationing on Isla. So glad we did!! The bar is in the back of a guest house with a few rooms, down the side alley (follow the signs) and it opens up on to a small rectangular swimming pool with a nice size square shaped bar. It all sits beneath a large thatched palapa covered with hats and mementos that were donated(left) by previous visitors. We were greeted promptly by one of the bartenders and made to feel like we had been old friends that had not been in for a while. The beer is ICE cold, the food is good. They do something different each day for the menu. Sat there for many cold brews and made fast friends with the "crew"; Freddy, Yo-yo and Daniel. Great group of guys, very hospitable, friendly and funny! The bar is on the west side with a lush green setting and nice sunset. Watch for the giant iguanas that hang out in the grass and on the roof!
We really enjoyed it and returned a couple days later for an afternoon to sunset session.
We will return there as soon as we can!!
Thanks Guys for a great time and good memories!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OBX_Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible little place”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Soggy Peso is a hard to find little grass hut bar and restaurant off the main road. The food, atmosphere, drinks and especially the bartenders make this place one of my favorite bars I have ever been too. Crispy Tacos!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pulvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Drink don't eat”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Seriously? This is not a restaurant. It's a funky little beach bar with an engaging nar tender an cold beer. I had under-seasomed, bland guacamole and lobster tacos that were so bad that lets just say they killed the poor lobster twice. Do yourself a favour -Drink don't eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Peso also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Soggy Peso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing